We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab stay thank you”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hillingdon Prince Hotel
Ranked #15 of 31 Hotels in Reading
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Just had the a great stay at hillngdon prince hotel. Room was spotlessly clean, free wifi staff very friendly and helpful. Flat screen tv with freeview, fridge and microwave. Fridge handy for chilling our vino!!! Our room had been newly decorated what more could you ask for for the money. Pleasantly surprised for a 2 star hotel!!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AliS52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (958)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

537 - 543 of 958 reviews

Reviewed 14 February 2014

Read the reviews and thought it looked like an ok place to spend a night, can only think my partner and I paid for the room they usually forget they have...

My first impression on pulling into the car park was that the building had formerly been the sort of institution people used to be placed within then forgotten about however we have stayed in much worse looking buildings which have turned out to be great once we had gone inside... unfortunately this was not that sort of building...

The floor of our room was sloped and uneven, the bed was literally falling apart, the carpet in places threadbare we had a pipe hidden in a cupboard that was eventually found to be the source of the dripping sound that tormented us once the TV had been turned off... generally the feeling of the space in which we had paid to stay was dirty... the sort of place you actually want to keep your shoes on in... we did however have a full sized ironing board which some kind soul had set up in the room directly opposite the door making it the first thing we saw as we opened it. Oddly however the room did not come with an iron, which frankly baffled us.

The hotel bar appeared to have last been decorated/remodeled in the early seventies and the drinks it served could well have been of a similar vintage... if you like cork covered walls and bottles of Babycham then this really is the place for you...

Breakfast was actually not bad however when staff at reception insisted we pay for it even after we showed them our printed out booking confirmation which clearly stated breakfast was included in the fee we had already paid indigestion set in...

In short, our room did not reflect at all the pictures used on this or any other site that we have seen the hotel advertised on and i would not chose to stay at it again... we could, for a similar fee, have stayed in a chain hotel which would have been exactly as advertised, namely clean... .

Room Tip: Do not stay here if you are under the age of seventy or still have reasonably good vision. Do not st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank laura c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
katy b, General Manager at Hillingdon Prince Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

I am so disappointed that you did not make us aware that you were unhappy with your room if only we had known you were unhappy we would have happily offered you an alternative. Myself and my staff are keen to ensure all our guests have a great stay and I am sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. Please do email me and let me know what room number you were in so I can investigate the points you have raised.
Warm regards
Katy Beeson, General Manager
Katybeeson’hotmail.co.uk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

We needed a place to stay in Reading while visiting from Australia, to see close family at a stressful time. We were recommended to Hillingdon Prince and were well looked after for our 12 days there. All the staff were friendly and helpful, and cups of tea were cheerfully provided in the lounge for family visiting from a distance. We also booked in 2 other family members to stay. The rooms were clean and adequate, the breakfasts were good. The central location was good. We also met other Aussie guests - always a plus. Thankyou Hillingdon. We will come again if we need another visit to Reading.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Sheila A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

we were greeted by a lovely lady at reception. very chatty and made us feel welcome. she asked for someone to walk us toour room and he was lovely making sure the key worked etc.
the room was very clean and had excellent facilities to use for cooking etc.
bed very comfy. tv was freeview.breakfast was lovely and set up very nice.
this hotel excellent value for money will definitely visit again very soon!!!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mariaflynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Hotel was in middle of being redecorated. Nice friendly staff. Room was clean and reflected pictures on booking.come where I booked from.
Excellent price and location will stay again when on business.
Secure parking and free WIFI

Room Tip: They have an annex to the main hotel. I'm not sure if the annex is of the same quality. Best ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CandGMedicare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

We have now used the Hillingdon Prince twice while visiting our daughter at Reading Uni. The staff there are always very friendly and helpful. The rooms are comfortable and clean, nothing too fancy but absolutely value for money. It is very conveniently situated for the town centre and easy to find without going through too much heavy traffic. Good breakfast and free parking - just the ticket! We'll be back I'm sure!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulineAB32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014 via mobile

Hi me and a couple of friends stayed for one night for a birthday to go to the town centre it cost 6 pound from the hotel to town centre which was really good the staff were very helpfully and happy .THe rooms were lovley and big for two of us to stay in the Barth room was very big good shower and Barth I would defiantly stay a again and planning to very soon all I can say is maybe a more variety if drinks served at the bar thank you and I'll be coming back soon laura

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LAURABENTLEY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
katy b, General Manager at Hillingdon Prince Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2014

Hi Laura
Thank you for making time to write us a review. I am interested to hear what drinks you would like us to serve at the bar as I would be happy to provide these for future stays. If you could jot me an email I would appreciate the feedback, katybeeson@hotmail.co.uk
Many Thanks Katy Beeson, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reading hotels
1.2 mi away
Hilton Reading
Hilton Reading
#3 of 31 in Reading
1,885 reviews
1.0 mi away
Novotel Reading Centre
1.0 mi away
Ibis Reading Centre
Ibis Reading Centre
#11 of 31 in Reading
1,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Reading Central Hotel
1.0 mi away
pentahotel Reading
pentahotel Reading
#5 of 31 in Reading
2,411 reviews
2.2 mi away
Ibis Styles Reading Oxford Rd
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillingdon Prince Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillingdon Prince Hotel

Address: 39 Christchurch Road, Reading RG2 7AN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 31 Hotels in Reading
Price Range: £44 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hillingdon Prince Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay with us for clean comfortable rooms at affordable prices. Our rooms offer microwaves and fridges and some with mini kitchens. Ideal for the cost conscious traveller as you are the able to cater for yourself. We can also arrange free delivery and discounts at our local restaurants. We offer FREE secure wifi, gym and 24 hour reception. We serve breakfast daily. Located just a short walk to the Royal Berkshire Hospital, Reading University, the Town Centre and a short drive to all the local Business Parks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hillingdon Prince Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Reading
Reading Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing