We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value for the quality of the room” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hillingdon Prince Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hillingdon Prince Hotel
Ranked #15 of 32 Hotels in Reading
1 review
“Good value for the quality of the room”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

I would use this hotel again with no hesitation. The rooms were very spacious and having a fridge in the room became extremely useful. The bathroom may be an area of improvement as it wasnt as modern as the rest of the room and the shower wasnt very poweful however overall there is nothing bad to say about this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DJHamilton9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

916 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    295
    327
    117
    72
    105
See reviews for
134
212
86
256
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

Two nights in a twin room. It is a very good value hotel. The room was clean, nice size room, very comfy beds and nice linen. We found the microwave and fridge in the room very handy ! Although the bathroom could benefit from a refurbishment, it didn't affect our stay at all because it was clean. The staff is lovely and always happy to help you.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Niko N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tidworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

I was pleasantly surprised on this hotel - it was booked as a cheap quick hotel and that is what I thought I was going to end up with but this hotel is well worth the price. The staff were polite and cheerful through the whole stay, check in to breakfast to check out.
The hotel is clean, bright and asking for a travel cot was not an issue. Breakfast was everything you could ask for - this was the only downfall as we did not pre-book so paid full price but that was still worth it (next time I'll know)!

Room Tip: Pre-book breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Darren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

I'm going to take the "Oreo cookie" approach to reviewing this. Good thing, some constructive criticism, and then another good thing.

I specifically chose this hotel over something else affordable and boring like Premier Inn because of the photo on their website. It looked like a great old house and it didn't disappoint. I loved the look of this hotel. My room was clean and updated. It was close enough to walk to both university campuses and I felt close enough to anything I needed. This hotel is great in those regards.

Some constructive criticism.
I didn't receive any of the perks advertised with the discount code from the website. I couldn't get the high speed internet to work, but the free regular wifi was good enough. I didn't receive a "free gift" or a drink in the bar. These things weren't mentioned to me at all upon checkin, even though the website said I should receive them. It's almost as if the front desk person didn't know anything about them.

On the first morning of my stay my shower was fine, but the second and third mornings I had no hot water. I thought about going downstairs to inquire, but I was needing to get on with my day as I had places to be both mornings, so I suffered with a very cold shower. By the time I was finishing my shower the hot water would come in, so I expect it was a building-wide water tank issue and not my room specifically. Regardless, I can't say it was the most pleasant part of my days.

The only place where breakfast times were posted was in the key card envelope. Naturally, I didn't notice that breakfast wasn't served until 8 on weekends, so although I payed for a breakfast every day, I wasn't able to have my last one as I had to catch my train. I would have appreciated knowing this upon booking.

I was going to offer this feedback upon checkout, but the person who checked me out had no interest in speaking to me. She didn't ask me how my stay was, didn't smile, didn't even really look up to acknowledge me, and instead just sort of ignored me while she finished something up before checking me out. Then really all she did was take my key and say something like "ok that's it, thanks." Needless to say, she was unapproachable enough that I didn't want to chance offering this feedback and have her be unpleasant, so I just left.

Finishing with a good thing.
The woman who served me a beer and shepherd's pie my first night was absolutely a delight. She was like a mum away from home. I think the rest of the front of house staff could take some lessons from her.

So, I can't say it was the best hotel experience I've ever had, but down the road when I remember this place I'll remember the lovely building and that wonderful lady who served me my shepherd's pie. Overall my lasting impression will be a good one.

Room Tip: Apparently there are some rooms that have not been updated, so ask for an updated one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Swyved
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birchington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

Just had my second stay at Hillingdon Prince and it wont be my last. Clean, quiet, well equipped rooms, comfortable beds, nice breakfasts and friendly staff. Parking and location are great. Such good value for money. Thank you!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

This hotel is very reasonable priced. The hotel is clean and have fridge and microwave which is a great bonus! Also there is free wifi and parking another great bonus! Beds are comfortable and clean so all in in all a great hotel to stay in!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cowley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

I stayed in the budget room which is cheaper because not recently refurbished. However, it had all the amenities of the other rooms, it was super comfortable and absoluteley clean. The area is not the nicest part of reading but its only a 15 minute walk to the oracle and town centre.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank H C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reading hotels
1.0 mi away
Ibis Reading Centre
Ibis Reading Centre
#11 of 32 in Reading
4.0 of 5 bubbles 933 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Reading
Hilton Reading
#3 of 32 in Reading
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,706 reviews
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Reading Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
pentahotel Reading
pentahotel Reading
#5 of 32 in Reading
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,137 reviews
1.5 mi away
Beech House Hotel
Beech House Hotel
#9 of 32 in Reading
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
1.6 mi away
Abbey House Hotel
Abbey House Hotel
#14 of 32 in Reading
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillingdon Prince Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillingdon Prince Hotel

Property: Hillingdon Prince Hotel
Address: 39 Christchurch Road, Reading RG2 7AN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Reading
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hillingdon Prince Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay with us for clean comfortable rooms at affordable prices. Our rooms offer microwaves and fridges and some with mini kitchens. Ideal for the cost conscious traveller as you are the able to cater for yourself. We can also arrange free delivery and discounts at our local restaurants. We offer FREE secure wifi, gym and 24 hour reception. We serve breakfast daily. Located just a short walk to the Royal Berkshire Hospital, Reading University, the Town Centre and a short drive to all the local Business Parks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hillingdon Prince Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Reading
Reading Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing