We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hillingdon Prince Hotel
Ranked #15 of 31 Hotels in Reading
UK
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
Reviewed 12 September 2009

This isn't the worst hotel I've ever stayed in - but it might be the most overpriced - I expect much more than shabby carpets, dated decor and flaking paint for nearly £100 a night for a double room. The only positive was the helpful staff.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank noone28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

945 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    303
    335
    123
    76
    108
See reviews for
140
218
90
262
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Horley
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2009

Not the worst hotel Ive been too, butt then not the best.

On entry to the hotel, old towels and trays were strewn in the corridor, suggesting the one man cleaning crew was a bit behind and perhaps overworked.
This opinion was cemented when upon leaving our room we noticed (amazingly for the first time) a 3 inch spider, huge web and remnants of his dinner in the corner above our door.
The breakfast was good, but overpriced.
Downsides were a terrible shower, a load washing macine like drone above our room (suspect it was the boiler and central heating system) and a TV that emitted a whine above the normal noise.

Downsides definetly outweighed the up. But didnt really care at the time and was either still drunk from teh festival or asleep.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chopsthetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Cloud, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2009

This hotel is now called the Hillingdon Prince Hotel, and it's easy to imagine that the Comfort Inn chain booted this property off their franchise list. The rooms are dirty, the carpet is old and just feels disgusting if you walk on it barefoot. I am not a gold medal cleaner myself but it was easy for me to tell that these rooms are grossly--and I mean grossly--neglected. Bed was uncomfortable. Staff were a mixed bag, some were really nice and a couple were rude. There is really no reason to choose this hotel. I thought it might be bearable because it was so close to the university, where I had a meeting, but its proximity is just not worth it. Stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mitre10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Reading hotels

anywhere
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 July 2009

My worst experience worldwide ! I got this attic tiny room, as a few other reviewers. Not only it is very small, but it is not clean at all (hello spiders !) and there must be a leak under the carpet somewhere, it was constantly wet. You may have a better room if you book a double room and require a ground floor room, but it will not necessarily be cleaner. Be prepared. Or choose another hotel.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kourbabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marion, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 26 June 2009

Rooms were quite nice. A VERY quiet location. Breakfast was wonderful and was served by a wonderful wait staff. Dinner at the hotel was good, too. The only negative was the tele was not working properly and the staff said "i guess it's hit or miss" and the wi-fi NEVER worked on my computer but once in a 5 day stay. Signal was quite low.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank singmath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2009

The tiny room didn't look like it had been cleaned all week. There was hair in the shower, carpets were in need of hoovering and the the general decor was not what I call good. One of the staff was helpful, others seemed rather disinterested. On the plus side, very well located close to the motorway and Aldermaston which probably explains the rather excessive room rate.

  • Stayed January 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Man-in-a-car
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2008

I booked a single room in this hotel to stay near Reading University. The building is old and not well maintained (what a waste of such a classic building). The staff were OK and polite. My room was very tiny, but "acceptable". There were 2 large holes in my bed sheet, and there was a huge freakin' spider resting in its web in the corner of the bathroom, which to me indicates lack of proper and regular cleaning. I got free breakfast in return for the holes in the bedsheet.

Simply put, I am not going back to this hotel.

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
Thank BenBella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reading hotels
1.0 mi away
Ibis Reading Centre
Ibis Reading Centre
#11 of 31 in Reading
1,014 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Reading
Hilton Reading
#3 of 31 in Reading
1,839 reviews
1.0 mi away
Novotel Reading Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
pentahotel Reading
pentahotel Reading
#6 of 31 in Reading
2,323 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Forbury Roseate
The Forbury Roseate
#2 of 31 in Reading
535 reviews
2.2 mi away
Ibis Styles Reading Oxford Rd
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillingdon Prince Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillingdon Prince Hotel

Property: Hillingdon Prince Hotel
Address: 39 Christchurch Road, Reading RG2 7AN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 31 Hotels in Reading
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hillingdon Prince Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay with us for clean comfortable rooms at affordable prices. Our rooms offer microwaves and fridges and some with mini kitchens. Ideal for the cost conscious traveller as you are the able to cater for yourself. We can also arrange free delivery and discounts at our local restaurants. We offer FREE secure wifi, gym and 24 hour reception. We serve breakfast daily. Located just a short walk to the Royal Berkshire Hospital, Reading University, the Town Centre and a short drive to all the local Business Parks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hillingdon Prince Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Reading
Reading Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing