We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much better than expected for town centre location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Premier Inn Reading Central Hotel
Ranked #6 of 31 Hotels in Reading
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 February 2012

Was expecting far more noise, especially from the main road directly in front of the hotel. Very quiet - although we had asked for rooms at the back of the hotel just in case.
No noise from other rooms either side, above or below ie tv, scraping of furniture on floors, arguing couples etc.

Cleanliness of room amazing, bathroom spotless, all bedding immaculate, two big squashy pillows and firm, but not hard, mattress.

My parents who have mobility problems, had a disabled room, with a huge bathroom, obviously designed to accommodate a wheelchair. I had expected a shower cubicle and was surprised that it was a bath which they were unable to use as they couldn't get in to it, even though it (and the bed) were lower than in our double room.

The staff, including reception, housekeeping and waiters at breakfast were friendly and very helpful. The "endless breakfast" was exactly that - you could just keep helping yourself to fresh fruit, yogurt, cereals, juices, usual items for Full English, crumpets, croissants, muffins - brilliant start to the day !

Will definately stay here many more times as our son has recently moved into Reading and we hope to visit him regularly.

Don't hesitate to stay here.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the rear of the hotel if you are concerned about traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carole8788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (891)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

776 - 782 of 892 reviews

Reviewed 11 February 2012

This is a Premier Inn after all, but not one of the better ones. If you pay <50/night it's value for money, but definitely not if you pay more, bearing in mind that you will be charged extra both for internet and 'parking'. The philosophy seems to be to cram as many vehicles as possible into the small car park overnight- not really necessary as there is free 8pm-8am in nearby streets and for a charge, the safer, undercover, Oracle car park opposite. Needless to say this leads to many vehicles being blocked in in the carpark and an annoying delay to departure in the mornings as inn staff try to locate offending drivers. I shudder to think what would happen if emergency vehicles needed access.
The inn is in the centre of Reading, very close to the Oracle shopping centre, but also to main roads. Fine in winter when windows are closed but less appealing in summer: pack earplugs.
Customer service variable at best, some reception staff just plain rude.
Daily room service seemed to consist of emptying bins and cleaning basin in bathroom, little else.
Food: breakfast buffet is satisfactory but could become monotonous. We ate in the restaurant only once- food very greasy and not to be recommended. There are many good quality eateries 5 minutes away in the Oracle.
Be aware that there seem to be a number of late night revellers who choose to stay here. We were woken every night during the week by rowdy guests returning to rooms in the early hours. There are notices on doors requesting 'consideration for other guests' but these seem to have little effect.
Overall- this place is certainly convenient but for us this did not compensate for other failings.

Room Tip: Make sure you book a room overlooking the car park, not the freeway!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank etraveller_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2012

Great value and handy for The Mill at Sonning. Very helpful staff in all departments

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2012

Stayed overnight but was woken at three by the TV of the neighbours, who had "fallen asleep" with it on full blast! One trip to the reception sorted out the problem and on check out I was told due to the nature of the problem I could take advantage of the good night guarantee and I got the cost of the night refunded. Bloody goo trip in all, with friendly staff and a great location. we will be going back.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2012

Very clean and comfortable, right in the center of Reading what more can you can you want.
Staff very good, will stay again when in Reading

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geoff a o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2012

very decent premier inn, clean , tidy , great location .

will stay again if need accomodfation in reading

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cwrs82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2012

We stayed here as a stop over, and although the hotel is near a main road, it was very quiet, but maybe because we had a room at the rear, overlooking the car park. The satff and room comfort was of a high standard, seeing as we paid so little, £29. The location was a stone's throw from the centre of Reading, with The Oracle shopping and leisure area minutes away, across the road. We would stay here again, and probably will as we will be doing the same journey in the near future.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear are obviously going to be quieter, but i do not know how noisy, if at all, the fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank macmannotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reading hotels
0.4 mi away
Ibis Reading Centre
Ibis Reading Centre
#11 of 31 in Reading
1,040 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novotel Reading Centre
1.5 mi away
Hilton Reading
Hilton Reading
#3 of 31 in Reading
1,885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
pentahotel Reading
pentahotel Reading
#5 of 31 in Reading
2,411 reviews
0.4 mi away
Malmaison Reading
Malmaison Reading
#4 of 31 in Reading
1,034 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Forbury Roseate
The Forbury Roseate
#2 of 31 in Reading
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Reading Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Reading Central Hotel

Address: Letcombe Street, Reading RG1 2HN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Reading
#3 Family Hotel in Reading
#7 Romantic Hotel in Reading
#11 Business Hotel in Reading
Price Range: £47 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Reading Central Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of Reading opposite the Oracle shopping centre, just 15 minutes drive from M4. The train station is a 10 minute walk and it's just 5 minutes walk for nightlife entertainment. For sport the Madejski stadium is nearby. Our Reading Central Premier Inn has everything you'd expect, incredibly comfy beds in every room and an integrated restaurant serving a mix of traditional and contemporary dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn, TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Premier Inn Reading Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Reading Hotel Reading
Holiday Inn Reading
Reading Premier Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing