We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel though you need to be abnormally quiet!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Premier Inn Reading Central Hotel
Ranked #5 of 31 Hotels in Reading
Certificate of Excellence
South Wales
2 reviews
“Nice hotel though you need to be abnormally quiet!”
Reviewed 1 June 2013

Stay was ruined by a call from reception at 10pm on a Friday night saying we were being too noisy. All we were doing was watching the replay of BGT and playing UNO with the kids. We were told that the room downstairs had a young child! We then had a 2nd call 2 mins later whilst we were only discussing the 1st call to say we were still being too loud. Unbelievable as Stephen Mulhern would say. We are a professional couple with well behaved kids who were just excited to be going to Windsor castle & Lego land this weekend. The 2 calls ruined our night & caused our youngest to become very upset because she thought we were going to be thrown out of the hotel! We we were woken up at 7.30 by the kid crying upstairs! Unbelievable!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GarethW1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

868 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    402
    310
    93
    32
    31
See reviews for
196
222
55
245
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 May 2013

we had an excellent stay at the premier inn, reading central. The hotel was in an excellent location for travelling around, shopping and restaraunts. The breakfast was great with a wide range of food on offer and alternative dietry needs also catered for. One downside was the car parking facilities, these were quite poor at busier periods of the day considering the size of the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee-Gemm-P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limassol, Cyprus
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

I have just stayed there for two nights. The location is excellent. Exactly in the city centre just opposite the entrance to the Oracle Shopping Mall.

The bedroom was vary spacious and very clean. The mattress and pillows were comfortable and the bathroom although simple was also very clean. There is a little noise if you are on the road site but it is not disturbing through the night (you can sleep well).

I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArisFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2013

Good position in central Reading. Staff very pleasant and helpful. Restaurant service good and the salmon and salad nicoise was excellent!
Room was a good size and beautifully clean as was the bathroom..no complaints re. housekeeping. Internal door to next room (for family use) not good if let to another party.

Room Tip: If in a room with an adjoining door ..check if the next room has been let...disturbed night from a n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
282 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2013

We have stayed here a few times and still think it is good value for money and in a really great location for all central Reading has to offer.
The last time we stayed it was a 'spur of the moment' decision (we had been on a shopping trip and decided to stay over for a night out in Reading) and I rang the hotel to book a room for the same day/night. The price they gave me to book there and then over the telephone was dearer than that offered on the Premier Inn website (which annoyed me) so we had to go and find somewhere with wi-fi to book on the internet using our mobile phone. We then took our car to the hotel car park which let us in, only for us to find there were no spaces and - because people had parked all over the place - there was no room to turn round and we had to reverse out (not easy with the barrier etc). It was pouring with rain but as no-one was answering the intercom I had to get out of the car and got very wet going to reception to ask where we could park. The answer was 'The Oracle' car park over the road, so we got soaked again walking back to the hotel.
Once there the hotel staff were helpful, the room was clean and comfortable, and we avoided the food as we haven't enjoyed meals on previous stays. For breakfast we now go to one of the 'Wetherspoons' pubs as it is cheaper and better.
So overall this is still a good place to stay - but the car parking can be a nightmare, there can be a lot of noise from the road, and the food needs improving!

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank thelittlecarrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013 via mobile

We booked well in advance so got 3 nights stay for £152. We arrived mid afternoon and found the place very easily and plenty of parking available. Check in was very easy and we went to out room to drop off our things. The room was spacious and clean with a set of towels in the bathroom and another in the shelving (wardrobe space). We needed more pillows as the 4 in the room were not particularly plump. Reception sent another 2 up very quickly after our request.

We didn't have breakfast at the hotel as its an "all you can eat" for £8.99 and this proves expensive if all you want is a yoghurt and some fruit. Note to Whitbread; why not offer a continental breakfast for £4.49? We did eat on one evening at the hotel. The brand is "Thyme", obviously one in the Whitbread stable. The food was well prepared and presented, what you would expect from a Premier Inn and a decent price too.

In general the staff are professional and helpful. Would we stay here again? Most definitely, we've already checked out availability for our next stay.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PearlandDean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2013

Would recommend this premier inn to all my friends as u can see I've put excellent in all the boxes that applied to our stay,just 3 minutes walk to the Oracle shopping centre and all the restaurants and bars no taxi required( more money to spend on the wife ?) brilliant value will go again very very happy cheers.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Taffy777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reading hotels
0.4 mi away
Ibis Reading Centre
Ibis Reading Centre
#11 of 31 in Reading
1,013 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novotel Reading Centre
0.4 mi away
pentahotel Reading
pentahotel Reading
#6 of 31 in Reading
2,316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hilton Reading
Hilton Reading
#3 of 31 in Reading
1,837 reviews
0.4 mi away
Malmaison Reading
Malmaison Reading
#4 of 31 in Reading
1,004 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Forbury Roseate
The Forbury Roseate
#2 of 31 in Reading
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Reading Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Reading Central Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Reading Central Hotel
Address: Letcombe Street, Reading RG1 2HN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Reading
#3 Family Hotel in Reading
#7 Romantic Hotel in Reading
#11 Business Hotel in Reading
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Reading Central Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of Reading opposite the Oracle shopping centre, just 15 minutes drive from M4. The train station is a 10 minute walk and it's just 5 minutes walk for nightlife entertainment. For sport the Madejski stadium is nearby. Our Reading Central Premier Inn has everything you'd expect, incredibly comfy beds in every room and an integrated restaurant serving a mix of traditional and contemporary dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn Reading Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Reading Hotel Reading
Holiday Inn Reading
Reading Premier Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing