We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great Easter stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Premier Inn Reading Central Hotel
Ranked #4 of 31 Hotels in Reading
Certificate of Excellence
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
“A great Easter stay.”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We stayed at the premier inn following a house emergency on Good Friday for the Easter weekend Despite overlooking the busy oracle roundabout we both remarked on how quiet the room was. The staff were excellent and were brilliant with our 1 1/2 year old son; supplying colouring pencils and chocolate eggs both appreciated greatly, but none more so then their successful efforts to locate his soft toy monkey we accidentally left behind. Thanks especially to the reception team.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Curlyclogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

844 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    393
    300
    89
    31
    31
See reviews for
188
215
55
240
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

A very pleasant stay as would be expected from this chain. The car park is, as advertised, small but we managed to get a place by arriving early, although the approach to the hotel via the back door is not as attractive as the front aspect. Having phoned ahead to request a room close to reception due to a recent leg injury, the reception were expecting me and had already allocated a room on the first floor close to the lift, there are no rooms on the ground floor, although I expect that plans are in place for disabled customers should evacuation via the stairs be necessary? The staff generally were attentive and helpful, the meal in the internal Thyme restaurant was good quality and well presented although the bar choice is limited, no real ales. Some reviewers have mentioned some noise in certain rooms but this is to be expected if you book a city centre location, I did not find my room overly noisy. The convenience for the city centre certainly outweighs any other distractions. Overall a pleasurable nights stay en route.

Room Tip: Ring ahead if you have special requirements or they change, staff are very helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ptb53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lagos
Level Contributor
61 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Checked into Premier Inn Reading Central with my daughter on April 17th for 6 nights. This is my second visit to Premier Inn and again, I wasn't disappointed. I had a room facing the car park on the 4th floor. My room was comfortable and I slept so well except for Saturday night when the hotel had some noisy guests who kept us awake literally, all night. We called Reception about 4am and they sent someone to ask the guests to quieter down but it didn't work. I made a report in the morning and was refunded the £51 I paid for that night! The Premier Inn guarantee works! It really does!
All the staff are really nice. I will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the higher floors facing the car park. They are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kumbs O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with 2 sons on Saturday night as tend to always do when in Reading.
Staff were excellent on arrival and made a real fuss of the kids. They also couldn't do enough to help with extra wifi codes and little extras we needed.

Room was clean and set out properly and kids were delighted to see a decent tv on the wall. It's usual for the rooms to have a small tv that is tricky to see. Also had facility to connect a laptop to the tv which was very useful.

We were woken at 5am by some loud washing machine like sounds which continued until after 7, sounds which as yet unexplained but they exercise the good night sleep guarantee and promised to investigate.

All round decent stay, interrupted sleep aside, great breakfast and good value all round.

Special mention to the guy on reception dressed as a rabbit! A good sport and definitely made the kids smile!

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Craig M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Having recently stayed at the Premier Inn at Cumbernauld, where i was disappointed with the quality of practically everything, the Premier Inn in reading was a welcome return to the kind of standards i expect for the level of rate paid.

The hotel was well positioned across the road from the main retail / shopping / entertainment area within the town centre (The Oracle) and the staff were welcoming and polite.

Parking at the rear was paid at £8 per night with room for around 40 cars, less than 10% of the hotel capacity.

The room was clean and of reasonable size, as was the bathroom although this did not have any shampoo, face/hand creams etc. I stayed in room 320 which faced the front of the building with views of the main road and the back of the Oracle Complex.

Breakfast was as standard for a Premier Inn.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigLee40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We stopped here on a Saturday night and the hotel was full but found the rooms very good. We could not hear our neighbours but maybe they were quiet! The room very clean along with the bedding and bathroom. The shower has some good force to it but sadly we were only left one set of towels and were too rushed in the morning to faff about getting more. There is excellent climate control in the rooms but I did not find this until about 3 am, typical! Tea and coffee is provided in room but I thought the breakfast at £8.75 was a bit pricey. There were vending machines in the lobby if you got hungry during the night.

Apart from the towels my only other complaint would be that the cleaners entered our room at 10 am before we had checked out.

On the whole I was very impressed with the Premier Inn brand having not stopped in one before.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Stayed here 2 nights 5th 6th April.2014. Excellent location for central Reading. Very clean, friendly staff, comfortable bed. Breakfast good but expensive at £8.75 unless you are travelling with children who eat for free. Now our bad points, we stayed in room 117, which was supposed to be at the quiet side of the hotel next to the car park, and due to the level of noise in the room had to be moved to room 138 which was at the other side of the hotel. This was approximately 12.30am and we had 10 minutes to pack all our things up before moving out. Room 138 was at the road side and apart from the noise from the road we could hear a loud argument going on in one of the rooms above, this was now approximately 1.00am and went on for about 20 minutes. Can't say we had a good night's sleep.

Following night we were kept awake by noise from passers by and several ambulances going past, another bad night's sleep. So if you stay here, you are better off at the car park side but not room 117.

Room Tip: Not room 117 or 138
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank selwyn h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reading hotels
0.4 mi away
Ibis Reading Centre
Ibis Reading Centre
#11 of 31 in Reading
4.0 of 5 bubbles 964 reviews
0.4 mi away
pentahotel Reading
pentahotel Reading
#6 of 31 in Reading
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,230 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novotel Reading Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hilton Reading
Hilton Reading
#3 of 31 in Reading
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,762 reviews
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Reading (Caversham Bridge) Hotel
0.4 mi away
Malmaison Reading
Malmaison Reading
#5 of 31 in Reading
4.0 of 5 bubbles 963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Reading Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Reading Central Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Reading Central Hotel
Address: Letcombe Street, Reading RG1 2HN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Reading
#3 Family Hotel in Reading
#7 Romantic Hotel in Reading
#11 Business Hotel in Reading
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Reading Central Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of Reading opposite the Oracle shopping centre, just 15 minutes drive from M4. The train station is a 10 minute walk and it's just 5 minutes walk for nightlife entertainment. For sport the Madejski stadium is nearby. Our Reading Central Premier Inn has everything you'd expect, incredibly comfy beds in every room and an integrated restaurant serving a mix of traditional and contemporary dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Premier Inn and TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn Reading Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Reading Hotel Reading
Holiday Inn Reading
Reading Premier Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing