We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best value in the UK so far”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Premier Inn Reading Central Hotel
Ranked #5 of 31 Hotels in Reading
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We only needed a place to sleep with no time to sight see and an early start. The room was spacious, had everything we needed when needed. Bathroom was small but functional and clean. Down stairs in the reception area there were people having drinks and enjoying themselves but this did not disturb us. The rooms are air conditioned. Parking is at the rear of the building. We were lucky enough to get a place but sign says if it is full go to the building across the road, you do need to pay for the parking, at the hotel though it is cheaper. The buffet hot breakfast was enjoyable and tasty. There were some extra free options from the menu. There is a large range of 'chain' type eateries and a few traditional places a short walk away. It is near a busy road but it wasn't noticeable in the room. Wifi was free for 30minutes, or £3.00 for 24 hours.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank awayalot Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (877)
There are newer reviews for Premier Inn Reading Central Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

456 - 462 of 878 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2014

This hotel was very nice, its location is ok right next to motorway so very loud place. We got a room at the back of the hotel looking at the car park. So it was quieter. Room was very Basic but nothing bad, did not have minibar and bathroom lacked some basic amenities. The TV was good but the Wi-Fi was only free for the first 30 minutes, you have to pay for the rest. That seems very common in hotel chains and is a pain. Very (far too) friendly staff. To the point of feeling uncomfortable. Breakfast was simple but it was really enjoyable. Cereals, hot food etc... Parking costs 8 pound for 24 hours if you can get a spot in the car park behind the hotel.
Overall it was a nice stay. I would recommend it if you need to stay in this part of Reading.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samwil212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Conveniently located near the town centre. Stayed here after a family meal. Check in was quick. There were kids messing in reception but fortunately the lift needed to be activated by room card so they couldn't get upstairs. Room was lovely. Comfy, spacious. Bath and shower was brilliant. Room was quiet. Bed was amazing. Only thing was we had to ask for extra tea coffee and milk but it wasn't a problem for them.
Would recommend

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Karl D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stayed in Premier Inn Reading for one night in June 2014. The room was clean and had all the basic things we needed. Our room was at 2nd floor and it was bit noisy during the morning traffic. Nothing bad but I woke up two times. The walk from the railway station is about 15 minutes.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Z1mmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Many people seem to be quite excited about the Premier Inn which I cannot quite understand. It's surely a good hotel and there may be nothing wrong with it - the location is convenient, the staff is friendly, the rooms are clean and functional. But it's easy to see that this hotel belongs to a chain, with all the standardized signs and menu layouts, let alone the room design (especially the sterile bathroom interior). If you can accept that, fine - but I don't think the place deserves five points. I stayed in a room on the fourth floor for four nights, it was a room equipped for disabled people. I could not open the window (which was in fact partially "blurred" on the glass so you couldn't even really see through it), the curtains were partially jammed, the breakfast claims to be continental but there's no cheese offered, neither cucumbers or fresh tomatoes etc. They do offer veggie (quorn) sausages but you need to ask for them. The orange juice tasted like it was a rather cheap brand, or concentrate/powder diluted with water. I found it a bit irritating that I had to pay the whole bill at check-in. You get 30 mins Wi-Fi per day for free, once I bought the 24 hour service (3 pounds or a bit more, but the receipt I asked to be mailed to me never reached me). Wi-Fi works well, though. There were signs at the elevator entrance downstairs saying that windows in the rooms are left open due to high temperature outside, which is fine and I anyway like to keep windows open whenever possible. However, one night when I came back to the hotel the window was open and the AC was running at full power so it was really chilly inside (the housekeeping must have turned it on in the morning, no idea why). So overall, a couple of slightly irritating things although nothing major, it's still a good hotel but it does provide the average chain experience IMHO, perhaps a bit on the higher end compared to other chains.

Room Tip: Avoid the disabled rooms if you're not disabled as the wardrobe is difficult to impossible to us...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thearndt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

I cannot rave about this place enough.. We have tried other hotels in Reading, including the Pentahotel and Holiday Inn and they don't even compare. From the moment we walked into the hotel we could have not been made to feel more welcome. Every member of staff were exceedingly helpful, kind and accommodating. We travelled with a group if young adults with learning difficulties and each young person was treated with care and respect. Any questions or issues we had, such as needing a map or being unable to print out our boarding passes were quickly and efficiently sorted for us by the staff members! Great location, very comfortable rooms! Great service!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EsLizzieP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Stopped over at this hotel with my family on-route to our final holiday destination
£29 for a family room in the centre of Reading - Great Value.

Family room contained a King sized bed with two single beds and a huge flat screen TV

Room was everything that you expect from Premier Inn - Clean & Comfortable

Hotel is a 2 minute walk from the Oracle shopping centre which has a great selection of shops and places to eat.

Hint - Don't park in the Premier Inn car park which costs £8 - If you park in the Oracle Shopping Centre it may work out cheaper

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nauld22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reading hotels
0.4 mi away
Ibis Reading Centre
Ibis Reading Centre
#11 of 31 in Reading
1,028 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novotel Reading Centre
1.5 mi away
Hilton Reading
Hilton Reading
#3 of 31 in Reading
1,859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
pentahotel Reading
pentahotel Reading
#6 of 31 in Reading
2,372 reviews
0.4 mi away
Malmaison Reading
Malmaison Reading
#4 of 31 in Reading
1,021 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Forbury Roseate
The Forbury Roseate
#2 of 31 in Reading
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Reading Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Reading Central Hotel

Address: Letcombe Street, Reading RG1 2HN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Reading
#3 Family Hotel in Reading
#7 Romantic Hotel in Reading
#11 Business Hotel in Reading
Price Range: £46 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Reading Central Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of Reading opposite the Oracle shopping centre, just 15 minutes drive from M4. The train station is a 10 minute walk and it's just 5 minutes walk for nightlife entertainment. For sport the Madejski stadium is nearby. Our Reading Central Premier Inn has everything you'd expect, incredibly comfy beds in every room and an integrated restaurant serving a mix of traditional and contemporary dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn, TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Premier Inn Reading Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Reading Hotel Reading
Holiday Inn Reading
Reading Premier Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing