We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good budget lodging”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Premier Inn Reading Central Hotel
Ranked #4 of 31 Hotels in Reading
Certificate of Excellence
Olmsted Falls, Ohio
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
“Good budget lodging”
Reviewed 6 October 2009

When we travel we generally look for a comfortable, clean place at an inexpensive price. We can't see the sense in paying fancy prices when we are going to be spending the entire day outside of the hotel sightseeing. I would say that the Premier Inn chain in general (we stayed at 3 of them during our trip) was a good choice for us.

We arrived at this Premier Inn after our first experience at driving and navigating in England (from Heathrow to Reading on the M-4). Our nerves were frazzled! The lady at the front desk was a very pleasant, jovial person, happy to chat with us. A few minutes of conversing with her calmed us down and put us in a much better mood. (In fact at every hotel we found the front desk staff to be extremely kind!)

The location of the hotel was quite good. Close enough that we could walk into the center of town (at least close enough for a person who enjoys walking), yet outside of the city center so that we were able to exit the city with a minimum of frustration.

I cannot comment on breakfast there. We walked down the street to a little place called the Gorge Cafe where we had our first experience with the full English breakfast. (Other than the canned Heinz beans that everyone seems to serve, we really enjoyed the English breakfasts.)

All in all, if you have the same travel philosophy as ours, I would recommend the Premier Inn for anyone who doesn't want to spend a fortune on hotel rooms.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wmsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn Reading Central Hotel, responded to this review, 10 October 2009
Thank you for you positive review.
It is great to hear that our hotel and efficient staff ensured your stay was a good one from the moment you arrived with us.
We are disappointed that you did not experience our Premier Breakfast, this includes a full English Breakfast along with anything you would like from our Continental buffet.
We look forward to welcoming you to Premier Inn in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

843 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    393
    299
    89
    31
    31
See reviews for
187
215
55
240
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2009

Premier Inn , ( Caversham Bridge ) Hotel , Reading.

We stayed here on Saturday night 15/03/09 as my daughter was competing at the Alex Strachan Cup , British Aerobic Gymnastic competition at the local Rivermead Leisure Ctr a walking distance nearby..
The Receptionist was very courteous , polite and smiling.
The Hotel was very clean and the room we were allocated has been recently refurbished.
The bed was nice and comfortable with crispy clean duvet and pillows.
The room was very clean and new looking.
The bathroom was very clean and new with a power shower you could die for.
There was a nice sized LCD TV on the wall with Freeview.
You could gain access to the Internet view WiFi at this hotel ( i did not use this facility).

Full English Breakfasts were a bit expensive at £7.35 each but if 2 adults purchase these a child can eat free. ( more info on Premier inn website )

The only problems were as follows -
The extra lounge seat / bed for my teenage daughter was not made up at the time of arrival.
There was only one set of towels to be used between 3 people in the bathroom.

These were both sorted out by reception staff very quickly , so they were an oversight when room allocation was completed rather than a problem.

There is a Toby Cavery within the same complex for good value meals although users of the hotel dont get any further discount.

The Rivermead leisure ctr is a short walk away along the main road.

Monday - Thursday From £79 per room per night

Friday - Sunday From £59 per room per night

T: 0870 111 2932
F: 0870 111 2933

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daimaxboyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2008

This was up to the usual standard of premier Inns - good value for money.
A good stopping place en route down the M4. Close to, though not actually on the motorway. The route to it takes you down qite narrow country lanes, but the directions are good. Its next to a country pub - I didn't have an evening meal, but the breakfast there was good. Fresh fruit and yogurt etc. and the hot food was cooked to order.

The best thing was the very helpful, cheerful and welcoming staff, which seems to be a characteristic of Premier Inns - way above the standard of many of this type of hotel. I arrived very late (gone midnight) and I had to ring ahead for directions, which were excellent and nothing was too much trouble for them.

  • Liked — Customer service
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank DJK42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
309 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2008

Waht can you say about a Holiday Inn Express? The breakfast was a simple continental style, plenty of car parking, the room was clean and tidy. The bar (or what is put up as a bar) shuts early though. Would I stop here unless on business not really, but you get what you pay for. One moan would be the check out, not enough staff and a little slow.

Finally had a pleasant view overlooking the Thames from my room.

  • Liked — No highlights
  • Disliked — No negatives
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve5839
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 June 2008

I recently had to attend a wedding in Reading and was recommended this hotel by my friend.

I got a room for £45 and thought that well I cant complain as its cheap.

When I checked in I was informed that Continental Breakfast was free. No English, damn. But was informed of alternatives if I wanted a full English. Started to think the receptionist was telepathic. Staff were friendly and chatty and managed to get me a taxi to the reception. Rooms were clean and comfy, and had a great view of river.

A definite Gem and for £45 a bargain.

  • Liked — clean, good value and genuinely friendly staff
  • Disliked — cant complain
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kanderson9987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2008

Stay here for business. Would not stay here for holiday or if I could choose a hotel myself. Breakfast very basic. Room clean, good shower. No minibar. Personnel not unfriendly, but indifferent. Good 15 minutes walk from town center.

  • Liked — shower
  • Disliked — breakfast
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mdeboer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, Devon
Level Contributor
609 reviews
154 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 554 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2007

As I understand it, the Express concept is about providing rather less than the full Holiday Inn service and that's what this establishment does. Yes, the breakfast is very 'continental' but it is adequate. The rooms are fine and, I guess, this particular hotel was constructed quite recently as there is little evidence of 'wear'. Reception were very pleasant and there seem to be very few other staff. Location is quite good, being ten minutes walk from the railway station and other central facilities.

  • Stayed November 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank plymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reading hotels
0.4 mi away
Ibis Reading Centre
Ibis Reading Centre
#11 of 31 in Reading
4.0 of 5 bubbles 963 reviews
0.4 mi away
pentahotel Reading
pentahotel Reading
#6 of 31 in Reading
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,227 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novotel Reading Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hilton Reading
Hilton Reading
#3 of 31 in Reading
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,757 reviews
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Reading (Caversham Bridge) Hotel
0.4 mi away
Malmaison Reading
Malmaison Reading
#5 of 31 in Reading
4.0 of 5 bubbles 960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Reading Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Reading Central Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Reading Central Hotel
Address: Letcombe Street, Reading RG1 2HN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Reading
#3 Family Hotel in Reading
#7 Romantic Hotel in Reading
#11 Business Hotel in Reading
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Reading Central Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of Reading opposite the Oracle shopping centre, just 15 minutes drive from M4. The train station is a 10 minute walk and it's just 5 minutes walk for nightlife entertainment. For sport the Madejski stadium is nearby. Our Reading Central Premier Inn has everything you'd expect, incredibly comfy beds in every room and an integrated restaurant serving a mix of traditional and contemporary dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Premier Inn, TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Premier Inn Reading Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Reading Hotel Reading
Holiday Inn Reading
Reading Premier Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing