We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Late lunch”

Browns Brasserie and Bar
Ranked #55 of 630 Restaurants in Reading
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Welcome to Browns ReadingRubbing shoulders with chic boutiques and vibrant galleries, Browns Reading is the perfect place to soak up the cultural buzz of Berkshire’s well-connected hub.Whether at work or play, Browns offers a uniquely relaxing atmosphere. Unwind over a plate of freshly cooked, modern food. Start your weekend in style with one of our expertly mixed cocktails. Or reward the day’s efforts with a glass of what you fancy from our well-chosen wine and beer rangeLook at the map and our contact details to see how to find us.
Reviewed 30 September 2012

went for a late lunch on Saturrday. It was busy outside being quite warm but less so inside. We had to wait a while to be greeted, had hardly sat down when we were asked what we wanted to drink.. I like time to peruse the wine/cocktail list. We shared a starter - prosciutto and chorizo flat bread with peppers - good. Pity our drinks arrived after the starter. Main course , wild boar burger for husband, house salad with salmon for me. Burger was good. Salad had far too much dressing and the salmon seemed to have a crispy coating (should just have been grilled. Q sugar/starch coating to make crisp??). Scraped that off. Service was ok, they checked food was ok and did apologise for the late arrival of drinks. All very perfunctory. Shame as last time it was all quite perfect.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Wendy119186363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel-Browns, General Manager at Browns Brasserie and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2012

Thank you for taking the time out to leave your feedback on your visit it is really appreciated.

I would like to apologies that your second visit did not live up to the standard of your first and am sorry to have let you down. If you do visit us again then please just ask for myself, Daniel so I can try and rectify the situation for you as best as possible or alternatively please feel free to message us directly on here to discuss the matter further.

Kind Regards,
Daniel
GM Browns Reading

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (590)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

537 - 541 of 591 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2012

Went to Browns - used to be Ivory Lounge - last Saturday for my wife's 27th birthday.

There was 6 of us (3 couples) and we were put on a round table upstairs which was fine. We had to wait for 2 of the 6 so just ordered drinks. The waitress was very quick and polite, didn't even ask us when the other 2 were arriving. She gave us the perfect amount of time to look at the menu; can't stand those who give you the menu one moment and then ask you what you want the next.

I had the scallops for a starter, which were cooked perfectly. Then the king prawn and crab linguine for main. Ended up having a few beers (a Peroni and a couple of German Veltins), along with the 2 other blokes. The women had wine. Everyone loved the food, which included the fish cakes, the steak and the duck salad. The brownies (signature dish) were also excellent.

I don't normally tip waitresses as I feel they usually give a typically insincere and half-hearted service and don't feel they deserve anything extra. I also don't like that most chains force waitresses/waiters to share tips. However, we gave her a generous tip and all our food and drink came to about £40 a head. I don't think that is particularly expensive, especially when the food is very good.

A very good dining experience. I recommend it, especially if you've been to the other restaurants on the Riverside and want something new.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tomst7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel-Browns, General Manager at Browns Brasserie and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2012

Hi Tom

Thank you for such a complimentary review and we really appreciate you taking the time out to share your feedback.

Kind Regards,
Daniel
GM Browns Reading

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2012

Went to Brown's on a Wednesday night on a suggestion. 2 of us had the ribeye steak, both cooked perfectly) and the 3rd had the boar burger. Had a starter & 3 drinks so it was a bit pricey but that was expected when we looked at the menu.
The service was great and our server gave us several tips on where else to go (of course The Purple Turtle) and didn't rush us at all.
Recommended it to several others at our hotel.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank G_Diel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel-Browns, General Manager at Browns Brasserie and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2012

Thank you for taking the time out to review our Restaurant it is greatly appreciated and we are glad you enjoyed your visit - also thank you for passing on your feedback to others at your hotel.

We hope you enjoyed your trip to Reading.

Kind Regards,
Daniel
GM Browns Reading

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

Browns is a nice setting for a meal with friends or a special meal...The food and wine have always been nice i will keep visiting!!!

Thank Helena G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel-Browns, General Manager at Browns Brasserie and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2012

Hi Helena

Thank you for taking the time out to post your review, we really appreciate it and are very glad to hear you enjoy visiting us.

Kind Regards,
Daniel
GM Browns Reading

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2012

Spent an evening in here on businesses tab in summer 2012, spent £180 on some lovely wines that are hard to get elsewhere (thinking Cloudy Bay, etc) along with 3 fine courses including a steak in truffel sauce which is one of the nicest things ive ever eaten.

Definitely recommend. Attentive staff also - and if you want a cocktail they have a wide and varied menu.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank vcolonel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel-Browns, General Manager at Browns Brasserie and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time out to leave your feedback. We really appreciate it and are very glad to hear you enjoyed your visit - Great choice with the Cloudy Bay, my personal favourite.

Kind Regards,
Daniel
GM Browns Reading

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Browns Brasserie and Bar also viewed

 

Been to Browns Brasserie and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing