We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Improved”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Travelodge Reading Whitley
Ranked #20 of 31 Hotels in Reading
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Improved”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

The refurbished rooms etc. are a lot better clean comfortable bed and now have a curved shower curtain rail which makes life better. Would highly recommend at the right price no more than around £40 Book early!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    36
    24
    12
    8
See reviews for
37
22
9
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

after having this booked for me i read online reviews and approached the place with dread, i thought the pace was going to smell but as another reviewer pointed out the only smell was of fresh paint. The bed was comfortable and the pillows huge. Of course its basic, its cheap. There was only soap and no shower gel...the staff i spoke to were very proud of the refurbishment and it is fine for a brief stay. The pub opposite has cheap food but is in dire need of a refit similar to the hotel. For breakfast you get a rather strange breakfast "box" comprising of cornflakes with uht milk (yuk) muffin, nutri grain bar and orange jiuce (great)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Milky653
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Amy from Customer Service at Travelodge Reading Whitley, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Thank you for your feedback Mily653. We can confirm that as standard across our hotels we do not provide toiletries in our rooms. We find our customers prefer to bring their own. We do however provide a vending machine at reception which will contain extra toiletries should you need them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 March 2014

After reading the poor reviews on here, I was expecting the worst but was pleasantly surprised. It was obvious that some redecoration had recently been done as there was a smell of fresh paint and new carpets in reception. The room was clean and comfortable and there was very little noise so I had a good nights sleep.
I paid the non refundable price which worked out about £30 a night overall which was great value for money. The area around the hotel is a bit run down but the pub next door does a reasonable carvery and there's Morrisons within walking distance.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Smarsh62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Convenient location close to central Reading. Hotel has been refurbished and the room was clean & well presented with a decent bathroom which had a nice power shower. The bed was honestly one of the most comfortable I've ever slept on with good quality pillows & duvet. I was pleasantly surprised and felt the room was excellent value for money. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
1 Thank Redster2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reading hotels
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Reading - South M4, Jct.11
0.4 mi away
Hilton Reading
Hilton Reading
#3 of 31 in Reading
1,791 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hillingdon Prince Hotel
Hillingdon Prince Hotel
#15 of 31 in Reading
934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading
1.9 mi away
Ibis Reading Centre
Ibis Reading Centre
#11 of 31 in Reading
988 reviews
2.7 mi away
Ibis Styles Reading Oxford Rd
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Reading Whitley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Reading Whitley

Property: Travelodge Reading Whitley
Address: 387 Basingstoke Road | Whitley, Reading RG2 0JE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 31 Hotels in Reading
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Reading Whitley 2*
Number of rooms: 113
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelodge Hotels Ltd and Evoline ltd so you can book your Travelodge Reading Whitley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Reading
Travel Lodge Reading
Reading Travel Lodge
Reading Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing