We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just the way all guests should be treat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Travelodge Reading Whitley
Ranked #20 of 32 Hotels in Reading
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Just the way all guests should be treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

Had occasion to stay at this lodge on a thursday and came back again on sunday. When i first arrived i was felt very welcome by the receptionist on the desk, he couldn't do enough to make my stay any better. My wife was on crutches so i asked if they had disabled rooms, he had one but someone had booked it, he then rang the guest and asked if he minded not having room and he agreed. Next day(fri) a new receptionist was on and he knew i was booking back in on the sunday, he then booked the same disabled room and said if need be i could leave my car till sunday, which i did. Booking in on sunday there was another receptionist on the desk and knew my needs an carried my bags to the room and asked if there was anything i needed. I would recommend this travelodge with pleasure to anyone and will be staying there again in the future.

Room Tip: Any room will be good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alfrescoO3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    36
    23
    10
    7
See reviews for
37
20
9
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

Super clean and comfortable. People at Reception Desk top notch. No toiletries or phone to front desk. Pretty far from the Thames and about a 10 pound taxi fare from Reading Central but a great place to rest.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank L P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stoke on trent
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

This travelodge was clean and welcoming. The room was excellent and suitable for our needs. The only issue we had was finding our way into the car park as it was not clear where the entrance was. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank kmspence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

I stayed at the hotel for 1 night but was pleasantly surprised by the overall experience. The room was clean & tidy, the bed was lovely and overall a really good standard. There was a carvery next door but we arrived too late to be able to try the food. Locally, there were various food options at the stadium which was less than 2 miles away.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
1 Thank Esha A A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

It was easy to find and from here could travel easily to outside of Reading or into the town centre or the station for the things we came to do and see.
Next door to a Crown Carvery offering good food and drink at reasonable prices.
Ample parking.
Bus stop outside on the main road and one just opposite as well for travelling in the other direction.
Rooms were well maintained clean and spacious. If you want a quiet room ask for one at the back of the building.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
1 Thank thecuckoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

This hotel was spotlessly clean and the room was great, nice comfortable bed and a bathroom with superb shower and a bath. Hotel was convenient for my needs and the pub opposite served a great breakfast

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Kerry V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swanage
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

My wife and I stayed at this Hotel on the 4th. and 5th.April for the third time and were delighted at the improved quality of the bedrooms as they had been refurbished. The bed was very comfortable and we consider that any adverse comments of a serious nature should be ignored in future. There will always be minor problems but as we have observed in other Travelodges that generally speaking their specially chosen Staff are doing a fine job for the Company. The lack of Catering Facilities does not matter at all as there is an excellent Crown Carvery adjacent which shares the free Car Park with the Travelodge.
HAVE NO FEAR BOOK AT WHITLEY as in my opinion you get good value for money.

Room Tip: We have been happy when staying in all rooms which have been allocated to us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sorastro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reading hotels
1.1 mi away
Hillingdon Prince Hotel
Hillingdon Prince Hotel
#16 of 32 in Reading
3.5 of 5 bubbles 920 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Reading
Hilton Reading
#3 of 32 in Reading
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,727 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Reading - South M4, Jct.11
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading
1.9 mi away
Ibis Reading Centre
Ibis Reading Centre
#11 of 32 in Reading
4.0 of 5 bubbles 946 reviews
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn Reading Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Reading Whitley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Reading Whitley

Property: Travelodge Reading Whitley
Address: 387 Basingstoke Road | Whitley, Reading RG2 0JE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 32 Hotels in Reading
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Reading Whitley 2*
Number of rooms: 113
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge Reading Whitley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Reading
Travel Lodge Reading
Reading Travel Lodge
Reading Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing