We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting”
Review of REME Museum - MOVED

REME Museum
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The REME Museum tells the history of the Royal Electrical and Mechanical Engineers from their birth in 1942 until the present day. The collection on display includes tools used by REME soldiers, an extensive weapons display and historic the repair and recovery vehicle collection.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
415 reviews
137 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Interesting”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Found ourselves here due to bad weather. Interesting and plenty to see and read. Quiet on a Friday afternoon. Unlikely to go again, save it for a rainy day.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank cngj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    19
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Georgetown, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We had a great afternoon during our first visit to this museum with 3 kids in tow. Started off with baguette lunches which were made to order and very tasty. Great service. So much to see (medals, tanks, guns, ground vehicles etc.) and the interactive areas throughout the museum kept everyone occupied, along with the crazy-addictive Gnome Hunt, we spent almost 3 hours there and not once were the kids bored. Surprised and thrilled by the level of activities that were offered. Suitable for all ages, absolute value for money and definitely a must see for young and old alike. Will be sad to see it close when they relocate it to Wiltshire.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank AZSamH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wokingham, UK.
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent museum ,”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Visited the museum with 2 adults and 2 boys, enjoyed the experience , the exhibits are interesting for adults and children. The whole of Arborfield is going to be re developed soon , so visit just in case the museum has to move.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank The_Luffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A walk back in history and technology elaned”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Perhaps a bit biased as ex REME, the museum is well laid out with ample exhibits both of military armour and modern missiles. By the far the best are the art exhibits specially of Baghdad. The tracked vehicle/ helicopter room is a must to see especially for the small ones you have to go. But don't delay only another year.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank wearyman_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Kept kids (2 boys + 2 girls) amused all day - great value”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I've been meaning to visit the REME museun for some time and finally got around to it, now I'm cross that we haven't been before!! I took two 6 year old girls and two eight year old boys and they loved it. They made parachutes, did junk modelling, made little paper helicopters, challenged the chocolate machine, and added their stamp to some "modern art". They loved using the field telephones, and were entranced by the A-Z hunt. What an amazing place!! Total entry cost for the 5 of us was £15 - bargain. The coffee shop was good value too, with generous slices of homemade cake for £1.50-£1.70. Unfortunately we weren't able to make it on the Wednesday for the mini assault course, led by real soldiers, but I suspect we will be back in October half term so try that out...

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank FamilyOf5youngkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed REME Museum also viewed

 
Reading, Berkshire
Reading, Berkshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing