We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awful”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Rainbows Lodge

Rainbows Lodge
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rainbows Lodge
Ranked #26 of 32 Hotels in Reading
cheshire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Awful”
Reviewed 21 April 2012

Boiler was broken - no hot water. Toilet hadn't been cleaned. Room at front overlooking main road and only single glazing so couldn't sleep. Limited parking.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brahmsCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    14
    24
    10
    7
See reviews for
8
11
9
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pune, India
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

Prices: They are on the cheaper side
Location: is good, major things are nearby
Noise: Yes lots of it, from the road as well as from your neighbours (Walls are paper thin)
Staff: Did not had much interaction, check-in was quick
Cleanliness: Hotel itself is clean, but room cleaning needs to improve
Room: I got one on the 1st floor, good enough, with a double bed, TV, Hair Dryer, Kettle. And yes a staircase (4 steps) to the bathroom, Was ok for me may not be for others
Wi-Fi: Yes and Excellent
Food: Avoid the attached Italian restaurant
Car Park: They have limited space available, you need to be lucky enough to get one

Problems: The central water boiler was not working for 3 days, which required the guests to take keys for other rooms (which had electric boilers) for having a bath. This was annoying and dis-comforting, and then 3 days of lead time to fix a boiler is too much.

Others: If you have huge suitcases then avoid this hotel as they do not have a lift and carrying luggage through the tiny staircase will be a problem

Most of the floor boards creak

Room Tip: Not much to choose from but all rooms look different, single beds are better then double beds get on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aditya D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Reading hotels

Bideford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012

Disinterested staff on reception.
Every floorboard creaks
Had a single room, clean, tidy with Hairdryer, TV, kettle and Free Wi Fi ++for that.

Advertises it has bar and restaurant - Sorry, serving 1 bottled brand of lager from a fridge does not make a bar. The restaurant is a nasty Italian restaurant, the food is poor and service poorer.

Room Tip: Try the Crown Plaza opposite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nigsy116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 December 2011

Hotel location is good. I did not need to interact with the staff much which for me is positive. Room cleaning could be more thorough (stains on wall). Wifi was excellent. I was on the first floor from the side of the busy road, there is some noise but I had no trouble sleeping.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dim z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Como, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 December 2011

first night couldn't sleep because of heating appliances noises, shower so small I couldn't even wash myself, the only window faced a heater puffer room in the backyard.

changed the room, noticed a weird smell, I thought someone smoked even it was a no -smoking room. couldn't sleep again because it rained (not unusual in UK) and a huge drip sound was disturbing.


pee stain and hairs in the batthroom

next morning found out the smell was the pissed couch.

ok,booking at Crowne Plaza, talked to the director I would have checked out on Thursday.

Came back on Wednesday, key doesn't work, went to the reception and I have been checked out one day before!

Room Tip: stay away!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Attila204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2011

I stayed here for one night prior to a business meeting the following day.

This is a budget hotel with very limited facilities and in a tricky location, it's cheap and clean but nothing else.

The traffic in Reading is appalling and getting to the hotel from Slough (20 miles) took 1 hour 20 mins and the 3 mile trip to Thames Valley Park the next day took over 30 minutes. So it's not in the best of locations, it's on the wrong side of Reading for most business stays.

The car park is tiny and cramped, which is in keeping with the hotel as a whole and I can imagine that this would cause problems for guests sometimes.

The welcome wasn't exactly warm, the gentleman on the checkin desk gave me the me the impression that he didn't really want to be there but to be fair to him, that's how I felt during my short stay and he has to be there all the time.

My room (13) was tiny and had a single bed, wardrobe, desk & TV wedged in between the window (facing the busy and very noisy road outside) and the (poorly soundproofed) door to the (creaky) corridor. Thankfully this room was on the top floor, I imagine if it had been lower down I would've had to endure the noise from upstairs as well, which would've meant even less sleep. All in all, there was hardly room to swing a mouse, yet alone a cat and if I had, my fellow guests probably would've heard every movement!

The only communal space in the hotel is the small lounge area directly in front of the reception desk, which was inappropriate for our group, and the restaurant next door is a separate business, even though it directly adjoins the hotel, so no respite there without a meal.

All in all a disappointing stay at this small independent hotel which only served to highlight the reasons why Premier Inns, Travelodge & Holiday Inn Express are doing so well: a much better quality product for the price.

Room Tip: Choose one at the back of the hotel, the road is really noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rosssully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Australia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2011

We chose this place as we wanted an apartment for our last two nights in the UK. It looks like a "dive" from the outside and inside isn't that much better. The carpet looks like it came straight out of a public bar with all the lovely stains you'd expect. The same goes for the overhead exhaust fan, no lights working over the cook-top and the FILTHY filters, the wall tiles are also grotty.
The bathroom shower had been reported prior to our arrival and not yet fixed so we had to have a bath. Whilst we were out it has supposed to have been fixed but is now dripping constantly. On opening the washing machine door I plucked out a comb from inside the rubber surround and even that was pig filthy. Does anyone look, it wasn't hard for me to see the filth?
The bath, toilet and basin were clean as was the bedding and it was comfortable. Parking was onsite out the back of the building. The walls are thin but the noise was only first thing in the morning when most people are on the move anyway so not a problem for us. Washing machine/dryer combo is ridiculous as the dryer takes numerous cycles, four cycles for 6 pairs of undies! Find a laundromat and use the dryer there or you'll be running this thing all night long.The lady on reception and the gentleman that came to look at the shower were very pleasant. This place just really needs a damned good scrubbing and either new carpet or vinyl for ease of cleaning.

Room Tip: We were given ground floor room no. 1 (The York Room) which was wonderful for once not having to car...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boozybub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reading hotels
0.0 mi away
Thameside Hotel
Thameside Hotel
#19 of 32 in Reading
139 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ibis Reading Centre
Ibis Reading Centre
#11 of 32 in Reading
946 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ibis Styles Reading Oxford Rd
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hillingdon Prince Hotel
Hillingdon Prince Hotel
#15 of 32 in Reading
920 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mercure George Hotel Reading
0.6 mi away
pentahotel Reading
pentahotel Reading
#6 of 32 in Reading
2,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rainbows Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainbows Lodge

Property: Rainbows Lodge
Address: 132-138 Caversham Road, Reading RG1 8AY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 32 Hotels in Reading
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Rainbows Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Rainbows Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rainbows Hotel Reading

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing