We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel with very high level of service”
Review of Beech House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Beech House Hotel
Ranked #8 of 31 Hotels in Reading
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel with very high level of service”
Reviewed 23 May 2011

This was a gem. Big Victorian house, redecorated around 2 years ago to a very high standard. Public rooms were beautiful-soft furnishings and decor to extremely good taste, with original ceiling cornices, high quality prints and original paintings on walls, lovely sunny breakfast room with Churchill blue and white china, individual salt and pepper grinders, a real pleasure to eat breakfast in.
We were shown a choice of rooms, but chose the one allocated with our booking. It looked out over the garden. Lovely mahogany bedroom furniture, very comfortable queen size bed with lovely bedlinen, including sheet and blanket, as well as quilt. Lots of space, for storage and for us. Very quiet, looking out over garden which was very pretty. The bathroom was excellent with large high force walk in shower. The gentleman who was on duty over the weekend was incredibly courteous and attentive. I would recommend this place as a very nurturing, elegant, comfortable stay, on a par with places twice the price and outstanding value.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eagle22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    185
    88
    18
    3
    1
See reviews for
48
108
30
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2011

Booked online for Beech House and was not disappointed. My father had a small but well appointed single room and I shared a twin. Both were immaculate and had everything we needed for our stay. The service was excellent on arrival (we were shown around and to our rooms) and at breakfast which was excellent. We were able to sit in the garden and enjoy a relaxing coffee after arriving and there was a restaurant directly opposite for our evening meal. I would definately stay here again and would recommend! It was easy to find from junc 12 of M40 and had ample parking.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rayleigh02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 April 2011

Stayed at Beech House Hotel for one night. Proved to be in a great position for a 2 day flat hunting search of Reading. My daughter and I stayed in a twin room, which was very clean and comfortable. Breakfast had a good selection for the price. The staff were very friendly and helpful, I would definately recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JAR056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bristol
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2011

We stayed here for a night as we were seeing a production at the Hexigan. The location was great - an easy walk to the theatre. We were given a guided tour of the hotel by the friendly and efficient manager .Out room was spacious and clean and the bed very comfortable. We were also able to log into free WiFi in our room.The breakast was well prepared and presented. We will definatly stay here again. Our tip woupd be dont trust your sat nav - it will take you to another part of Reading with the same post code!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nretiredBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Skye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2011

A warm and friendly welcome. Nice and comfortable rooms. Ideally, I'd have liked a bath but since that's all I've got to complain about, it must be pretty good. Power shower was a good alternative. Breakfast was good with a wide variety. Free Wifi was a boon too.

All in all, highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jelby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2011

Have stayed at this hotel for the last three weeks, with a colleague, for business purposes. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Luxury accomodation at prices that all can afford. Ali ensures your stay is enjoyable and has that extra special greeting for all his guests. Rooms are excellent, as is breakfast. Parking great, location good.
Will definately stay again whenever in the Reading area ! Would highly recommend this establishment, as would my colleague.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank joyus57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 February 2011

excellant value,spotlessly clean , very freindly and informed manager,very central location,great breakfast,will stay again .

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pamburch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reading hotels
1.4 mi away
The Forbury Roseate
The Forbury Roseate
#2 of 31 in Reading
4.5 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hilton Reading
Hilton Reading
#3 of 31 in Reading
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,759 reviews
0.9 mi away
pentahotel Reading
pentahotel Reading
#6 of 31 in Reading
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Malmaison Reading
Malmaison Reading
#5 of 31 in Reading
4.0 of 5 bubbles 961 reviews
1.3 mi away
Premier Inn Reading (Caversham Bridge) Hotel
0.3 mi away
Abbey House Hotel
Abbey House Hotel
#14 of 31 in Reading
4.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beech House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beech House Hotel

Property: Beech House Hotel
Address: 60 Bath Road, Reading RG30 2AY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Reading
#3 Romantic Hotel in Reading
#5 Family Hotel in Reading
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Beech House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Beech House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beech House Reading
Beech Hotel Reading

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing