We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Bit of a Mixed Bag”
Review of Beech House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Beech House Hotel
Ranked #8 of 31 Hotels in Reading
Certificate of Excellence
Dunblane, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A Bit of a Mixed Bag”
Reviewed 12 August 2011

Having read reviews I thought I was booking into a "boutique-style" bed and breakfast but was somewhat disappointed with various aspects of our visit. I had specifically asked for a room with bath (I have a phobia about showers) and we were initially shown to Room 9 which turned out to be drab and rather grim. It was very shabby and the bathroom was not en suite but across a small landing. The toilet was in a room on the other side, and as far as we could see, had no lock on the door.

We sat for a while but the bedroom was so depressing - dark brown and cream - my daughter asked if we could move to another. The owner/manager was very helpful but explained this was the only room with a bath! He did however move us to another room with a shower only,which was much nicer, and said he could allow me to use the bath on the Saturday morning but not on the Sunday morning as the hotel would be busy and the adjoining bedroom would be let. I agreed this would be ok and went for the bath at 8.00am the following morning to find the water only lukewarm.
I reported this problem and it was soon rectified. However the bathroom was at the opposite side of the hotel to where our new room was, so not terribly convenient. My son meanwhile was in a single room on the ground floor and c omplained it was cold and noisy, and he had very little sleep. An electric heater was offered.

The breakfast was excellent. The dining room was pleasant and the service very good. Prepared to overlook the initial hiccups which were rectified to a certain extent and carried out amiably, I went to settle the bill on the sunday morning to be asked if nail polish had been spilled on the bedcover. I hadn't used nail polish but when questioned my daughter said she had, but was unaware of spilling anything or it would have been removed immedately with nail polish remover. We asked to view the bedspread and discovered a small stain (on a striped cover) which had been left after housekeeping had attempted to clean it. I was then asked for £40 to cover the cost of the cover going to a dry cleaners for spot cleaning!

I would have thought that hotel contents were covered for accidental damage through insurance and was surprised to be asked to pay for cleaning, a move which rather left a bad taste after what had been a fairly uninsipring visit.

Overall this stay was something of a mixed bag. I would certainly not recommend this hotel - nor would I stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kate109870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    91
    18
    3
    1
See reviews for
50
110
30
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2011

Stayed at the hotel for the purpose of a local wedding. Double room with Breakfast - £65.00 per night. Hotel was imaculate. Very quiet despite being on a main road. Breakfast was fresh and very tasty! Would def stay again if i was this neck of the woods again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louferris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2011

We stayed at this lovely small hotel for three nights as a central place to see the sights of Oxford, Windsor, and London. We got a fantastic deal for the three nights on a last minute booking, and requested a room at the back of the hotel. When we arrived, our bags were carried up to the room (this didn't happen at any of the other 10 or so hotels we stayed at during our 3 weeks in July) and we were shown two rooms from which to choose - both were lovely, but we chose the smaller at the back of the hotel, overlooking the pretty garden. The room was spotlessly clean, the bed firm and comfortable, and the room very quiet and peaceful, but the best thing about this hotel was the excellent service from Umar, the manager. We were given printed out maps, detailed directions, and all the help we could need to make our stay stress free and very pleasant. Couldn't recommend this place highly enough.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annemnzn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2011

Good-sized family room on the ground floor - not at all noisy considering we were overlooking a main road. Very good value for money and a well-cooked generous breakfast.
Decor and furnishings in bedroom were a little tired, but beds were perfectly comfortable and bathroom was very clean. An excellent choice for travellers on a budget, especially families.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sb693000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, UK
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2011

I was booked in to the Beech House Hotel by an accommodation agency following a burst pipe at my own house. I was immediately made to feel at home by Umar, the owner, who personally checked me in and offered to help with my luggage.

The building was originally a large, detached Victorian home and the decor is traditional yet fresh, and a welcome change from anonymous chains. My room, a double on the first floor, was very well furnished and en-suite (with a power shower), wifi access and large freeview TV. (Satellite channels are available in the comfortable residents' sitting room). A full English breakfast is available, as well as lighter options, in the light and airy morning room that looks out onto a well-kept garden.

Parking is free at the front of the hotel, which is set back from the main road, giving easy access to the town centre and major routes without background noise. A restaurant/bar immediately opposite offers food though to 10pm, so lunch or evening meals are also to hand.

This is truly a hidden gem of a property and I am not surprised that many business people book here repeatedly.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlunEOxford_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yarnfield
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2011

Very good welcome from staff. Good clean hotel , very good breakfast would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TonyYarnfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk
Level 6 Contributor
444 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2011

My second stay at the hotel but this time as a couple, we were greeted enthusiastically, sat in the plush lounge to do the registration and then escorted to the room having our bags carried for us. Lovely room, all mod cons, big bathroom. Had a struggle to get to the wardrobe as it was behind the TV but nothing that couldnt' be overcome. Good tea and coffee choice.
My partner said the bed was too hard and that he wasn't comfortable all night but his snoring belied this. He really enjoyed the breakfast as did I.
We needed a taxi which was arranged for us. Lovely garden to sit out in. Coffe/tea, water available, nice lounge though we didn't use it.
A lovely off centre base that is better than value for money,

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reading hotels
1.4 mi away
The Forbury Roseate
The Forbury Roseate
#2 of 31 in Reading
535 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hilton Reading
Hilton Reading
#3 of 31 in Reading
1,839 reviews
0.9 mi away
pentahotel Reading
pentahotel Reading
#6 of 31 in Reading
2,323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Malmaison Reading
Malmaison Reading
#4 of 31 in Reading
1,009 reviews
1.2 mi away
Novotel Reading Centre
0.3 mi away
Abbey House Hotel
Abbey House Hotel
#14 of 31 in Reading
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beech House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beech House Hotel

Property: Beech House Hotel
Address: 60 Bath Road, Reading RG30 2AY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Reading
#3 Romantic Hotel in Reading
#3 Best Value Hotel in Reading
#5 Family Hotel in Reading
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Beech House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Lastminute, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and LateRooms so you can book your Beech House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beech House Reading
Beech Hotel Reading

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing