We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top Banana”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Beech House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Beech House Hotel
Ranked #10 of 31 Hotels in Reading
Certificate of Excellence
BELFAST
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Top Banana”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

this is a lovely hotel with knowlegable and helpful staff the rooms are spotless and the breakfast and evening meal are delecious i hope to stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MARK H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    181
    87
    18
    3
    1
See reviews for
45
108
30
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
liverpool UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012

The staff are very friendly and helpful and make you feel welcome. The hotel is set in a good location far enough from the main road to get a good nights sleep. Stayed in a King room which are very good sized rooms, decorated and finished to a high standard. Room was well furnished, and a very comfy super king bed. Standard Tea/Coffee making items, LCD TV in the room with freeview channels and free WiFi available.
Lots of character in the old house which is a nice change from the standard chain hotels. Plenty of places to eat locally in the evening and breakfast was very good. Only 7 miles away from the Wolf's Conservation Trust in Beenham so if visiting the Wolves or are in Reading you cannot go wrong if you choose this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elmo72liverpoolUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012 via mobile

One night stopover with 2 year old, plenty if room for cot. Staff very helpful and friendly. Very clean and comfy play. Lovely garden too - got lucky sunny day and flowers and borders beatuiful. Only suggestion for them is to stock some herbal, fruit teas for us non-caffeine folk! :-). Thanks for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simonmartin99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2012

Very pleasant stay here. Staff very friendly and helpful, nice comfy room and good breakfast.

Room Tip: We stayed in s downstairs room on the side and apart from a noisy blackbird at 5am we were not distu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bilbur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2012

Stayed here towards the end of May 2012 for 3 nights whilst working in the local area. Excellent and friendly service by the staff (it may have been the manager), bags carried upstairs and a full introduction to the room and other facilities.

Ordered a takeaway one night and was given a tray with a plate, knife and fork to eat it on, this hasn't happened in 10 years of staying away in UK hotels!! In my opinion it's service like this that which separates the wheat from the chaff and it was no surprise to see a placard in reception with a well deserved Tripadvisor award on it for (i think) 2011

Room was clean and tidy and the breakfasts were spot on and despite being next to a main road into Reading it was surprisingly quiet (they have an oasis of a garden at the back where you can sit out and enjoy the sunshine in the right weather). The price was also very reasonable.

Will undoubtedly use this hotel again for future trips to Reading.

Room Tip: A room at the back of the hotel is likely to be less noisy than the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrVanilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2012

We have to visit Reading quite often. We found the Beech as we needed a hotel quickly. The rooms are very clean and tidy. The staff very plesent and welcoming. The breakfast is also of a good standard, however the table set up is a little strange in the restaurant (you will know what I mean if you stay!). We have now found a nice family run B&B in Reading which will be our natural 1st choice.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank WALON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2012

A lovingly restored house, with all the traditional features that make it seem still like a family home. Comfortable beds, adequately spacious rooms, comfortable sitting and breakfast rooms. Pleasant staff, some of whom unfortunately at breakfast spoke poor English, but then pleasantly corrected their erroneous orders with no complaints. The manager is very helpful and approachable. No bar or mini-bar so if you want a nightcap bring your own. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MF&JJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reading hotels
1.4 mi away
The Forbury Roseate
The Forbury Roseate
#2 of 31 in Reading
4.5 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hilton Reading
Hilton Reading
#3 of 31 in Reading
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,733 reviews
0.9 mi away
pentahotel Reading
pentahotel Reading
#6 of 31 in Reading
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Malmaison Reading
Malmaison Reading
#5 of 31 in Reading
4.0 of 5 bubbles 947 reviews
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Reading (Caversham Bridge) Hotel
0.3 mi away
Abbey House Hotel
Abbey House Hotel
#14 of 31 in Reading
4.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beech House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beech House Hotel

Property: Beech House Hotel
Address: 60 Bath Road, Reading RG30 2AY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Reading
#3 Romantic Hotel in Reading
#5 Family Hotel in Reading
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Beech House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Beech House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beech House Reading
Beech Hotel Reading

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing