We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely quiet retreat”
Review of Beech House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Beech House Hotel
Ranked #10 of 31 Hotels in Reading
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My husband and I have stayed in this hotel three times now. It offers very comfortable accommodation with good decor throughout the hotel. The full english breakfast was very good and also the service. Tea, coffee and biscuits in the room and tv with a lot of sky channels. Friendly and helpful staff on hand. Lovely gardens to stroll around or sit. If you dont like a noisy place then is ideal.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank glamgran55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (308)
There are newer reviews for Beech House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

138 - 144 of 308 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2014

What a lovely hotel. Charming, central, with all the amenities you need and friendly, helpful staff. It manages to create a welcoming, traditional atmosphere but still have the modern facilities that a good quality hotel should have. When we got a little lost due to the road diversion, the helpful chap stayed on the phone to give us the directions to the door as we drove. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We stayed at this lovely hotel on a Thursday night, Warm welcome recieved, in a lovey relaxed enviroment, bedroom of a high standard, with good quality tea and coffee in room, the bathroom had a power shower, bathroom had some lovely touches with a lovely little chair, and good quality shower gels and shampoos and very spacious. Hotel spotless. Free wifi, staff very helpful and pleasent, breakfast was excellent, with a buffet starter, table laden with cereals, fruit, fresh fruit, and fruit juices, full breakfast cooked to perfection. Lovely grounds, I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: I had not specific requirements, and the room couldn't have been better.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 194LLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

I booked this hotel, after reading several reviews, I always tend to read the ones which are not always good.
It was a bit of a mission to get to this hotel, only because the main road was closed due to major waterworks being carried. That said when we arrived we entered into a grand hallway with an imposing staircase, quite dark but in keeping with the Victorian decor. We stayed in room 3, again nice room. Clean and tidy. The bed was very hard, which wasn't to my liking,but hey, when you tired after a long drive, who cares!.
There was a Beefeater Restaurant opposite but we could not book a table, so decided to get a taxi into Reading town centre which arrived about 5 minutes after booking and took 10 minutes.
Breakfast was full English and very enjoyable.
Would definitely stay here again, and recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank t26morley_home
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Instead of staying in the center of reading i suggest this small, very comfortable hotel. It's a city house hotel, therefore more old style though very, very well kept. Everything very nicely thought of. All the details you don't get in the classic business hotels. Sitting room, books, lovely breakfast room with very polite service. A more personal touch. Breath of fresh air instead of classic large, organised business stays. Worth a try.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

a most warm welcome and a very enjoyable stay at this classy hotel. the bed was excellent and most comfortable and our room was lovely. we enjoyed getting ready for our wedding in a relaxed atmosphere, and the chocolates the staff left for us was a lovely touch

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stevecapel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

It's rare that I write a review of a hotel, particularly if it's booked for business. From booking right through to checking out, the service at this hotel from every member of the team was very professional and helpful. The hotel has a lovely atmosphere as soon as you walk in the door, perfect for relaxing after a long day. The rooms were very clean, homely and had plenty of good amenities. Free wifi was also a lovely benefit. If you like your breakfast then you're also in for a treat - every bit of our full English was cooked to perfection, a great way to set yourself up for the day. Lots cheaper than a major chain hotel and 10 x better.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel are quieter.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reading hotels
1.5 mi away
Hilton Reading
Hilton Reading
#3 of 31 in Reading
1,861 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Forbury Roseate
The Forbury Roseate
#2 of 31 in Reading
543 reviews
0.9 mi away
pentahotel Reading
pentahotel Reading
#6 of 31 in Reading
2,375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Malmaison Reading
Malmaison Reading
#4 of 31 in Reading
1,022 reviews
1.2 mi away
Novotel Reading Centre
1.2 mi away
Ibis Reading Centre
Ibis Reading Centre
#11 of 31 in Reading
1,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beech House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beech House Hotel

Address: 60 Bath Road, Reading RG30 2AY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Reading
#3 Romantic Hotel in Reading
#5 Family Hotel in Reading
Price Range: £66 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Beech House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Lastminute, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your Beech House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beech House Reading
Beech Hotel Reading

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing