We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, a bit noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure George Hotel Reading
Ranked #17 of 31 Hotels in Reading
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
106 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Great location, a bit noisy”
Reviewed 20 September 2011

I stayed in Mercure George for one week for business purposes. The hotel probably has the best location in Reading if you want to be in the centre of everything. Starbucks, Costa, Oracle Malls, and train station is nearby. With location, comes the drawback, i.e the noise. Not only coming from outside, but also from the wooden stairs/ floors in corridor. Most of the review also mention this issue, that's probably why it ranks in the middle for hotel options at Reading. If you are all for parties, then by all means this is your hotel. The amenities were basic. It has no air condition so I requested a portable fan because sometimes it get hot in mid day.
Note: in some webiste, they mention the hotel has free wi-fi in the room. It is NOT. The wi-fi is NOT free and it is only accessible from the hotel lobby, unless you get a room right on top of the lobby (which I had).

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jigrak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StuartReading, General Manager at Mercure George Hotel Reading, responded to this review, 26 September 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and am pleased you enjoyed your stay at The Mercure George Hotel in Reading.

Kind Regards

Stuart Hall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    173
    183
    75
    49
See reviews for
33
85
105
267
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Otley, West Yorkshire.
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2011

Nice clean room, quiet location.

Friendly reception staff, average breakfast, no worse than anywhere else that tries to keep the hot food warm over a chafer.

Nice bar and quiet outside area.

Think I'll stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris_db
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StuartReading, General Manager at Mercure George Hotel Reading, responded to this review, 26 September 2011
Glad that you enjoyed your stay at The Mercure George Hotel in Reading and hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards

Stuart Hall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

I have stayed at this hotel many times when working at my employer's Reading office (although this was my second choice hotel).

It is a fantastic building, very atmospheric bordering on spooky if I am being honest!

There are gorgeous wooden staircases inside and the rooms are very comfortable although the rooms at the front above the entrance can be a bit noisy at night time.

To get breakfast you need to walk through the old courtyard at the front into a separate restaurant. The breakfast was full English and very tasty.

The hotel is rather basic as in there is no gym or swimming pool but it is in a great location right in the centre of Reading next to the Oracle and numerous bars etc. It is also 5 minutes walk from my office which was also an added bonus.

Room Tip: If you want a good night's sleep ask for a room away from the entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mapsuita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StuartReading, General Manager at Mercure George Hotel Reading, responded to this review, 26 September 2011
Thanks for your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit to The Mercure George Hotel in Reading and i hope to see you on your next visit.

Kind Regards

Stuart Hall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2011

I stayed here overnight while on business. The breakfast was good, nice range and tasty. The room was spacious but it was very warm and so I had to keep the window opened but it was noisy outside with the road and people outside til the small hours so sleep wasn't that peaceful. Also, as the hotel is really old, the floors creaked and it did put me off a bit, even in the bathroom the floor creaked! Great location though, in centre of Reading high street but suppose that is why it's noisy.

Room Tip: Away from main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jules_foreva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StuartReading, General Manager at Mercure George Hotel Reading, responded to this review, 26 September 2011
thank you for posting your thoughts on here,we really do value your feedback. I look forward to welcoming you back to The Mercure George Hotel in Reading

Kind Regards

Stuart Hall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dammam, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2011

This is a hotel I stayed in before when in Reading. I am pleased to say the standard of accommodation is being maintained at its usual high standard. On this stay I was in single room, but was informed that water was leaking whenever I used the shower, I was asked to move room to effect repair, and was immediately upgraded to a double room, for free. There is an Indian restaurant attached to hotel, and in morning the breakfasts are served here, which includes a buffet-style for continental breakfast, and a cooked breakfast made to order. There is a wall mounted flat screen TV with tea / coffee making facilities, complimentary toiletries are supplied. I will stay here again when in Reading.

Room Tip: Request a room away from street, as can get noisy at weekends
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StuartReading, General Manager at Mercure George Hotel Reading, responded to this review, 26 September 2011
I was happy to note that you enjoyed your stay at The Mercure George Hotel In Reading.
I look forward to your next visit .

Kind Regards

Stuart Hall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea
Level Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2011

I stayed in the Mercure George for 4 nights, for work. The room I had was very warm at night, so I had the window open. There was noise throughout the night from what I assume was the air conditioning unit for the building next door. All in all I didn't get much sleep at this hotel. The bathroom was very small, but this wasn't a problem for me. Also as the hotel is in an old building, it's a bit of a maze with various corridors and stairs, this was only an issue when carrying luggage to the room. On the plus side, the room was clean and comfortable and the hotel is in a good location, right in Reading town centre. We didn't have any difficulty parking - we were given instructions to use the car park of their sister hotel which was just down the street.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StuartReading, General Manager at Mercure George Hotel Reading, responded to this review, 26 September 2011
I am sorry that you were dissapointed with your stay at The Mercure George Hotel in Reading.
I treat all feedback with the utmost seriousness and should you wish to discuss these matters further please do not hesitate to contact me.

Kind Regards

Stuart Hall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Reading hotels

bristol
1 review
Reviewed 7 August 2011

My partner and I stayed at the this hotel On the 6/8/2011 on the way to our room the hallway paint work was chipped and dirty, the carpet had rip's and tears in it. The hotel hallways smelt damp and musky, Our room was facing the town centre, outside our windows was a pelican crossing, bus stop, local pubs and clubs, drunking people shouting, swearing and fighting all night, emergency vehicle sirens were heard all night from when we arrived at 9 pm until 5am. We couldn't sleep so vacated the hotel at 5am missing the breakfast we had pre paid we were tired, upset, frustrated and ruined our weekend away!!! I Would strongly not recommend this hotel! Due to the location and noise!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank bettyboop1966Bristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StuartReading, General Manager at Mercure George Hotel Reading, responded to this review, 26 September 2011
Sorry to hear that you were dissapointed with your stay at The Mercure George Hotel in Reading.
Please feel free to contact me should you wish to discuss this further

Kind Regards

Stuart Hall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reading hotels
0.2 mi away
Ibis Reading Centre
Ibis Reading Centre
#11 of 31 in Reading
4.0 of 5 bubbles 964 reviews
0.3 mi away
pentahotel Reading
pentahotel Reading
#6 of 31 in Reading
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,227 reviews
0.2 mi away
Malmaison Reading
Malmaison Reading
#5 of 31 in Reading
4.0 of 5 bubbles 961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Novotel Reading Centre
0.1 mi away
The Forbury Roseate
The Forbury Roseate
#2 of 31 in Reading
4.5 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Reading Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure George Hotel Reading? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure George Hotel Reading

Property: Mercure George Hotel Reading
Address: 10-12 King St., Reading RG1 2HE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 31 Hotels in Reading
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure George Hotel Reading 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This historic hotel is situated in the centre of Reading next to the oracle shopping centre and a short walk to the railway station.The hotel has its own courtyard ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, ACCOR, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure George Hotel Reading reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Reading
George Hotel Reading

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing