We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location is the only good thing ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure George Hotel Reading
Ranked #17 of 31 Hotels in Reading
Gwent
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Location is the only good thing ”
Reviewed 27 November 2013 via mobile

Poor and tired rooms, no parking, AWFUL service and standard breakfast.

Real opportunity to create a boutique quality hotel, missed due to lax approach to standards and service.

The location is it's only positive, which might appeal to people who will ultimately leave disappointed.

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
Thank travellerone1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StuartReading, General Manager at Mercure George Hotel Reading, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
I am sorry that you were disappointed with your stay at The Mercure George in Reading and i will look into the comments you have made.

Kind Regards

Stuart Hall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    173
    183
    76
    49
See reviews for
33
85
105
268
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newport, Shropshire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We have just returned from a short trip to Reading to spend time with family. We used the train to travel. The Mecure George is a short walk or taxi ride from the station. The hotel approach oozes history and character. The hotel was built some years ago and has historic links *explained in the welcome pacK" with Charles Dickens (his seat can be found in the reception area). The rooms have been refurbished to a modern standard with a good selection of complimentary hot drinks and toiletries. The floor boards on the first floor did creak (in keeping with the era of the building), but to be fair these were not adjacent to any rooms (landing area only). Our rooms near the top of the building were quiet throughout the night despite the hotel being in the centre of Reading.

Arriving early we tried an afternoon brunch in the bar,we would recommend this to any visitor the omelette in particular was a 10/10.

.

Room Tip: Try the food and relax with a drink
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonesclive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StuartReading, General Manager at Mercure George Hotel Reading, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Thank you for your kind comments and compliments. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at The Mercure George Reading and look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind Regards

Stuart Hall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

The hotel is in top location in Reading, right next to Oracle shopping and restaurant complex, so ideal for a business traveller. The hotel on the outside is a lovely building - one of the oldest in Reading. And here lies the problem - it is badly in need of an upgrade.

The shower pressure is awful - build in extra time! The attention to detail of the cleaning stuff is poor - one day they forget to replenish you tea supplies, the other - to give you a bath matt. Etc.

The part of the building I was staying in had a bizarre strong smell - I suspect the stuff were trying to mask damp or cigarette smoke with strong room deo.The room decor is dated and very old, I got the impression that the colour of the carpet means it gets vacumed once in a while. The first room I got had shaving hair in the soap dish but reception did change the room for me.

There is no lift in the hotel and most rooms take a long walk to get - bear this in mind if you have a lot of heavy luggage. Assistance was offered in the form of a check in girl, unless you are Ok with your bags carried by someone smaller than you - you'll be lugging your heavy cases yourself.

For what it offers it is a highly overpriced hotel and Reading has better.

Room Tip: There is no lift in the hotel and most rooms take a long walk to get - bear this in mind if you have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tanya E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StuartReading, General Manager at Mercure George Hotel Reading, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Sorry to hear that your recent stay at The Mercure George Reading was not up to your expectations. please feel free to contact me on stuart@georgehotelreading.com.

Kind Regards

Stuart Hall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

Great location, right in the centre of town. Nice room and very comfortable bed. Lovely breakfast and helpful staff.

Would have liked to stay longer to explore Reading a bit more. Quite a few cafés and pubs nearby. Will recommend for business and leisure stays.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank BJScot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StuartReading, General Manager at Mercure George Hotel Reading, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Thank you for your kind comments they are much appreciated. I look forward to welcoming you to The Mercure George again in the near future.

Kind Regards

Stuart Hall
Mercure George
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

I booked a room through thier web site and got a confirmation that the room was booked. I then got an email saying they didn't have a room for me due to a wedding that was on. I then booked an alternative hotel.

The george hotel took £128.00 from my account for the booking I made. When I rang them to get a refund I was told I had booked it under a non refundable policy there for could not have my money back.

They cancelled my booking.

What a con and bad management.

Room Tip: Choose somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Reading hotels

Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Nice clean room; more TV channels - and better reception - than the Ibis and Novotel; shampoo, soap etc. all fine. But staff less helpful, property creaky and difficult to move about in (I know it's old and partly plays on this, but the stairs need work and are not recommended for disabled people). And check-out times? Different staff give you different times!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank SW12expat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StuartReading, General Manager at Mercure George Hotel Reading, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at The Mercure George Reading, although a little surprised by your comments regarding the staff not being helpfull as we normally receive only positive comments regarding staff.

Kind Regards

Stuart Hall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reading hotels
0.2 mi away
Ibis Reading Centre
Ibis Reading Centre
#11 of 31 in Reading
4.0 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
0.3 mi away
pentahotel Reading
pentahotel Reading
#6 of 31 in Reading
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,230 reviews
0.2 mi away
Malmaison Reading
Malmaison Reading
#5 of 31 in Reading
4.0 of 5 bubbles 963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Novotel Reading Centre
0.1 mi away
The Forbury Roseate
The Forbury Roseate
#2 of 31 in Reading
4.5 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Reading Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure George Hotel Reading? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure George Hotel Reading

Property: Mercure George Hotel Reading
Address: 10-12 King St., Reading RG1 2HE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 31 Hotels in Reading
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure George Hotel Reading 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This historic hotel is situated in the centre of Reading next to the oracle shopping centre and a short walk to the railway station.The hotel has its own courtyard ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mercure George Hotel Reading reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Reading
George Hotel Reading

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing