We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice rooms but very noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure George Hotel Reading
Ranked #17 of 31 Hotels in Reading
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice rooms but very noisy”
Reviewed 25 February 2014

I stayed in this hotel for the last two weekends, the rooms are nice and clean and the beds pretty comfortable. The hotel is a very old building so it is very noisy when anyone passes the room so don't expect a full nights sleep. Breakfast was fin and cooked to order and very tasty and plentiful. There is a nice bar and dined attached to the hotel. Accorss the road is a fab pub called the Ale House, it's a dream for real ale fans and I would certainly recommend this. They have up to,9 ales which are updated daily so always a really good variety.

Room Tip: Try to,get one at the end of a corridor to minimise noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iain D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StuartReading, General Manager at Mercure George Hotel Reading, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at The Mercure George in Reading. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay.

Kind Regards

Stuart Hall

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    177
    188
    81
    51
See reviews for
35
88
107
276
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

I am highly disappointed with Mercure George Hotel in Reading. I have stayed here 2 times and both times I felt the same. Its a very old building and walking through corridors feels like you are going into a maze or den (very depressing).
Rooms has extremely bad temperature control, they get too warm automatically and you cannot turn them off. Old furniture, poor quality towels in bathrooms, too noisy outside. The phone in the room had no mention how to call reception, I tried calling by dialling 0 but nothing happened. The Wifi also dosent really work and expires everyday.

Will not stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scorpion1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StuartReading, General Manager at Mercure George Hotel Reading, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Sorry to hear that you were dissapointed with your stay at The Mercure George in Reading and i will look into the comments you have made.
Should you wish to discuss further please feel free to e-mail me.

Kind Regards

Stuart Hall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Reading hotels

Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
70 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

I really wanted to like this hotel because it has a lot of character and history. Sadly it was also shabby, dark and failed to live up to expectations. The corridors stank of stale smoke camouflaged by cleaning products and the floorboards creaked. The shower in my room was woefully inadequate and the furniture had seen better days, although on the plus side, the bed was very comfortable. I did not eat breakfast in the hotel, but did have dinner in the "restaurant" (hardly an accurate description) one evening. My meal was served 30 minutes before my colleague's, even though we both ordered the same thing at the same time. When his meal was finally served, there was no apology or acknowledgement from the member of staff and the food was edible but mediocre.
This hotel falls a long way short of the usual Mercure standard.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank fiat500owner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StuartReading, General Manager at Mercure George Hotel Reading, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at The Mercure George in Reading. i will look into the comments you have made personaly .
I am sorry that you were disappointed with your stay

Kind Regards

Stuart Hall

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

If you like damp, mould and smells this hotel is for you. Shoddy, scruffy, down market. Rip off. Avoid. The first room was mouldy so I was given another. The decor is terrible - chipped, wallpaper fallen off the walls, etc. the corridors are dark. The restaurant has a limited menu, is draughty and has no atmosphere. You have to pay for wifi. A run down hotel.

Room Tip: Just don't go there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Misgsy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StuartReading, General Manager at Mercure George Hotel Reading, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
I am sorry on this occasion you were disappointed with your stay at The Mercure George in Reading. I treat all feedback with the utmost seriousness and am investigating your comments. Please feel free to e-mail me to discuss further.

Kind Regards

Stuart Hall

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Linton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

I was looking fro somewhere to stay for a few days at a price that my Company would agree to pay and the central location (walking distance to trains and bus) made this an ideal choice
Navigating the stairs nearly proved fatal but it was largely my fault trying to open a fire door to get access to the 4th floor while holding 2 cases its what you expect in an olde worlde hotel
The staff were very friendly and I had a bar snack of a curry in the evening which was very reasonably priced and more than I could eat.
Breakfast was excellent on Monday morning as the hotel was quiet my cooked breakfast was made and served in a few minutes - the buffet breakfast the following day was ok but I am never impressed what a buffet breakfast does to scrambled eggs.
The room was clean everything worked and loads of hot water
I would certainly considering staying here again provided i got the same price for people who do not have to worry about car parking the central location of this hotel makes it a good choice.

Room Tip: watch out for the narrow stairs it is part of the charm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric_of_Ayr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StuartReading, General Manager at Mercure George Hotel Reading, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay at The Mercure George Hotel in Reading and i look forward to your next visit.

Kind Regards

Stuart Hall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 January 2014

I like this hotel. Yes, it is quirky. Yes, once beyond reception it's a little maze. Yes, it's right in the town centre and, if you are unlucky, you can look out your window directly into the top deck of a bus. But, for me, all this just adds to the character.

No two rooms are the same - forget the typical rectangle with a bathroom directly inside the door, this hotel is an aging coaching in. The rooms can be square, wedge or cake slice in shape. Yet, i've found, they are all uniformally clean and tidy - and that what I want.

Room Tip: I just take pot luck with the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheWorthinGer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StuartReading, General Manager at Mercure George Hotel Reading, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Thank you for your very kind words. They are much appreciated and my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at The Mercure George in Reading.
I look forward to welcoming you back again soon

Kind Regards

Stuart Hall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moray, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

This is a good value hotel right in the centre of Reading, they have quite a few single rooms I think and this one was definitely better than the others I've been in so I have given a four this time based on the room, cost and sleep quality. Perhaps good advice is if your not happy with your room perhaps ask for another... The location and layout make all the difference.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScottishExposure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StuartReading, General Manager at Mercure George Hotel Reading, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay at The Mercure George Reading and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards

Stuart Hall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reading hotels
0.2 mi away
Ibis Reading Centre
Ibis Reading Centre
#11 of 31 in Reading
998 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel Reading Centre
0.2 mi away
Malmaison Reading
Malmaison Reading
#5 of 31 in Reading
985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
pentahotel Reading
pentahotel Reading
#6 of 31 in Reading
2,276 reviews
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Reading Central Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Forbury Roseate
The Forbury Roseate
#2 of 31 in Reading
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure George Hotel Reading? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure George Hotel Reading

Property: Mercure George Hotel Reading
Address: 10-12 King St., Reading RG1 2HE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 31 Hotels in Reading
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure George Hotel Reading 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This historic hotel is situated in the centre of Reading next to the oracle shopping centre and a short walk to the railway station.The hotel has its own courtyard ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, ACCOR, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure George Hotel Reading reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Reading
George Hotel Reading

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing