We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldn't go back in a hurry”
Review of Cosmo Reading

Cosmo Reading
Ranked #45 of 620 Restaurants in Reading
Price range: US$9 - US$20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Groups, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Buffet, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Wouldn't go back in a hurry”
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

Great value for money. . But the way some customers handle food before me put me off... lots of choices of cuisine will definitely find something to eat

Lots of lovely little dessert choice

Free refills
Been to nicer buffet style restaurant

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank beebees5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    343
    432
    202
    82
    67
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Brilliant”
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

Went to the branch in Romford..completed my day...food was outstanding. ..staff were kind and helpful...the food were always hot and when there wasn't much food, the staff will quickly replace it...Go there, Just go there...Best restaurant I been to all my life

Helpful?
Thank pav_pavi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaconsfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Fantastic variety”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Usually all-you-can-eat places are somewhat limited in choices, the same products cooked in various ways. Wow! There a huge range of food to choose from - Chinese/ Indian/ Thai/ English/ Desserts- every dish I tried was hot (temperature). Definitely value for money. Beef tasted like beef - calamari tasted like calarmari! (Those that have been to some buffet places will know what I mean...) The prawn curry was amazing as were the Thai mussels - even the chow meins were tasty. Cooking to order too! Very friendly and welcoming staff. You have a set amount of time to eat - but that is understandable and you do not feel rushed. One of the better buffet places I have been to. Went back the following week for lunch to check it was not a "once off" experience - and certainly was not disappointed.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cassie1319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
Level Contributor
199 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We booked a table for 1:00 pm on a Tuesday for a family birthday lunch for 3 of us. We’d been there before for a Sunday lunch and appreciated that the range of dishes would be severely restricted. OK, no chocolate fountain and no cooked to order dishes, but we could cope with that.

However, it was worse than that – there were periods when several dishes that should have been available, weren’t. Whether it was the staff not monitoring them or the kitchen not being able to cope is hard to say. As far as we could tell, a fresh batch did arrive eventually, but that’s not the point.

The rest of the staff service was also mixed. It took ages for us to be seated. We’d booked a place and you can only stay for a fixed length of time from the reservation time. So to have customers without a reservation who arrived after us seen to first was not right. One of the table staff was extremely helpful and friendly, another looked bored and disinterested.

We are unlikely to return there at lunchtime for a similar event.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BeejayBerkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“First and last visit6”
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

Just want to say the staff in thus restaurant are inconsiderate .. i had never been here before but the one time i came i was very dissapointed .. the food was okay nothing special but i slipped on food that was dropped on the food and fell onto the floor ... hit my head aswell as my side.. the staff stood thier and did nothing .. very dissapointing will not be visiting here again .. my first and last visit

Helpful?
2 Thank Aliya H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cosmo Reading also viewed

Wokingham, Berkshire
Reading, Berkshire
 
Reading, Berkshire
 

Been to Cosmo Reading? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing