We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Food but Overpriced Drinks”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Masala 22

Masala 22
Ranked #223 of 614 Restaurants in Reading
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Eastern European, Bangladeshi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good Food but Overpriced Drinks”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

We went to the Buffet Night on Sunday Night the food was good with lots of variety to choose from, staff were pleasant and attentive. The Buffet was value for money. It is a real shame that we were charged £3.65 each for soft drinks which was diet coke, poured out of a plastic bottle and was flat!! . This would put us off going back

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank onyourbike2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    14
    2
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very poor service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

The food wasnt bad except they brought out a lamb madras instead of chicken and the Keema naan bread didnt have much keema in it. When we asked for a pint of kingfisher the brought us bottles as they were bigger and were dearer. When paying at the end they didnt give us our change back. They assumed the change was their tip!! wont be going back!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Andysweats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good local curry house in Tilehurst”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

If yo are looking for a good British curry house that serves Bangladeshi/Indian dishes then this is a good place to go to. This is one of the local curry houses we have visited in Tilehurst and probably the best. The food is freshly cooked with lots of tasty sauces and you will not be disappointed with the usual dishes like Madras, Bhuna, Balti etc.

This isn't an authentic Indian restaurant serving traditional Indian food like Bhoj and Royal Tandoori but will fully satisfy your taste buds if you are not put off by the local British curry house menu. There are many curry houses in Reading and this is probably the best in the non-authentic Indian category. So glad it is close to our house so we can frequently visit it, especially on Thursdays as they offer a fantastic meal deal!

Plenty of parking which always helps and reasonable distance between tables which allows for private conversation.

The only criticism I have for the chef is the amount of oil used in the curries which is probably a common characteristic amongst many others! Apart from that, the food was flavourful, service was attentive, breads were well cooked (loved Peshwari nan) and it has a very nice neutral decor which adds to the ambience. For some reason, many curry houses fail to pay a lot of attention to the decor but I was pleasantly surprised with this one.

Hoping to visit it more often and try some of the specialities they have on the menu!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Swati T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nice food and reasonably priced”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

Went here with a group of male friends. Plenty of choice, beers and wine were kept flowing by the attentive staff and great food.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Darren T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Fantastic indian restaurant.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

Over the years I have been to Masala 22 so many times and always have a fantastic meal. The food is always cooked perfectly and takeaways are just as good.

Taste cards are accepted which is an added bonus.

Staff here are lovely too, still in my opinion the best curry house in Reading. Bit pricier than other restaurants like it but the quality of the food speaks for itself!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jemma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Masala 22 also viewed

 
Tilehurst, Berkshire
 

Been to Masala 22? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing