We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable and pleasant”
Review of The Sportsman

The Sportsman
Ranked #393 of 620 Restaurants in Reading
Cuisines: Bar, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Enjoyable and pleasant”
Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

Went to the Sportsman for my daughters birthday, the staff were very helpful and the food arrived in good time and was just as we had expected, can't fault it for it value, we certainly got service with a smile.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    5
    6
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good Pub Food”
Reviewed 28 January 2014

We went to this pub for a drink and a meal for a son's birthday. Service was quick and very friendly. The food was excellent for what was a very inexpensive meal and the steaks were particularly tasty. Do not expect a gastro pub experience for these prices but we like to eat ordinary 'pub grub' and this was definitely one of the best we've had. Well done.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“You get what you expect”
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

This is a typical chain pub. The food is fast food type hence greasy and of low quality, but that is what you expect when you walk in? You cannot expect fine dining. More important is the atmosphere, which is friendly and welcoming. Food always comes fast. It is large enough for even bigger parties. The staff is exceptionally friendly.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Flo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“RUBBISH!”
Reviewed 12 December 2013 via mobile

I recently went to the Sportsman with friends for some lunch. It was a Saturday afternoon and the pub was very quiet. We waited... And waited... And waited for our food but 1 hour 15 minutes later it still hadn't arrived. Went to the bar to complain and the girl said it wouldn't be much longer. The staff were too busy blowing up balloons for a private party and couldn't be bothered with their customers. It eventually came out and half of it was cold. We asked to speak to the manager and she was ever so rude. Her excuse for it being cold.. "It's got salad in it. Salad isn't hot". She did offer us drinks on the house, which we gave to two elderly ladies who had also been waiting what seemed like a lifetime for their lunch, but the damage was already done.
Long waiting time, cold food and a very rude manager. Will never go back!

Helpful?
2 Thank MrAss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glos
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Terrible”
Reviewed 10 October 2012

Arrived at 20.30 at The 'Sportsman' to a very quiet bar, went up to order the food and had to wait longer that what would be expected when the bar was so quiet. The barmaid was somewhat very belittling and very patronising, may well have been new to the working environment as she struggled with putting an order through on the till - what would seem to be a very simple task. I ordered a starter to then find out they 'had none left', this didn't bother me to much however, another item we had ordered received the same treatment 'we have none left?!' An alternative was supplied which helped to correct the first error. We ate here as a group of friends and clearly stated to the barmaid that we were sat on the same table, yet again she failed to understand this. Consequently, as a group of four, two of us were presented with our main course a long while before the other two were even presented with their starters?! I ordered steak and chips, which was not merely satisfactory and had to be sent back as it was stone cold; would definitely not recommend ordering this! Another problem was cutlery, this was brought out about five minutes after the first main meal was presented and furthermore I had to ask for a steak knife and thus had to wait even longer!! On the positive side the meal was replaced to a better standard, but one would have expected this initially. We asked to speak to the manager and she seemed a little more understanding, however failed to take any blame and used the waitress/barmaid as a scapegoat. Vouchers were offered as a compromise however, I will not be going back there again. A further problem also occurred with my friends’ main meal – the barmaid had put through the wrong order. After waiting an hour we were then told they would have to wait a further ten minutes!! The manager did state that this barmaid would apologise for another error of hers, yet I am still waiting for this apology. As we left the chef looked over towards us and said ‘bring it on luvvv’ I am not sure what sort of behaviour this is, maybe something I would expect on a playground and most definitely not at a restaurant! Customer service skills most definitely need to be incorporated here. The following morning the four us were not feeling well at all and one friend from the group has been sick on several occasions!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Sportsman also viewed

Reading, Berkshire
 

Been to The Sportsman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing