We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great chips !”

Handmade Burger Co. Reading
Ranked #81 of 621 Restaurants in Reading
Price range: US$5 - US$13
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great chips !”
Reviewed 10 April 2014

A regular aunt for us, I don't eat eat and there is a goodrange of veggie options here (although they have now taken the gorgeous onion bhaaji burger off the menu recently. :-( ). The chips here are THE BEST though.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank d8smt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    154
    91
    54
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very good food”
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

Came here for lunch during a shopping trip. Burgers were really good! Really good selection! Service was great and food came fairly quickly. Will definitely be back!

Helpful?
Thank Josh D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
419 reviews
196 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Decent burgers, good beer, service a bit slow...”
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We visit quite often, popped in early evening.
Quite a long wait for food.
Why this place does not do table service for orders is beyond me.
Beer good, local bottled beers, can't remember names.
As usual the food order took a while, they weren't that busy so don't see why, and when you get them the burgers are never really hot so I think it's just poor service.
Tasty burgers though, will visit again.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Henry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Just a burger.......”
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

Visited here Saturday lunch The food here is just ok nothing much to rave about. The chips were under cooked and no mushroom and extra bacon I ordered was on burger with no apology the waitress took my burger away brought it back with them and by this time the burger itself was cold. Bad customer service here all they have to do is take a order at the bar and can't even do that or speak English. Good job the burger was tasty!!!

Helpful?
Thank Lisaberks1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nothing to rave about”
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Chicken burger not bad, surprisingly moist (chicken breast can be dry). Dry bread bun. Coleslaw not very tasty. Portion of chips would be large for one person I think. We went in as I got confused with the Gourmet Burger chain which we have enjoyed in the past in Basingstoke. Not many toilets. Misleading lunchtime offer poster outside - we went on a Saturday and didn'lt see the small print saying this offer was Monday-Thursday; you have to wonder then why the sign was left outside, but then again maybe not... Expensive for what it is.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PurpleEllen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Handmade Burger Co. Reading also viewed

 
Reading, Berkshire
Reading, Berkshire
 
Reading, Berkshire
 

Been to Handmade Burger Co. Reading? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing