We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good lunch!”
Review of The Butchers Arms

The Butchers Arms
Ranked #81 of 653 Restaurants in Reading
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$29
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: A traditional English country pub offering a varied menu. All food is home cooked and freshly prepared on the premises.Daily specials and pub classics are available throughout the week.Traditional Sunday Roasts are offered every week.
Reviewed 1 February 2014

New menu with some excellent specials. Home made fish fingers chunky, tasty and very filling. Fruits off the forest crumble was delicious and service was friendly as always. Roaring fire on a cold day! Landlord Rob and wife Ellie are extremely welcoming...nothing is too much trouble. They have really turned this place around.

Thank latvianleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (107)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

92 - 96 of 107 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2014

We turned up for Sunday lunch pretty much on the dot of midday, to a pretty deserted pub. Apart from 2 or 3 people drinking, the staff were notable by their absence. Absolutely no atmosphere whatsoever.

The menu was very limited - one vegetarian option (a curry, so not to everyones taste), and only two fish options at £9.95 each. My wife chose the 'whole tail' scampi (it definitely wasn't. We eat predominantly fish and sea food at home, so we do know the difference), and I had the fish. Both were served with chips (which looked and tasted like oven chips warmed up in oil, and were not all cooked through), peas, a single piece of Iceberg lettuce about 4" square, a slice of lemon, and some supposedly home made tartare sauce.

Even the condiments on the table hadn't been checked - there was no salt in the salt cellar - which I would have thought was a standard part of the opening up routine for any pub.

On complaining, we were given (not offered) £1 of each meal, so a bill of £27 for two meals and two drinks. Very poor value for money in the first place, and surely if you've got an unhappy customer asking them what they think it's worth rather than presenting them with a fait accompli would be a better approach?

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank PhilStubbington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DublinGallagher, Owner at The Butchers Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Firstly thanks for taking the time to write a review even though this is not a positive review. I have responded to your wife's review with regard to the scampi issue. The points you have made with regard to your own meal were not mentioned on the day of your visit. I can assure you that everything here is prepared fresh and we do not use Oven chips. It is always beneficial to have a balanced opinion posted on tripadvisor so people can make their own judgement on specific locations. If the points listed were raised at the time of your visit then I can assure you these would have been dealt with as we have worked very hard over the last two years on giving our customers what they expect from a traditional pub.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013 via mobile

Hungry cyclists should be a pub's bread and butter. When we arrived, no staff till we were about to leave. Wish we had just gone. Watery "whole tail" scampi, greasy chips and underdone peas (how?). Nice wine and beer but a very subdued atmosphere especially as we were assured that when we got there it was the 'calm before the storm'. Definitely didn't feel welcome and even when we said we weren't impressed the £1 discount didn't exactly wow us either. Lots more places in the area so won't give it another chance.

2  Thank throwingmuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DublinGallagher, Owner at The Butchers Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2013

I am sorry to see you were disappointed with the food you received on Sunday when you visited.
You raised the issue with the scampi on the day as you believed this to be reconstituted scampi and not whole tail. As I said on the day I can assure you the scampi was indeed whole tail. The other issues around the food were not raised as this would have been dealt with also. Once again We are sorry you were disappointed and thanks for taking the time to review us.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

6 of us went for Sunday lunch and had a great meal. The staff were very friendly and welcoming, the service was good, great food and a lovely atmosphere.

My only complaint is that it's too far from my house!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Reeve01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

I can't praise the pub highly enough. The buffet was excellent, varied and so much of it. The service was superb, all in all every one of the 29 guests were most impressed. Ann Chivers

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ann c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Butchers Arms also viewed

Kidmore End, Oxfordshire
Kingwood, Henley-on-Thames
 
Reading, Berkshire
Reading, Berkshire
 

Been to The Butchers Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing