We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Five Star All The Way"”
Review of Setters Barn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Reading
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Setters Barn
Ranked #2 of 17 Reading B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 April 2013

The warm welcome we received from both Nick and Louise set the tone for our stay.This B&B is set in lovely rural peaceful surroundings but not far from some very good pubs and restaurants. We had a personal introduction to our beautiful room and its facilities. The room was extremely tastefully decorated and the bed was the sort of bed that wraps its arms about you so you have an amazing nights sleep. Everything one needs is catered for in this wonderful bed and breakfast from the tea and coffee selection, fresh milk and shortbread biscuits to the lovely shower room with fluffy towels and shower gels. It doesn't stop there! Breakfast is taken in the farmhouse kitchen and there is a very good menu on offer. This is one B & B we hardly dared to write about as we are sure with all the good reviews, in future we may not be able to find a room due to its popularity.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DJSharp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (67)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 67 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2013

I unhesitatingly recommend this B & B. The rooms are spacious, decorated to a really high standard, the setting is idyllic, and the breakfast is delicious. The owners, Nick and Louise, are the nicest, most helpful B&B owners I have ever come across (and I've stayed in a lot of B & Bs). Our car broke down on the way to the B&B, and Nick and Louise were extraodinarily helpful - nothing was too much trouble. They recommended a local garage, gave us a lift from the garage with all our stuff, cooked us supper, and looked after our baby while we ate. The next day they gave us a lift to Reading, and when we needed to stay an extra night because the car couldn't be fixed in time, they moved us to a larger room at no extra charge. We felt extraodinarily well looked after, and will be recommending Setters Barn to all our family and friends.

Room Tip: Both rooms are lovely, spacious and beautfully decorated - the Barn room is larger than most B &...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ben_and_Hattie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2013

A great weekend spent in lovely surroundings! Absolutely fantastic hosts with : beds, rooms and a general atmosphere to match. A particular advantage for us being the privacy and beautiful surroundings, I would recommend this idyllic B+B to anyone!

John + Sarah

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2013

This B & B is clearly "high end" by any standard.

First and foremost is the obvious when you arrive. These accommodations are newly constructed with lots of charm, decorated with great taste and the property itself is located in a beautiful and quite country setting. The charm does not come across (nor could it) through their web site photos. One has to be there!

But what I feel sets Setters apart from most B & B's - is the 'privacy factor'. Setters Barn's web site does mention a “private entrance”. Yes, but it’s more than that. What we enjoyed is having a feeling of “our own place”. The distance between units gives guests total privacy! Yet the LARGE room we stayed in was not “isolated”. One still benefits from the security and atmosphere of staying within this attractive property.

The owner / hosts are a bonus. Nick and Louise are as welcoming as could be with a delightful breakfast in their modern kitchen and dining room. Not only are the breakfasts gourmet, but throughout the stay, Nick attends to every detail relating to the visit. It is always a “CAN DO”!

I have been a USA travel agent since the late 70’s. We own a travel agency here in Michigan (Okemos Travel/Michigan Flyer) and hence I have traveled and booked thousands of accommodations – ‘round the globe’. I consider Setters Barn as an outstanding caliber/value. For example, the towels (with towel warmers), or the comfy bed and beddings, are a standard which I rank alongside a Ritz Hotel or a Four Seasons resort.

Bottom line, the price makes this property a true "find" – at least in my book. Woodcote and its neighboring towns are fortunate to have this gem of a B & B within their community. We were also impressed by several near by Pubs that would again – make “Setters Barn” a solid overall value.

Nick is a lifelong member of this warm community and guests can rely on him and his lovely wife to make valuable recommendations regarding logistics, activities and wonderful dining options.

Ody Norkin, Senior Agent
Okemos Travel Inc. (IATA 23-547952)
East Lansing, MI. 48823 USA

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank odynorkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

Setters Barn is a real retreat. We came across it hidden away in lovely Oxfordshire countryside, a few miles north of Henley on Thames. The owners couldn't have been more charming, friendly and welcoming. Nothing was too much trouble.

Our room was in a beautifully converted barn and had its own access, so we didn't feel as if we were intruding! The decor was really lovely, crisp white linen, fluffy towels, a huge, comfortable bed, strong, hot shower and views over the gardens...bliss!

To cap it all the breakfast was to die for, my husband had full English and I had healthy fruit and granola with posh coffee! Would we go back to Setters .barn...YES!!!

Room Tip: The large bed also converts to twins if required. Beautiful walks. I can't delete the swimming p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 565Angel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

A business colleague mentioned Setters Barn. Its location, a few miles north of Reading, was ideal. Far enough away to get way from the hassle of the town, but close enough to be convenient.

Parking was a few yards away from my garden room, which was private, luxuriously appointed and quiet. Plus, it had Wi-Fi, Sky TV and a DVD player, which meant I was able to do some work in the evening and then relax afterwards.

For me, being able to get sorted out before my meeting is important. So, my breakfast (very good by the way) in the barn kitchen appearing in minutes was ideal.

All in all, a good alternative to more expensive, impersonal city centre hotels – I’d recommend it.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ElCotodelGolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2015
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2015
Thank fuensanta v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reading hotels
5.1 mi away
The Forbury Roseate
The Forbury Roseate
#3 of 31 in Reading
580 reviews
6.2 mi away
Hilton Reading
Hilton Reading
#2 of 31 in Reading
1,955 reviews
4.9 mi away
Malmaison Reading
Malmaison Reading
#4 of 31 in Reading
1,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Beech House Hotel
Beech House Hotel
#9 of 31 in Reading
323 reviews
4.9 mi away
Amherst Guest House
Amherst Guest House
#3 of 17 in Reading
86 reviews
5.3 mi away
100 Kings Road ApartHotel by House of Fisher
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Setters Barn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Setters Barn

Address: Barnsfield Goring Road, Reading RG8 7SH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Reading
Price Range: £85 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Setters Barn,luxury Bed and Breakfast, near Reading and Henley on Thames, is tucked away in the heart of this stunning peaceful part of the South Oxfordshire countryside. Guests can enjoy the exquisite newly decorated double bedrooms with en-suite shower rooms via their own separate entrance along with free WiFi,radio and ipod docking station, Sky or Freeview and DVD player. Each room has a 'Super King Sized' Double Bed. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing