We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Setters Barn
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Reading
See available hotels
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
The George Hotel(Pangbourne)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Weir View House(Pangbourne)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Swan at Streatley(Streatley-on-Thames)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (67)
Filter reviews
67 results
Traveller rating
63
3
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
63
3
0
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
59 - 64 of 67 reviews
Reviewed 3 June 2013

We booked this B&B after we couldn't get a room at any of the places we knew in Goring itself, but lucky for us that this was the case! This turned out to be a real gem of a place and so close to Goring that it hardly mattered that we weren't in the village itself, in fact, we actually prefered it. There was a real feeling of tranquility and luxury around the whole property and particularly in the gorgeous Garden Room in which we stayed. Louise and Nick were extremely friendly and welcoming B&B hosts. Breakfast was a real treat too; the Full English was cooked from scratch in front of us using good quality produce and there was also a delicious selection of cereal, fruit and yoghurt. We wanted to treat ourselves to a relaxing weekend away and this is exactly what we got. Highly recommended to everyone.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HMF_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013

The warm welcome we received from both Nick and Louise set the tone for our stay.This B&B is set in lovely rural peaceful surroundings but not far from some very good pubs and restaurants. We had a personal introduction to our beautiful room and its facilities. The room was extremely tastefully decorated and the bed was the sort of bed that wraps its arms about you so you have an amazing nights sleep. Everything one needs is catered for in this wonderful bed and breakfast from the tea and coffee selection, fresh milk and shortbread biscuits to the lovely shower room with fluffy towels and shower gels. It doesn't stop there! Breakfast is taken in the farmhouse kitchen and there is a very good menu on offer. This is one B & B we hardly dared to write about as we are sure with all the good reviews, in future we may not be able to find a room due to its popularity.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DJSharp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2013

I unhesitatingly recommend this B & B. The rooms are spacious, decorated to a really high standard, the setting is idyllic, and the breakfast is delicious. The owners, Nick and Louise, are the nicest, most helpful B&B owners I have ever come across (and I've stayed in a lot of B & Bs). Our car broke down on the way to the B&B, and Nick and Louise were extraodinarily helpful - nothing was too much trouble. They recommended a local garage, gave us a lift from the garage with all our stuff, cooked us supper, and looked after our baby while we ate. The next day they gave us a lift to Reading, and when we needed to stay an extra night because the car couldn't be fixed in time, they moved us to a larger room at no extra charge. We felt extraodinarily well looked after, and will be recommending Setters Barn to all our family and friends.

Room Tip: Both rooms are lovely, spacious and beautfully decorated - the Barn room is larger than most B & B rooms, and the Garden room is even bigger.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ben_and_Hattie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2013

A great weekend spent in lovely surroundings! Absolutely fantastic hosts with : beds, rooms and a general atmosphere to match. A particular advantage for us being the privacy and beautiful surroundings, I would recommend this idyllic B+B to anyone!

John + Sarah

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2013

This B & B is clearly "high end" by any standard.

First and foremost is the obvious when you arrive. These accommodations are newly constructed with lots of charm, decorated with great taste and the property itself is located in a beautiful and quite country setting. The charm does not come across (nor could it) through their web site photos. One has to be there!

But what I feel sets Setters apart from most B & B's - is the 'privacy factor'. Setters Barn's web site does mention a “private entrance”. Yes, but it’s more than that. What we enjoyed is having a feeling of “our own place”. The distance between units gives guests total privacy! Yet the LARGE room we stayed in was not “isolated”. One still benefits from the security and atmosphere of staying within this attractive property.

The owner / hosts are a bonus. Nick and Louise are as welcoming as could be with a delightful breakfast in their modern kitchen and dining room. Not only are the breakfasts gourmet, but throughout the stay, Nick attends to every detail relating to the visit. It is always a “CAN DO”!

I have been a USA travel agent since the late 70’s. We own a travel agency here in Michigan (Okemos Travel/Michigan Flyer) and hence I have traveled and booked thousands of accommodations – ‘round the globe’. I consider Setters Barn as an outstanding caliber/value. For example, the towels (with towel warmers), or the comfy bed and beddings, are a standard which I rank alongside a Ritz Hotel or a Four Seasons resort.

Bottom line, the price makes this property a true "find" – at least in my book. Woodcote and its neighboring towns are fortunate to have this gem of a B & B within their community. We were also impressed by several near by Pubs that would again – make “Setters Barn” a solid overall value.

Nick is a lifelong member of this warm community and guests can rely on him and his lovely wife to make valuable recommendations regarding logistics, activities and wonderful dining options.

Ody Norkin, Senior Agent
Okemos Travel Inc. (IATA 23-547952)
East Lansing, MI. 48823 USA

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank odynorkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews