We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“superb food, great staff”
Review of Bhoj - MOVED

Bhoj
Price range: US$10 - US$32
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Bhoj is a family run licenced takeaway/restaurant with chefs from India specialised in curry and tandoori dishes. We offer wide variety of vegetarian, seafood and meat dishes for all the family to enjoy. Combine this with remarkable service, we guarantee, Bhoj's experience will not disappoint.
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
“superb food, great staff”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

took my son here to celebrate the end of term, introduce him to curry from Indian restaurants and the delights of gulab Jamin. If you are looking for salubrious surroundings then this restaurant might not be for you. if you want great food, friendly staff, good advice and good prices then you are in the right place. we loved it, thank you.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank grahamdoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    32
    6
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Wonderful food”
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

Saw the reviews so went to try it really glad we did the food was gorgeous never tasted anything like it before & the staff are lovely ..try it you will love it!

Helpful?
1 Thank caznananna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle Emlyn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Delicious Indian Food - friendly setting”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We were staying in a hotel just outside Reading and decided to visit Bhoj, based on the Tripadvisor reviews. These were so helpful as we had an absolutely scrumptious Indian meal in a delightful and clean restaurant. Now, to be clear, this is not an all singing, all dancing, fountains in the foyer type of venue. It is very basic. But if you love food, this doesn't matter at all. It is clean, it is comfortable and the welcome is warm. If you don't find this enough, you are not nice enough to go there anyway. The gentleman who helped us choose was kind and thoughtful, guiding us to make excellent choices and going the extra mile, which is harder to do than people think in the restaurant business. Poppadoms and dips were lovely, starters were deliciously different and main courses were absolutely heavenly. If I say this food tasted like the best home cooking, I mean that with high praise. No neon rubber chicken or tomato soup sauces slathered with ghee here. Authentic, fresh tasting dishes. What more could you ask? The fact that nearly all the other diners were Indian tells me that we had chosen well. Everyone was enjoying their night - when we return to Reading, we will return to Bhoj. Please visit them - your tastebuds will thank you.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sychdyn
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A absolute gem of a restaurant”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

This is so different to your normal run of the mill Indian, the dishes are different and very fresh, the flavours are wonderful, the location is a little ropey, but don't let that put you off, if you like good, but different Indian food, try this place.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Martin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“excellent”
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

I've eaten in this lovely, intimate restaurant 4 times in the last few months. Not much in the way of atmosphere but the delicious food more than makes upfor that.
Highlights include the dhaba chicken, spinach and corn bhaji and tandoori aloo parathas. Authentic food, even Mum was impressed!
Excellent service which is unusual for an indian restaurant too!

They also do takeaway and delivery

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank drPie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bhoj also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing