We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good night's stay”
Review of The Cedars Hotel

The Cedars Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Cedars Hotel
Ranked #4 of 17 Reading B&B and Inns
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We stayed here for one weekday night at the beginning of September. It was easy to find in a quiet location on the Reading campus, surrounded by university buildings and wonderful old trees. The room was a good size, had tea and coffee making facilities, a comfortable bed and free WiFi; the bathroom was stylish and practical. Breakfast was a short walk away; there was less choice than in a conventional hotel but it was adequate. The staff were helpful as were the instructions and map emailed after we booked.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Star-gazersPlymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (38)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 38 of 38 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2013 via mobile

At weekends this hotel is not manned. A security guard (via an intercom box) buzzes you in. This is student accommodations inside a university which accommodates loud students and hosts a nightclub nearby. Anyway... I booked a twin room and on arrival I found out I was given a double. I couldn't accept so awaited the arrival of the security guard who explained he had nothing to do with the hotel and purely grant access. I had to find accommodation elsewhere which cost double to what I normally pay, this was due to the late timing. The manager did email and apologised about the wrong booking. This aside... The place is expensive for what it is. Much nicer, scenic and 'manned' places nearby.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim W, Manager at The Cedars Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

Dear Mick. Again i can only apologise for the oversight of us accidentally booking you into a twin room instead of a double. This oversight should not have occured and i sincerley apologise about the fact your experience with us was poor, especially as we strive to give an excellent service and pride ourselves on the fact that we usually manage to do so! I would like to offer a complimentary room should you decide to return so we have the oppurtunity to prove our level of service, please simply get in touch if you would liek to take us up on this offer.
Many apologies again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013 via mobile

We stopped in room s05 a nice clean well presented room. This hotel was convent for an event we were attending on the evening. The hotel is set in grounds of reading university

Bed was very comfy. Room included a small fridge and good tea making facilities.

Plenty of parking close to the hotel.

Shower has a nice range of control from cold to very hot.

The window opens quite wide to allow some fresh air to circulate with a very nice view of trees

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Darkearth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank George-6356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reading hotels
1.7 mi away
Ibis Reading Centre
Ibis Reading Centre
#11 of 31 in Reading
1,064 reviews
1.7 mi away
Novotel Reading Centre
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Reading Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Hillingdon Prince Hotel
Hillingdon Prince Hotel
#14 of 31 in Reading
974 reviews
4.8 mi away
Best Western Reading Calcot Hotel
2 mi away
Hilton Reading
Hilton Reading
#2 of 31 in Reading
1,920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cedars Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cedars Hotel

Address: Whiteknights Campus, University of Reading, Reading RG6 6AX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Reading
Price Range: £60 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Cedars Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cedars is a newly refurbished 36 bedroom hotel set in the heart of the picturesque 400 acre University of Reading campus. All rooms are en suite with several in room facilities such as walk in showers, luxury toiletries, tea and coffee making facilities and fridges. There is alos free wifi and parking on campus. The campus is a lovely, peaceful alternative to staying in the busy town centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Cedars Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing