We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good valve for money”
Review of The Cedars Hotel

The Cedars Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Cedars Hotel
Ranked #4 of 17 Reading B&B and Inns
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Fantastic if you need to be at the university. Clean rooms . Breakfast good . Well organised if you read your booking . free car park . Town centre short bus or taxi ride .good shopping in town centre lots of restaurants to choose from .

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bingleytourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (38)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 38 reviews

Reviewed 14 November 2013

This Hotel offers fairly basic accommodation which is very convenient if you have business at the University. Being in the centre of the University campus - it is fairly quiet with no traffic noise. If you arrive late in the evening (which I usually do) you have to use an intercom system to to gain access to your room. This always works very well - security buzz you in and your room key is in your room. The rooms are very basic - although they have recently been upgraded with better bathrooms which feel more modern. The prices are very reasonable for Reading. There are not many facilities on the campus for visitors if you want food later than about 7.45 - which I think is the latest that Park House serves until. The nearest other restaurant I have found is Sizzling Spice which is about 1/2 mile walk just off the campus. Breakfast is served in Park House - about 200 metres from the Hotel. The breakfast is also very basic - and consists of a few items of cooked breakfast (bacon, beans, sausages etc) on a hot counter and some cereal/fruit options - but not that great really. Overall - I use it if I need to be on the University - but wouldn't do otherwise.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

I stayed in this hotel for 1 night recently for business reasons. I was due to attend a meeting in Reading so stayed in this hotel the night before.

Here is my experience and I hope this helps others:

The hotel itself is suited right in the middle of the University campus and I found it tricky to locate, even with a satnav and a map which came when booking. After a few minutes driving around I eventually found the right car park (bearing in mind there are something like 20 car parks but you have to park in a particular one for the hotel).

When booking the confirmation arrived with an information page explaining that before 6pm you book in at the nearby building. I arrived about 5:30pm and the reception at that building was closed. So on locating the hotel there is an intercom system you push for either reception or security. I pushed the reception button, which turned on to be a big mistake! I won't bore you with all the details but suffice to say they could not find me on their booking system and I found them very unhelpful and verging on rude. After about 30 mins or so a security man turned up and he turned out to be a very nice chap and they eventually located my booking. This was partly because of a name confusion, but after being resolved I made my way into the hotel.

When you arrive the room door is left unlocked with your key inside. I would say that the room doors do not automatically lock, so make sure you lock your door when you leave and from the inside when you go to bed. I wasn't used to this as usually hotel room doors lock behind you.

I stayed on the 1st floor and found the room to be on the small size but acceptable. The bathroom was a good size and the walk in shower a bonus. The shower is big enough for two, however I am not a big fan of fixed shower heads myself, that's just a personal point. The fixed shower head means you really need to stretch inside the shower to turn this on before you get in, otherwise you will get a nice blast of cold then boiling how water before you find the temperature that you like.

Within the room peeling back the bed sheets I found several stains, so would suggest housekeeping needs attention! My room had a small tv on the wall which although this was on a wall bracket you could not turn this without it going back to where it was. The tv was on the right hand side wall so not that comfy to watch while in bed. There is also a desk with tea making facilities and the usual free biscuits.

I will say the free wifi is a nice bonus so that's one area in which this hotel does score a point. The connection was quick too compared to premier inn's I have stayed in.

My room also had a wardrobe with extra pillows and I believe this even had a fridge, although I didn't look or use this as I was only staying for one night.

My sleep wasn't very good as I found the room hot (I did try opening the window but got bothered by the amount of insects due to the trees outside) and also there was a lot of noise from downstairs, which eventually finished about 11pm.

A point to note is that there isn't a restaurant as such near to the hotel. There is a student pub which serves food and I ate in there. The food was good and services also good, so I give them a point for this too.

Personally I would not stay here again myself, considering the price I paid this hotel has more bad than good points. With a few simple tweaks this could be a nicer place to stay but in the current format I can only really give it a 2 out of 5.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank krbrfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We stayed here for one weekday night at the beginning of September. It was easy to find in a quiet location on the Reading campus, surrounded by university buildings and wonderful old trees. The room was a good size, had tea and coffee making facilities, a comfortable bed and free WiFi; the bathroom was stylish and practical. Breakfast was a short walk away; there was less choice than in a conventional hotel but it was adequate. The staff were helpful as were the instructions and map emailed after we booked.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Star-gazersPlymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013 via mobile

At weekends this hotel is not manned. A security guard (via an intercom box) buzzes you in. This is student accommodations inside a university which accommodates loud students and hosts a nightclub nearby. Anyway... I booked a twin room and on arrival I found out I was given a double. I couldn't accept so awaited the arrival of the security guard who explained he had nothing to do with the hotel and purely grant access. I had to find accommodation elsewhere which cost double to what I normally pay, this was due to the late timing. The manager did email and apologised about the wrong booking. This aside... The place is expensive for what it is. Much nicer, scenic and 'manned' places nearby.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim W, Manager at The Cedars Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

Dear Mick. Again i can only apologise for the oversight of us accidentally booking you into a twin room instead of a double. This oversight should not have occured and i sincerley apologise about the fact your experience with us was poor, especially as we strive to give an excellent service and pride ourselves on the fact that we usually manage to do so! I would like to offer a complimentary room should you decide to return so we have the oppurtunity to prove our level of service, please simply get in touch if you would liek to take us up on this offer.
Many apologies again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013 via mobile

We stopped in room s05 a nice clean well presented room. This hotel was convent for an event we were attending on the evening. The hotel is set in grounds of reading university

Bed was very comfy. Room included a small fridge and good tea making facilities.

Plenty of parking close to the hotel.

Shower has a nice range of control from cold to very hot.

The window opens quite wide to allow some fresh air to circulate with a very nice view of trees

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Darkearth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank George-6356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reading hotels
2.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading
1.7 mi away
Novotel Reading Centre
2.5 mi away
Abbey House Hotel
Abbey House Hotel
#13 of 31 in Reading
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Hillingdon Prince Hotel
Hillingdon Prince Hotel
#14 of 31 in Reading
981 reviews
4.8 mi away
Best Western Reading Calcot Hotel
2 mi away
Hilton Reading
Hilton Reading
#2 of 31 in Reading
1,957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cedars Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cedars Hotel

Address: Whiteknights Campus, University of Reading, Reading RG6 6AX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Reading
Price Range: £59 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Cedars Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cedars is a newly refurbished 36 bedroom hotel set in the heart of the picturesque 400 acre University of Reading campus. All rooms are en suite with several in room facilities such as walk in showers, luxury toiletries, tea and coffee making facilities and fridges. There is alos free wifi and parking on campus. The campus is a lovely, peaceful alternative to staying in the busy town centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Cedars Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing