We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Functional Hotel in the centre of the Campus”
Review of The Cedars Hotel

The Cedars Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Cedars Hotel
Ranked #4 of 17 Reading B&B and Inns
Reviewed 14 July 2014

This hotel is situated in the central square in the University of Reading campus, above some shops. My room had a wonderful view over the library, the Arts block, the trees and the Palmer building. The room its self was very functional. It was a upgraded version of hall of residence room. Breakfast was served in the old hall, and this was very pleasant. It's a really good idea to have a hotel on campus, and this is the best I've stayed in. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OwlNewforest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (36)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 36 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2014

I am very glad that this place exists in Reading. It is very professionally organised and it is always a joy to stay here, sleep well and be ready for a new day.
I stayed at Cedars twice and I always look forward to coming back here. The staff is amazing and all guests very pleasant. If you travel on your own, you are bound to meet people who are on the same wavelength.
I managed to leave my clock behind yesterday (30th April) and it arrived this morning in the post!
Thank you, Abraham and the staff for all your hard work.
You are amazing,

Aleksandra

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sandra186273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

I stayed for one night at Cedars Hotel last night. The room was clean, tidy and very comfortable - the bed was lovely!. The heating was lovely and warm to and a nice hot shower! The only thing I would say that would improve the room would be a mirror above the desk so that you can dry your hair and use the straighteners and see what you are doing! However, this is just a suggestion that would make life easier for any ladies that stay overnight! I doubt many men bother to straighten their hair.

I would highly recommend a night at the Cedars Hotel - very good value for money and so nice to be able to get up and walk into work in the morning! :)

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SueMBradbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Spent 6 nights at Cedar and this place is tidy and nice for family to attend graduation ceremony and spend some time around Reading or maybe london. We were late in arriving from the airport and the keys have been left in the rooms for us which is very thoughtful.

Room Tip: Lower floors have better water pressure
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lightzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

we paid£54 for one night via booking .com inc breakfast and found this to be the best quality at the price in 16 years of visits to our son and family in Reading.
Booking at this price level in Reading you normally get a workmans hovel or a shabby noisy travel type hotel(no names no packdrill)
A excellent breakfast was served at park house almost next door in the tutors bar very reminiscent of the staff room at hogworts-just entering this charming building was a delight .
The campus was nice at quiet at the weekend and this was probably the best and most comfortable nights sleep we have had in any hotel anywhere in the UK.
Our only regret was not having enough time to explore the lake and parkland of the campus due to our schedule-we will make time on our next trip
Error on our invoice was sorted within minutes of a brief e mail to Abraham.
No reception at weekends but clear instructions with pleasant and prompt response for entry via security and cheerful and efficient service at breakfast.
Definitely on our "arnie list" we'll be back

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doubletwelve h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim W, Manager at The Cedars Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Very kind words from a very kind guest. Im pleased you enjoyed your stay and you are welcome back anytime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Fantastic if you need to be at the university. Clean rooms . Breakfast good . Well organised if you read your booking . free car park . Town centre short bus or taxi ride .good shopping in town centre lots of restaurants to choose from .

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bingleytourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

This Hotel offers fairly basic accommodation which is very convenient if you have business at the University. Being in the centre of the University campus - it is fairly quiet with no traffic noise. If you arrive late in the evening (which I usually do) you have to use an intercom system to to gain access to your room. This always works very well - security buzz you in and your room key is in your room. The rooms are very basic - although they have recently been upgraded with better bathrooms which feel more modern. The prices are very reasonable for Reading. There are not many facilities on the campus for visitors if you want food later than about 7.45 - which I think is the latest that Park House serves until. The nearest other restaurant I have found is Sizzling Spice which is about 1/2 mile walk just off the campus. Breakfast is served in Park House - about 200 metres from the Hotel. The breakfast is also very basic - and consists of a few items of cooked breakfast (bacon, beans, sausages etc) on a hot counter and some cereal/fruit options - but not that great really. Overall - I use it if I need to be on the University - but wouldn't do otherwise.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reading hotels
2.0 mi away
Hilton Reading
Hilton Reading
#3 of 31 in Reading
1,885 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ibis Reading Centre
Ibis Reading Centre
#11 of 31 in Reading
1,040 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hillingdon Prince Hotel
Hillingdon Prince Hotel
#15 of 31 in Reading
958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Novotel Reading Centre
1.5 mi away
The Forbury Roseate
The Forbury Roseate
#2 of 31 in Reading
548 reviews
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Reading Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cedars Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cedars Hotel

Address: Whiteknights Campus, University of Reading, Reading RG6 6AX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Reading
Price Range: £59 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Cedars Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cedars is a newly refurbished 36 bedroom hotel set in the heart of the picturesque 400 acre University of Reading campus. All rooms are en suite with several in room facilities such as walk in showers, luxury toiletries, tea and coffee making facilities and fridges. There is alos free wifi and parking on campus. The campus is a lovely, peaceful alternative to staying in the busy town centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Cedars Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing