We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bad service. rude staff & even worse manager”
Review of Bow Guest House

Bow Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bow Guest House
Ranked #16 of 17 Reading B&B and Inns
Horley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“bad service. rude staff & even worse manager”
Reviewed 22 March 2012

I booked 2 room for this hotel. Confimation was given. 7 days later they rang and asked me to cancel as they'd given our rooms to other people. When I refused to cancel I was put onto the manager. He was the most unhelpful, rudist man i have every come acros, he shouted & swore at me.
In the end I did cancel and after reading some of the other reviews, thank god I did

Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Liz W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    0
    0
    4
    8
See reviews for
2
1
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Sleep Quality
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 February 2012

Big clump of hair in shower. Looked like snot on curtains & head board. Top cover on bed dirty. Coffee/tea marks on furniture. 5star sticker, but it was for 2007, it shud be minus 5 now. Window had a horrible mouth mark on it. Wardrobe dirty.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eileensowden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Reading hotels

Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2011

The owner's customer care was non-existent. The room was terrible and with no separate bathroom. The toilet was behind a half-painted door, and the shower tray in the corner of the room. The soap dispenser did not work. The bed's quilt was dirty. Could not bare to spend the night. Overpriced for the quality of lodging one gets. For £27 more I can spend the night at the Malmaison hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melita191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
burnley
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2009

Do not even consider it advertised as en suite when I got there the en suite consisted of a sink in the room and had to share a toilet and shower with I was told one other this turned out to be 4 others
Not in a nice area of Reading, when I returned I discoverd the other 2 rooms on my floor were occupied by 4 young men who spent the whole night running in and out of each others rooms shouting at the top of their voices,and trying my room door. It was very scary if I had not had a drink with dinner I would have driven the 300 miles home at 2am as it was i was up and out at 6am did not bother with breakfast
Avoid at all costs

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clarets3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North-West
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2008

Room was clean, but not very cosy: there are a few cons that made the hotel a bit uncomfortable (funny smell, a bit noisy, ...) There's free internet connection, but didn't work properly. I guess there is better value for the money in Reading.

  • Liked — walking distance to the city centre
  • Disliked — smell, furniture
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Knabber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2008

I stayed in Bow Guest House in late March for 4 nights. The good things are the staff are nice, the full english breakfast is quite good, the location is just 5-10mins walk to town centre and Reading Station.

But the downside is that it is located in Russell St in West of Reading, where the place you are not generally feeling very safe, especially at night. It is very obvious that when you walked from town centre, went into Oxford Road, you will find that the place is not as clean as in the town centre or other residential areas in Reading. The room is not big, just with an acceptable size. No chair in my single room so that all the time I have to sit on the bed.

One special thing happened to me was that one night in the corridor I met a man, who living next to my room, seems drunk, and would like to enter my room. It made me so scared. And the noise insulating is not very good, so I can always hear what other people is saying outside my room.

  • Stayed March 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank machk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evreux
1 review
Reviewed 18 October 2007

This never happened to me in my life: I arrive at 10pm at the hotel in the pouring rain, and I am told that my reservation, which I booked over the phone and for which I had a booking confirmation from the hotel, had been "transferred" to another hotel. Not only didn't the staff member care one bit about it, but he also gave me inaccurate directions to the other hotel. I was told at the other place, that it wasn't the first that this happened.
If the interior is equally serviced as their customer service, then I can only say: Don't go to this place!

  • Stayed October 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Max_Traveller_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reading hotels
0.5 mi away
Novotel Reading Centre
0.5 mi away
Abbey House Hotel
Abbey House Hotel
#14 of 31 in Reading
132 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ibis Reading Centre
Ibis Reading Centre
#11 of 31 in Reading
1,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hillingdon Prince Hotel
Hillingdon Prince Hotel
#15 of 31 in Reading
938 reviews
0.7 mi away
Beech House Hotel
Beech House Hotel
#9 of 31 in Reading
299 reviews
0.2 mi away
pentahotel Reading
pentahotel Reading
#6 of 31 in Reading
2,286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bow Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bow Guest House

Property: Bow Guest House
Address: 25 Russell Street, Reading RG1 7XD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Reading
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bow Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Bow Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing