We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bath Hotel - Good Value”
Review of Bath Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bath Hotel
Ranked #27 of 31 Hotels in Reading
Bexley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Bath Hotel - Good Value”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

The Bath Hotel is a small hotel / guest house just outside Reading town centre - it is a long walk from Reading station. The staff are friendly, the rooms clean, and breakfast is good. There is not too much choice for breakfast and in hotels/life generally you get what you pay for.

Talking of paying, this is quite expensive for what is essentially a B&B., although it is clean and quite well equipped with tea making facilities in room.

Room Tip: Try to get a discount on a double rather than take a single, the rooms are small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    28
    30
    15
    18
See reviews for
15
25
9
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bradford
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Stayed for one night and it was very good. The room was clean and perfectably acceptable. Bathroom was fine but I can see why some reviewers think it could do with a refurb. In saying that the breakfast was a full English and cereal, toast and coffee and was very enjoyable. There is good parking there and access to the city and motorway is excellent. I would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LastOfTheCelts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blagnac, France
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

I had to stay over one night and the much larger and more expensive hotel where I had been staying previously was overbooked I moved to this little private hotel and was pleasantly surprised Sure,it did not have the facilities of the larger and far more expensive Chain N Hotel I had been in for the previous nights but to be honest I do not have any need nor use for a Gym nor a Spa etc anyway

The room was small but clean, warm enough for me an had of course en-suite toilet and shower My only criticism was that the lighting in the room was too,low intensity for my eyesight but that could also be said of far more expensive hotels too

The breakfast was good. AFAIK they do not do other meals and are not licensed but there is a Harvester, "The Southcote" close by which does.

There is a a bus route into Central Reading close by and if you are staying over in Reading on a budget and do not need nor want all the Bells and Whistles of a big expensive hotel then I recommend the Bath Hotel to you.

Room Tip: Try to get a Ground Floor room if possible as there is no lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

I would recommend this hotel to people who are not fussy about details such as heating or shower/bathroom space. Unless You like cold rooms and inadequate bath spaces then certainly give the family room a miss. Don't pay up until you have inspected your room - if I hadn't paid on arrival I would certainly have moved on to another hotel. However, after complaining, was given apology and £40 refund off a £100 charge for room

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Stephen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Reading hotels

Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Difficult to access from the main road (have to swing a 360 around the roundabout if coming from town) there seems an abundance of staff, but all working at different times and none really clued in. Don't take heavy or awkward luggage - the stairs are steep and winding. My single room was tiny, but very clean.

Despite being on main road it was very quiet and some of the staff were very helpful; was pointed in the direction of an excellent steak house just down the road for dinner.

Breakfast abundant and well-cooked.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nanette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Cant complain, friendly staff, clean room, comfy bed & good breakfast, even has a bar.

Certainly much nicer than the Travel Lodge we stayed in a couple of weeks ago, better value to when you factor in the breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoeM83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Letchworth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Having booked two rooms; one for myself and my wife and another for my daughter and son-in-law, we checked in at 10pm ready for my daughters graduation the next day. However we soon found out that they had made a mistake with our booking and only had one room to offer us. A kind member of staff offered to give us up his room, and we felt in no position to argue at that time of night. We had to wait for an hour for him to clean his room out. In the middle of the night we got awoken by someone ringing the door, and a face on the TV screen from the camera by the door. Quite frankly the whole stay was a shambles and could be likened to something from a carry-on movie and considering all of this we got no refund on the £70 we had paid for the room.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reading hotels
0.3 mi away
Abbey House Hotel
Abbey House Hotel
#14 of 31 in Reading
132 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hillingdon Prince Hotel
Hillingdon Prince Hotel
#15 of 31 in Reading
938 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ibis Styles Reading Oxford Rd
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Rainbows Lodge
Rainbows Lodge
#26 of 31 in Reading
62 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ibis Reading Centre
Ibis Reading Centre
#11 of 31 in Reading
998 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beech House Hotel
Beech House Hotel
#7 of 31 in Reading
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bath Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bath Hotel

Property: Bath Hotel
Address: 54 Bath Road, Reading RG1 6PG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 31 Hotels in Reading
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bath Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Bath Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bath Hotel Reading

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing