We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Amherst Guest House
Ranked #2 of 18 Reading B&B and Inns
1 review
“Welcoming”
Reviewed 7 July 2012

Pam and Doug have created a good place to stay.They were friendly and very helpful.Moreover the room was well equipped ,spotlessly clean and comfortable and the breakfasts were sumptuous.(fresh eggs from their own,very pretty chickens!)We would strongly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsodgers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    10
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
11
17
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012

I would highly recommend the Amherst Reading! Very clean and comfortable en-suite rooms with lots of nice touches, like a box of treats, a microwave and kettle, perfectly working free wifi... The breakfast in the pleasant garden-side dining room was excellent too. The friendly managers are clearly passionate about what they do and work tirelessly to make your stay enjoyable. The location is perfect - just a few minutes walk from the centre. Check out the Nags Head pub with real ales a few doors down as well!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank altitude100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2012

I've just spent a very comfortable week at this guest house. The managers, Doug and Cath were extremely friendly and helpful and the cooked breakfast is amazing...probably the best cooked eggs I've eaten anywhere.

The rooms are a little dated but extremely clean, which is my only priority really. The en-suite bathroom was small but functional (and clean), nice towels, and the bed very comfortable indeed with crisp white linen and duvet, and everything cleaned daily. A reasonable TV was supplied along with a kettle and a big box of goodies including biscuits, crisps and all the tea and coffee supplies. Also a big desk fan to keep the room cool and a radiator you can switch on or off if you need to be warmer.

Here's the best bit though, there was also a microwave in the room along with a plate, bowl and cutlery. There is a small Tesco store up the road and a petrol station which supplies M&S food. This means you can heat up food in the evenings and not have to eat takeaways, or find a restaurant to eat in. This is great for the business traveler being both cost effective and offering better control over what you eat everyday. A really nice touch.

The only downside was that my room was at the front of the building and the road was very noisy until midnight and again by about six in the morning. I guess double glazing would help but meanwhile there was a set of ear plugs provided in the room. Again this indicates that some thought has been put into making guests as comfortable as possible.

Overall a great B&B with everything you need for a pleasant and comfortable stay and I would have no hesitation in recommending this place to anybody. I would have no hesitation in staying again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back would be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mannymantel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012

Very pleasant manager's who couldn't do enough to help, comfortable room ...if a little hot in the direct sunlight...yes even Reading has hot days!! Very convenient location and the room (en suite) was very clean

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank exileiny0rks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 May 2012

We stayed in the Amherst Guest House for one night and were very happy with it. The rooms are immaculately clean and well equipped. The en suite bathroom was equally as clean. The owners, Doug and Cath, were extremely friendly and accommodating. I would return if in Reading again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LST000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Sussed
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

I have been staying at the Amherst for 1 or 2 nights a week since the start of April and will continue to stay there when I am working in Reading. I have stayed in 3 different rooms and all of them have been spotless with nice, comfortable beds. I have had rooms at the back of the house and I have never been troubled with any noise. THe Amherst is 10 minutes walk from the centre of Reading or about £4.00 in a taxi.

Doug & Cath are very welcoming as hosts. And there is a very friendly pub down the road (The Nag's Head) that specialises in Real Ales.

I would defintiely recommend the Amherst.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Beautiful bed with crisp white sheets. Lovely bathroom ameneties like staying in a 5 star hotel. TV could do with updating but the service was lovely and the room big and clean. Also nice box of snacks and tea/coffee and water for free. Perfect for business stay!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CamilleMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reading hotels
0.6 mi away
Ibis Reading Centre
Ibis Reading Centre
#11 of 31 in Reading
986 reviews
0.3 mi away
pentahotel Reading
pentahotel Reading
#6 of 31 in Reading
2,248 reviews
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Reading Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hillingdon Prince Hotel
Hillingdon Prince Hotel
#15 of 31 in Reading
934 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Forbury Roseate
The Forbury Roseate
#2 of 31 in Reading
509 reviews
0.6 mi away
Malmaison Reading
Malmaison Reading
#5 of 31 in Reading
972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amherst Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amherst Guest House

Property: Amherst Guest House
Address: 73 Russell Street, Reading RG1 7XG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Reading
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located only 10 minutes walk from The Oracle Shopping Centre and Reading town centre's restaurants, shops and bars. We are conveniently situated 10 minutes walk from the central train station and buses head into town every few minutes from outside Amherst.All our rooms are en-suite with double beds and are furnished with good quality linen, feather duvets and pillows to guarantee a good nights sleep. Our rooms are equip with LCD TV's with DVD, fridges, microwaves, hair dryers, and generous welcome trays with snacks and beverages. Free High Speed Wireless internet access throughout the building. Free parking is available on request.There is a Marks & Spencers food outlet a minutes walk from Amherst and a Tesco Express a 3 minute walk away.We offer a choice of a full cooked breakfast or lighter healthier options. Good quality clean accommodation with high levels of service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Amherst Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing