We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Amherst Guest House
Ranked #2 of 18 Reading B&B and Inns
Geneve
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very Nice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2008

I had a 3-day stay at Amherst.
I have stayed in a single room ( number 4). The room was a bit small, but ok for one person. Bathroom was very clean.
There was a box with chips, cookies and other tea-making facilities in the room. The bed was very comfortable. The weak point of the room 4 is that its window view was towards the neighboring building. But since there was no window in front of mine - it was ok.

The breakfast is served personally - you choose in the form what you'd like to eat next morning and what time, and it will be waiting for you. It is nicely done and very tasty. The lady making the breakfast and cleaning the rooms is very friendly and nice to talk to.
The guy at the reception (co-owner of the B&B) is friendly and helped me when I needed it.
The B&B is located 15 minutes walk from the Reading Station, where you can take a complimentary bus with free Wi-Fi inside towards the Thames Valley Park.

The B&B provides free Wi-Fi internet, which was fast and the signal was strong.

Overall is a very positive experience and I would recommend this B&B.
Regards,
Anton

  • Stayed April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank phasma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    9
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
11
17
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2006

Having traveled a lot for work and pleasure, and stayed in some truly awful hotels in Reading before, this is a real find! As another reviewer pointed out, it was all the complimentary extras, and the really friendly and welcoming nature of the manager that added to an excellent room. Mine was a very large twin, with reasonable sized en-suite, and lovely view overlooking the garden. It was spotlessly clean, and maintained beautifully over my three night stay. The free bottles of sparkling water, peanuts, crisps, biscuits, chocolate, coffee, hot-chocolate etc... were replenished every day. It also offers free wireless internet access, making it ideal for laptop carriers like myself. It does look very ordinary from the outside, but in this case, it really is what's on the inside that counts...

In short, it's a truly lovely guest house (with a very nice garden), within an easy walk of the town centre, and puts most of Readings overpriced mediocre hotels to shame.

  • Liked — Cleanliness, outstanding service, quality of room, location, price
  • Disliked — None
  • Tips/Secrets — Stay there!
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Melodya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2006

The street doesnt look too great and the guest house is very plain on the outside with just a 73 on the door with no indication it was a guest house. When I arrived I had to wait an hour for my room which wasnt a problem, but the manager was very friendly and apologetic and they put a free bottle of wine in the room to make up for it anyway!

The double room ensuite room i had wasnt that big, but it was big enough and it was extremely clean and very comfortable. Again the bathroom was spotlessly clean and the power shower was excellent!

I often find that its the little things that make the difference between a great stay and a bad experience, and that is where this place shines! You get a great selection of free snacks, drinks, and soaps etc in your room, and it had a large 21" TV and free Wifi access.

You choose your breakfast the night before, and I had mine delivered to my room and it was excellent.

Considering the price I cant recommend this place enough!

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Street that it is on
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank spacemanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2006

We stayed at the Amherst Guest House for 4 nights in May and we were very pleased. It is a gem of a place and a well kept secret as for 3 of the 4 nights we were the only guests. The room we had was huge and the view over the back yard was lovely. The tray of hot drinks and treats was wonderful as the weather was cold and rainy our entire stay. The manager was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was made just right and we enjoyed the personalized service. The street looks a little run down but we always felt safe and the hotel is in walking distance to the town center. We highly recommend this place if you travel to Reading. (Also be sure to check out the abbey ruins in the town!)

Stayed May 2006
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelingTrowel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2005

A Must to if you sataying in Reading Absolutely magnificent!

Be treated like a star in only what i can descrive as one of the most wonderful places to stay!
I stayed at Amherst Guest House while working in Reading for almost 3 weeks i love it. Amherest is magnificent I have never experienced such incredible service before, it was combeninet for the companies pocket too, the manager was lovely and very polite, the place was always clean beautiful and you even had a trolley of treats waiting for you at the end of the day. It was great to come back form work every day to a lovely clean confy place!!! it felt like home but better no cooking or cleaning! What else can i say i was so happy there the rooms are huge all ensuite, they treat you like a star there, is wonderful it was 10 minutes walk from the the city centre and the area was lovely too, I loved the organizarion too im a vegetarian and they make you choose what i wanted for breakfast and the time i wanted server ever if i wanted it in my room! i had the comvenience of choosing the soya milk and vege sausages for the morning great! and if that wasnt all they put treats in you room every day!
It was wonderful all i can say is this place is a must and im coming back!

  • Stayed May 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nat441
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reading hotels
0.6 mi away
Ibis Reading Centre
Ibis Reading Centre
#11 of 31 in Reading
4.0 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Reading Central Hotel
0.3 mi away
pentahotel Reading
pentahotel Reading
#6 of 31 in Reading
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Novotel Reading Centre
0.7 mi away
The Forbury Roseate
The Forbury Roseate
#2 of 31 in Reading
4.5 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
0.6 mi away
Malmaison Reading
Malmaison Reading
#5 of 31 in Reading
4.0 of 5 bubbles 947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amherst Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amherst Guest House

Property: Amherst Guest House
Address: 73 Russell Street, Reading RG1 7XG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Reading
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located only 10 minutes walk from The Oracle Shopping Centre and Reading town centre's restaurants, shops and bars. We are conveniently situated 10 minutes walk from the central train station and buses head into town every few minutes from outside Amherst.All our rooms are en-suite with double beds and are furnished with good quality linen, feather duvets and pillows to guarantee a good nights sleep. Our rooms are equip with LCD TV's with DVD, fridges, microwaves, hair dryers, and generous welcome trays with snacks and beverages. Free High Speed Wireless internet access throughout the building. Free parking is available on request.There is a Marks & Spencers food outlet a minutes walk from Amherst and a Tesco Express a 3 minute walk away.We offer a choice of a full cooked breakfast or lighter healthier options. Good quality clean accommodation with high levels of service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Amherst Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing