We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic value, great location and lovely meal thank you”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Reading Lake Hotel
Ranked #29 of 31 Hotels in Reading
Reviewed 15 April 2012

My husband, daughter (8 years) and I stayed here for a couple of days of the Easter holidays and have a super time. We had a fairly large room and very clean and comfortable with a balcony over looking the beautiful lake (I think all the rooms have a balcony with lake view) ..Lovely breakfast and super evening meal in the restaurant. Food is also served at the bar, but we didn' try the meals there. Some of the staff can be a little off putting at first and perhaps not as friendly as they should be from he start..but once we got chatting to everyone, they were all very nice with lovely smiles. The bar staff were all very friendly from the moment we walked it. We asked the staff if my daughter could feed the ducks, and she got the 'ok' by the manager which was very kind and generally this is not allowed for understandable reasons.
The only unpleasent part was our first night when we sat at the restaurant around 9.30 pm and the cook shouted IN the restaurant at one of the waiters because they had allowed us to sit down for dinner 'at that time' and SHE wanted to go home ! Very rude and unprofessional, I really do think this should be addressed. This was on the 10th April 2012. I would say this is the only downfall should you want a meal past 9.00 pm in this hotel, which would be the case for us at most times as my husband works late and would need to eat around that sort of time and we intend to use a hotel in this location during the working week. I intend to return however, as we did enjoy the location , stunning ! Thank you for having us ..

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FamilyJoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (525)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

469 - 475 of 525 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2012

Stayed at room 103. Service was excellent and the location beautiful and romantic. I was supposed to have free wifi but the hotels internet connection was down during my stay. The room was clean and tidy but the heater malfunctioned and was basically a hazard. The shower is excellent and I could shower there all day long.
I hadst Groupon offer and had free breakfast which was excellent.
I was unhappy with the fact that guests don't get priority and have a table set for them orator least reserved in case they decide to have dinner and had to eat outside of the hotel.
Will I go back? Yes and as soon as I can afford another trip!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaytechtronic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Stayed here for one night as part of a celebration type tour for my wife.

Sounds good its on a lake, its actually old gravel pits made in to lakes, no real problem but we got the idea there would be lake views etc, bit limited.

Hotel was very quiet, sunday night, so we were upgraded, great, oh not it wasnt!! We had a tele in the bedroom and one in the living room, the living room telel didint work, didnt find out until going back to our room after a meal so didnt bother for one night. Hairdryer didnt work. Windows dirty, took the edge off the lake view. Bath edging dirty.

We normally stop in 4 star/diamond guest houses, thought stopping at this hotel was suposed to be a surprise, we would say it for sure gave us a surprise.

At the end of the day we thought it was going to be something special, and was basically supposed to be a posh Premier Lodge, but it turned out to be a poor quality lodge.

As nature lovers we would love to stop there again because of the wildlife, as seasoned travellers we would not entertain stopping again. We did mention about the tele and hairdryer at reception next morning, the lady on the desk who made a note, no suggestion of a reduction or she would pass us on to the manager to discuss the problems further.

Could be good, needs a clean and proper servcing of the rooms, our room was aan upgrade to a suite, goodness knows what the quality of the room we should have had without the upgrade.

Room Tip: Check their lastest policy on the cleanliness and service of this hotel, if they have doen what it n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank philfoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

we stayed overnight after dropping family at Heathrow. Extremely difficult to find as sat nav confused us. Lovely from the outside and reception and bar are quite bright and modern, however the room was dated and furnishings old and in need of putting on a skip. round loo and basins were very dusty and dirty and the meagre toiletries were awful. the bed was the smallest i have ever slept in and the plumbing kept us awake as did overhead party most of the night. The meal was diabolical in a really strange restaurant, poor meat and obviously frozen chips. staff were helpful enough but it generally had the feeling of something going through the motions, also hated that breakfast was served in the bar area. with a little monetary input and decoration this could be a really lovely place, gardens at the back were neglected and balconies were covered in cobwebs and flies. Would i go back, well unfortunately i have another voucher but am trying to think who i can palm it off on.....

Room Tip: go to another hotel!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jullesk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

We arrived on Saturday 31st March on a LiveSocial deal.

A bottle of wine and some chocolates were in our room on arrival (room 205). Lovely large room with a balcony overlooking the lake. Everything you could need for an over night stay. Bed was large and comfortable. Shower was very powerful and hot, albeit the taps were tarnished but nothing to complain about! Plenty of hot water....very hot water!!!

Only complaint would be that the towels are very hard and scratchy and smelt funny!

We did not stay for food but found a lovely pub, Old Bell, not too far away, and had a lovely meal.

The room was quiet and peaceful even though the hotel was apparently 'full up".

Breakfast in the morning was buffet style, boyfriend only moaned when he couldn't find any yoghurt to go on his fruit but, for £42.00, bacon, sausage, hash browns, scrambled egg, tomato and tinned mushrooms, fruit, cereal etc., he survived!!!!

Wandered around the hotel grounds & lake in the morning - lovely stroll!

Would recommend but be warned....ALL sign posts still call it The Copthorne....FOLLOW THE COPTHORNE HOTEL SIGNS!!!! It doesn't change its name until you are literally there!!

Also BEWARE, Reading charge an awful lot for parking in the city centre. 2 hours 12 minutes and we got charged over £7.00 !!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: There is a 'new' wing to the left of reception....not sure what they are like as we were to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angel69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2012

The hotel is right on top of a lake. They had just had a big party the night before and everyone was a little sleepy and hung over, which meant the place felt a little tire. There were a couple of bottles which the cleaners hadn't quite caught up with, but over all a very nice experience. We are going back very shortly with the whole family.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saintsfoodies2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2012

We stayed here on a Groupon deal for £50 including breakfast, wine and chocolates as we needed a hotel close to Legoland for a family day out (2 adults, 1 child and a baby!). I found that the hotel were a little slow to reply to emails so it's best to phone to book etc.

The hotel is quite secluded but is attractive from the outside and the lobby area is pleasant and there is plenty of free parking. Check in was easy and I was asked what wine (red/white) we wanted as part of our deal, which I thought was a nice touch. We had been offered an extra camp bed for our son and a cot for the baby on booking but made our own arrangements as the cost was £10 and £5 for this. We had room 225 which is on lobby level and made it easy with the pram etc.

The room was surprisingly large and there was more than enough room for all of us. The balcony with the view over the lake is just lovely. The beds were comfy and nicely made. There was tea/coffee/hot chocolate and a mini fridge which is handy! The TV wasn't flat screen and rather increased the impression of a older hotel though.

The bathroom badly needed updating and I feel this let the hotel down the most. The tiles were old and tired as were the appliances, and although the shower was powerful the temperature kept fluctuating and I wouldn't have let my child under it for fear of burning him.

After a long day at Legoland we decided to stay and eat in the bar. The bar staff were very nice and accommodating, and the food was reasonably priced and the meals were good portions and tasty (£11 ish for fish and chips) drinks were hotel priced and a bit expensive as expected (£4 pint of stella). We put the food on a tab.

I was upset to receive a call in the room at around 9.30pm to ask that we pay in cash for our meal as a pose to paying on checkout as we had not left a credit card number on check in (wasn't asked to). I think this was uncalled for especially as we have 2 small children with us and it was rather late, and the barman came to the room to collect the bill money a few minutes later (I'm sure it wasn't his fault though). Not sure if they expected us to do a runner in the middle of the night leaving a HUGE £30 meal bill!

Breakfast was buffet style and tea/coffee/toast was brought to the table. The food was lovely, fruit/cereal/full english options etc etc...

Checkout wasn't until 12 noon and was easy and the reception staff are pleasant and efficient.

I'd use this hotel again, although only if I got another special deal as the hotel does need some work done on the rooms to bring them up to standard. A good value option for Windsor/Legoland area. Overall a really nice stay!

Room Tip: Room 225 was at lobby level
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrs1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reading hotels
1.3 mi away
Hilton Reading
Hilton Reading
#3 of 31 in Reading
1,887 reviews
2.0 mi away
Best Western Reading Calcot Hotel
2.4 mi away
Hillingdon Prince Hotel
Hillingdon Prince Hotel
#16 of 31 in Reading
958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Reading - South M4, Jct.11
1.0 mi away
Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading
2.7 mi away
Novotel Reading Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Reading Lake Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reading Lake Hotel

Address: Pingewood, Reading RG30 3UN, England (Formerly Copthorne Hotel Reading)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Reading
Price Range: £53 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Reading Lake Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Reading Lake Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reading Copthorne Hotel
Copthorne Reading

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing