We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very dated hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Reading Lake Hotel
Ranked #29 of 31 Hotels in Reading
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very dated hotel”
Reviewed 19 October 2013 via mobile

The wood chip paper should have given away the fact that this hotel is in need of renovation. I only stayed for one night and although the reception staff were very friendly and welcoming I won't be back. Rather annoyed that there was no healthy options on the main menu - not even a salad!

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Gail0412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul H, Manager at The Reading Lake Hotel, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Thank you for your recent review of the hotel.

While it is nice to hear you found the staff very welcoming I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay overall and you will not be returning.
A refurbishment project is possible for the new year and hopefully you may consider returning then.
In the meantime thank you for your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    115
    130
    112
    114
See reviews for
47
200
9
141
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Stayed for one night. Hard to locate - be ready for some advanced sat nav use. Location is nice, staff are really pleasant and general amenities OK. But don't expect a low mileage hi-spec model - the hotel is relatively hi mileage and feels under funded. Linen is tired, towels well worn, carpets have hosted many feet. But clean, good value for money (if under £80 per night) and 5 miles from the centre.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hibberr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul H, Manager at The Reading Lake Hotel, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Thank you for posting your feedback regarding your recent stay.

We do take on board your comments and we will try to address the points you have raised as soon as we can.

Many thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cinderford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Stayed here for 3 days on a business trip to Reading. Check in was quick and efficient but the rooms are tired and not cleaned very well, the bathroom floor was not cleaned at all during my stay, could not get the broadband to work and no wifi available. Whilst it appears on the map to be close to Green Park it is a 4.5mile journey to get there. Breakfast is average at best and the staff need more customer focus.
Not a hotel I will return to

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter59Bristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul H, Manager at The Reading Lake Hotel, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Thank you for you feedback on your recent stay

I am sorry it would appear your stay was not up to the standard it should have been.

However we take on board your comments and will look to address as quickly as possible.

I am not sure what the issue was with our wifi connection during your stay but our wifi is in working order.

Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Reading hotels

Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We are staying in the hotel tonight and have eaten in the restaurant this evening. We bought a groupon voucher for our room for tonight with breakfast in the morning and a bottle of wine. We hadn't read any reviews until now so came here with an open mind. I have to concede that yes, some areas in the room are looking a little tired, there are corners peeling a little on the wallpaper and there is a little mildew staining in the bathroom. HOWEVER, there is so much more to this hotel than the wallpaper and the sealant round the bath. Firstly, the room is clean and the bed is lovely and comfy with soft, clean sheets. Our meal in the restaurant was really delicious and the price was comparable to an average pub chain. The wine that was included in the price of our voucher and served with dinner was tasty and a decent quality bottle. The view of the lake from the large glass doors that lead out onto the balcony is truly beautiful. The icing on the cake of this hotel though is the staff. Everyone, from the reception staff to the bar and waiting staff in the restaurant, are great. They are friendly and welcoming with a helpful, can do attitude.
Overall, for the cost of the groupon voucher, our stay has been excellent value. We are looking forward to our breakfast in the morning after the standard of our dinner. The variety on the menu was good and the selection you may order is generous.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2013breaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul H, Manager at The Reading Lake Hotel, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay.

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and while yes there are little things for us to improve it is great to read your comments - especially regarding our staff.

Many thanks and we look forward to seeing you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

I initially booked a stay through a wowcher deal for £54 for one night, for a double room and a bottle of wine. When we went in, we could straight away see the problem with this place, there are spiders everywhere! On the ceiling, windows, there was one right above our door which made me shudder to think what I would find when I went inside. Thankfully my room was nice, there were no spiders there, the room was spacious and decently cleaned. I was not able to enjoy the private balcony I had because there were so many spiders on the railings and tiles outside. I made sure the doors were completely shut in case any of them got inside.

The next day when we went down to have breakfast we bumped into the cleaner who was trying to bat away the webs with a cloth! Not the best thing to see when you wake.

Breakfast was good, the room was nice, the general facilities are great and location means it’s very quiet, peaceful, nice view of the lake etc. The spiders everywhere really let the whole thing down! I kept having the feeling they were on me! If the spiders were sorted, this place would be great. Good potential, but I wouldn’t go back.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul H, Manager at The Reading Lake Hotel, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback on your recent stay.

It is good to hear that you found our general facilities, location and breakfast were of a good standard.
Also pleasing to hear that your room was clean with no sign of spiders or insects. Being located on a lake keeping spiders and insects off the external areas of the building during the summer months is a more difficult task but one we do our best to address daily.

Thank you for your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013 via mobile

Im staying here tonight and I was concerned about about all the negative reviews before arriving. It really isn't that bad trust me!. Its £100 cheaper per night than The Hilton and yes its a bit dated, but ticks enough boxes to warrant staying here. Food was very nice and balcony view is amazing
I

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JNTravels2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul H, Manager at The Reading Lake Hotel, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay.

Good to hear you enjoyed your stay.

Hope to see you again soon

Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We booked our stay at the hotel through a Groupon offer and was looking forward to a break.....until we read some of the reviews.
To be honest we started to expect the hotel from hell but still, we packed our overnight bag figuring that a break from the kids was worth it!!

From the minute we arrived at the hotel we were pleasantly surprised and enjoyed a lovely stay here and will definitely do so again.

The room we stayed in (103) was clean and had everything we needed. Yes it's a bit 'tired' but the amazing view of the lake more than compensates for that.
The windows were a bit grubby but we put that down to it being a waterfront property. It certainly didn't ruin our stay.
Breakfast was amazing. So much choice with helpful staff offering to cook other stuff if we wanted it.

I had read other reviews which mentioned how unclean the hotel was but I didn't see any evidence of this.

All in all we loved our stay here and will definitely go back.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michbrooker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul H, Manager at The Reading Lake Hotel, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review.

We very are glad to hear your enjoyed your stay.
As I have mentioned in recent responses we are trying to address previous issues we have had and hopefully it is now starting to show.

Very nice to receive reviews like this so thank you and we look forward to seeing you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reading hotels
1.3 mi away
Hilton Reading
Hilton Reading
#3 of 31 in Reading
1,791 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hillingdon Prince Hotel
Hillingdon Prince Hotel
#15 of 31 in Reading
934 reviews
2.0 mi away
Best Western Reading Calcot Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading
2.4 mi away
pentahotel Reading
pentahotel Reading
#6 of 31 in Reading
2,248 reviews
1.7 mi away
Beech House Hotel
Beech House Hotel
#10 of 31 in Reading
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Reading Lake Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reading Lake Hotel

Property: The Reading Lake Hotel
Address: Pingewood, Reading RG30 3UN, England (Formerly Copthorne Hotel Reading)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Reading
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Reading Lake Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Reading Lake Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reading Copthorne Hotel
Copthorne Reading

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing