We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful weekend retreat!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Reading Lake Hotel
Ranked #29 of 31 Hotels in Reading
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We have just returned from a wonderful weekend at The Reading Lake Hotel! Like lots of people on here we booked through Wowcher so the stay included a free bottle of wine from the bar and breakfast. Before booking I looked on here and the reviews were so varied I decided to go for it and see what we thought...to be honest the pictures of the surrounding lakes and promise of a private balcony swung it for me!

When we arrived we parked up in the large private car park (free of charge) and checked in at the reception desk. The staff were polite and friendly and the reception area was very welcoming! We were given the key to room 208 and headed down the hallway.

I agree with what some reviewers have said and parts of the hotel may be described as "tired" or "need updating" but this really didn't impact on our stay and a little bit of limescale in the bathroom really isn't the end of the world!

The first thing I noticed in the room, other than the very generous size for a 'standard', was the view! Amazing!!! Endless view of water and trees!! We live in a town overlooking the M2 so this was like heaven for us!! The balcony is a really good size and although it would be incredible in the summer we found the wrapping up and breathing in the cool crisp fresh air just as therapeutic!

We had dinner in the Bar & Lounge, where we also enjoyed our free bottle of wine. We both had a main meal and desert plus another bottle of wine and the food was wonderful! The atmosphere was relaxed and the staff were cheerful and polite.

The next morning we woke up to a beautiful sunrise over the lake and we braved the cold to step out and enjoy the fresh air once again, this time though it was the smell of breakfast cooking that made this view even more amazing!!

Breakfast was down in the Bar & Lounge, it was quiet when we went down as it was still early but all the food looked great! It was a full breakfast in a buffet style with lots of choice including fruit, yoghurts and freshly made pastries...obviously we went for the full english though!! We weren't disappointed and enjoyed several cups of coffee reading the free newspapers and enjoying the view of the swans on the lake.

We checked out, reluctantly, and headed home.

This really was a wonderful weekend retreat and we are already planning to return in the Spring!

Please don't listen to the negative reviews on here, although some of the amenities may need updating it really didn't affect our stay at all! The room was clean and tidy, a really good size with a huge bed!! The shower may have a little bit of limescale but the water was hot and the pressure was great!!

What swings it for this hotel is the novelty of a private balcony in every room and that amazing view of the lake!!

Thank you to the hotel staff for making our stay very enjoyable!!

Room Tip: We were in room 208 and it was lovely, not sure if any of the rooms are better than others as each h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Esther H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul H, Manager at The Reading Lake Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2013

Thank you for your great comments regarding your recent visit.

It is fantastic to read your feedback and our staff really appreciate this.
We hope you will visit us again in the near future
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (538)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

229 - 235 of 538 reviews

Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

Booked through Groupon for £59..included mince pies brought to the room. Free bottle of wine from the bar and a breakfast. Our room was lovely and yes the balcony is a real bonus. So all in all this was a bargain. Bed was comfy but only one pillow each. Great to have a fridge in the room and oh the bar stays open 24hrs.
Ok it was a bargain. But.... its very quiet in the bar..no music which would have improved the atmosphere. The bathroom does need updating and the toiliteries are not good for a 4 *. id give it a 3 as its a nice place and the staff are very friendly.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank sam4343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul H, Manager at The Reading Lake Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel

We do hope overall you enjoyed your stay.

We will look into the points you have mentioned especially music which would improve the ambience in certain areas.

Thank you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

As others have said this hotel was perhaps nice when first built but has become tired now. It sits next to a lake with swans etc and all bedrooms have a nice balcony which probably adds to the stay in the Summer but is not really used in the winter. The motorway is very close so there is a considerable amount of noise.

The main areas are smallish and the bar / restaurant resembles a motorway cafe. To reach the hotel you take some quite small lanes but fortunately there are routes that take you over the M4 without needing to tight your way through junction 11. The gym needs attention as at least 50% of the machines are broken.

The staff are pleasant enough. Final note; the standard pillows in the room are terrible so you need to ask for others at reception.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank London_Traveller2-TA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul H, Manager at The Reading Lake Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

I am sorry that you may have been disappointed with some aspects of your stay.
We are hoping to start a refurbishment program in the new year.
Thank you for mentioning our fitness room - our maintenance team have checked over the equipment and the 2 machines that are not working are being addressed.
New pillows are being introduced in our bedrooms as we speak.

Many thanks for your feedback

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

The signs are not clear and gives directions to the copthorne hotel not the reading lake hotel as its now known.

We got this hotel for £60 per night including breakfast, you just have to look around for the best deals.

Quick check in and the receptionist was really friendly. the room was massive and later on we told that our room was one of the smallest!! The view of the lake from the room is beautiful and breath taking once outside on the balcony.

There is a fridge in each room which comes in handy as your are not close to any shops, my advise is to stock up on any drinks, snack etc as snacks in the hotel can be pricey. There are also tea and coffee making facilities. The bathroom was clean and well equipped, with bath and over head shower. bed was really comfy only down fall is the flat screen tv could be bigger for the size of the room. however all is forgiven when you are presented with their fabulous breakfast :0)

Breakfast was great and very well cooked. There were hash browns to mushrooms which were particularly nice. you also have a wide choice of fruits, cereals, Danish pastries and assorted fruit juices. The chef offered to cook anything that wasn't there, he also cooked us fresh eggs even though there were some there anyway. Everything you need to set you up for the day ahead.

I am told that you can also do water sports but we did have time for that ;0(


We were new to the area so I googled places to eat near the hotel and got a really good deal from groupon for dinner :0) failing that the oracle (town centre) is only a couple miles away have all the restaurants you would need

all in all I had a great time and definitely plan to come back.

I have read peoples reviews and am slightly confused by their spiteful comments.

there were however a few spiders on the balcony and for a hotel offering all that it does the balcony/windows should maybe be cleaned more often.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maryanne123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul H, Manager at The Reading Lake Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2013

Thank you for you feedback regarding your recent stay.

We are very glad you ejoyed your stay with us.
I have taken note of your comments regarding TV size and balcony as well.

We hope to see you again soon

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

A little difficult to find. This was embarrassing as we used to live in Reading about 2 miles away as the crow flies!!( and a few lakes in between) But it is an hidden Gem. We got upgraded to a nice room with beautiful lake views, Not sure why though.
Service and food all excellent. Could not fault, apart from slight difficulty in finding. Definitely need a car or taxi to get there.

Room Tip: Ask for lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnkmcdonagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul H, Manager at The Reading Lake Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

We are very glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and we of course look forward to you returning soon.

Apologies for the difficulty in finding - we will try to improve!

Many thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

We booked this hotel due to the location and the pictures of the hotel on their website looked amazing. We were greatly disappointed.
The room cost £109. We had requested an additional bed for our 2 year old son. On a positive note, the room was a great size and the lake side view was amazing; however the single sofa bed we had been provided with was old and worn and you could feel all the springs in the mattress. The wall paper was peeling away from the wall, cracks in the tiles in the bathroom and lots of dust on the TV.
Breakfast was basic and poor. It was a buffet breakfast, with most of the food cold.
Staff were friendly when spoken to- but didn't go out of their way for you.
The hotel needs some TLC. As you go through the corridors you can see bits of tape in the ceiling.
The rooms are over priced for what they are as compared to other hotels in the area. If I'd have got the room at a decent rate I would have less to grumble about!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 187069Jennifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul H, Manager at The Reading Lake Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Thank you for your recent review

From your comments it would seem your stay was not an enjoyable experience but thank you for the feedback.
We will fo course do our best to address the issues you have raised. Having spoken to our staff and duty managers we were unaware of any issues concerning our sofa beds and will conduct a review to ensure all our sofabeds are fit for use, and continue with our ongoing bedroom maintenence program. Your comments regarding breakfast will also be fed back to our food and beverage team to address also.

My apologies for the issues you have raised and I hope we can address them as quickly as possible.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

A short review from me on this occasion. (Normally my reviews are novels).
We booked directly with the Hotel to take up a special offer. 1 nights stay for 2 adults and a child, INCLUDING full English buffet breakfast and a 3 course meal for £119.00

I had, as always, carried out my homework and was a little concerned about the negative comments made, especially regarding the condition of the rooms. Travelling with two woman we
HAD to get this right. (Men, you know what I mean.)

The reception staff were very courteous and checked us it without delay but I'd forgotten to ask for a lake view room. When I did so we were politely asked to have a drink in the bar while the single "camp" bed for our child was moved from one room to the other. 10 mins and 3 cokes later we were given the key to Room 226 with a fantastic view over the lake with patio type doors
if you want the full lake "effect" !

To us, the rooms seemed huge and in our case we felt it was beautifully decorated. If the room hadn't recently been decorated then I have NO idea what other reviewers are complaining about.
We felt the standard was very high. Ok....so the toilet handle needed pumping a couple of times and the roll holder was missing....but no big deal. Nice to see a fridge and hot drink making equipment in the room although this is hidden away in a cupboard so may not be obvious to visitors unless they go looking for it. TV was fine although up to date flat screens would have given a better impression.

AND the biggest surprise ! THE FOOD. For the money we paid we were expecting a fixed menu of some kind with limited choices....BUT NO !

We could choose 3 courses each from the normal menu. Although a few options needed a small financial "top up", the majority were "as is". The next concern was do we get slightly less portions than other diners. The end result was no...The food was absolutely amazing, every course. If we were eating out at a fancy restaurant I would have valued the meal at around £60.00 in it's own right !

Most of the waiting staff were not English but all could speak good English and were very polite.

The breakfast was a large buffet type and the Chefs were visible should anything special be required. Nothing needed to be paid extra for, everything was there, self service.

Free Wi-Fi is available in the lobby, bar and dining areas.

The nights sleep was very comfortable and quite....well it was when the Chinese guy in the next room stopped yelling in to his mobile phone. That said, he was SO loud, perhaps he wasn't on his phone and was just yelling out the door, hoping to be heard in China ?

In conclusion ! For us, a great stay which REALLY made our weekend, prior to visiting Windsor Castle on the Sunday. The ONLY slight negative is that you'll likely need a SatNav to find it but once there, we loved the place and at £119.00 for 3 of us, meals and stay.....a steal.

Thank you to Management and Staff.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Duggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul H, Manager at The Reading Lake Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Thank you!

We have taken on board alot of the feedback we have previously received - the good and the bad and when we receive comments such as yours I hope it shows we are moving in the right direction.

Such comments give our staff such a lift so many thanks and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reading hotels
2.4 mi away
Hillingdon Prince Hotel
Hillingdon Prince Hotel
#15 of 31 in Reading
975 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hilton Reading
Hilton Reading
#2 of 31 in Reading
1,942 reviews
2.6 mi away
Great Expectations Hotel & Bar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading
1.7 mi away
Beech House Hotel
Beech House Hotel
#9 of 31 in Reading
322 reviews
2.7 mi away
Novotel Reading Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Reading Lake Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reading Lake Hotel

Address: Pingewood, Reading RG30 3UN, England (Formerly Copthorne Hotel Reading)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Reading
Price Range: £55 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Reading Lake Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Reading Lake Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reading Copthorne Hotel
Copthorne Reading

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing