We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from Home - Ian Thompson (Contractor)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crown Lodge Guest House
Ranked #6 of 17 Reading B&B and Inns
Derby, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Home from Home - Ian Thompson (Contractor)”
Reviewed 10 March 2013

I have been staying at the Crown on and off now for almost 3 years so well over 135 nights. Its run by a very friendly couple who always give a warm welcome for you what ever the time. I have stayed in most of the rooms and all are clean, tidy, warm and comfortable. Also I've even had my family members stay over. Breakfast is very good never missed one in all the years I have been there! Private car park with CCTV and lights is a big plus as most of the parking in Reading is permit holders only. Never had any complaints about the Crown. I highly recommend this guest house

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    5
    5
    8
    13
See reviews for
6
5
5
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2013

This is NOT a 4 star hotel!
Bedding dirty - yellow duvet with stains and holes in it.
Shower curtain rail kep ton falling down on people's heads.
Room in attic had dangerous ceiling - could be easy to bump your head on.
Bathroom tiny - barely any room to move around in.
Breakfast okay but cheap ingredients. Surprised food like yogurts were not kept refrigerated or at least in ice!
Showers not powerful enough and kept changing temperature - either scolding hot or freezing cold!
Room 5 had a radiator which clunked & clanged all night, despite not even being turned out or emitting heat!
Would advise that this is more like a 2 star hotel.
Definitely not value for money, would NEVER stay here again and would NOT recommend this to others!

Room Tip: We had 5 rooms in total and would NOT recommend any!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Elizabeth E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Reading hotels

Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
Reviewed 4 February 2013

I am businessman in Kenya and I had the opportunity of the staying in this wonderful bed & breakfast. Everything from the food, to the room and the staff were impeccable and I must say that I enjoyed my stay here thoroughly. It really made me feel as if I were staying in my own house. I would highly recommend anyone going to Reading to stay here; the location is close to the city centre and everything is accessible. I look forward to coming here next again during my travel to Reading.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 January 2013

I travel quite often to the UK in business matters, as our Norwegian office is just being established.
During my last business trip to the UK I had the pleasure of staying in Crown Lodge Guest House in Reading. I was greated by a very service minded staff, and given a fantastic room. I especially liked the comfortable beds, as a good rest was much needed. The room was tidy and well organized.
The breakfast was excellent, and I was alway met by a smiling face.
Thank you so much for making my stay as comfortable and pleasant as it was:)
I highly recommend this guest house, and will surely return againg.

Room Tip: Let the staff know what you prefer, and they will more than happily help you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erik J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 January 2013

I have stayed at crown lodge twice over the last year and found this place excellent. Very comfortable and clean. Location was good, easy to access and short distance to town centre. There was a free, monitored, private car park to the rear. Stayed in room 6, which looks great, bed very comfortable; bathroom clean, good shower. Couple who run the hotel are very friendly and helpful. Both cooked and continental breakfast was very good!
Highly satisfactory stay. I would recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kat31l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 23 January 2013

This is my second stay at Crown Lodge Guest House Reading. I stay here last year and that time they make my stay Awesome.
This time I come back and was thinking to myself, "something has to happen wrong" but they prove me wrong!
You might think that i am a salesman, but I have to say that once again I am blown away.
Super friendly staff, superb rooms, great breakfast, private parking, high speed internet connection, what else a person need on a business trip. I though should keep telling all my work colleagues to stay here.
I still don't forget the breakfast it's fantastic. Even tough I had a tight schedule but their timings were superb, Once again the staff is very friendly and professional, I really enjoyed.
Thank you Crown Lodge Guest House for your remarkable job, as usual I see you soon!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Husnain N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 22 January 2013

i have stayed at crown lodge few times over the last year or so and found this place better every time, this is a family run set up and manager/owner is always keen to help. whole place including the front entrance appear to have gone through face lift in the last year or so and i must say they have done a good job, i always stayed in room 6 which is advertised as double deluxe, in all honesty not quite what i call a deluxe room, however is quite nicely presented and functions very well, cooked breakfast is very good,

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clive m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reading hotels
0.2 mi away
pentahotel Reading
pentahotel Reading
#6 of 31 in Reading
2,275 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ibis Reading Centre
Ibis Reading Centre
#11 of 31 in Reading
997 reviews
0.5 mi away
Novotel Reading Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hillingdon Prince Hotel
Hillingdon Prince Hotel
#15 of 31 in Reading
938 reviews
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Reading Central Hotel
0.5 mi away
Mercure George Hotel Reading
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Lodge Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Lodge Guest House

Property: Crown Lodge Guest House
Address: 27 Russell Street, Reading RG1 7XD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Reading
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Crown Lodge Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Crown Lodge Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing