We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect in every way”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Forbury Roseate
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in Reading
Certificate of Excellence
Dorset
Level Contributor
71 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way”
Reviewed 16 July 2011

Stayed here 1 night on 14th July 2011 to celebrate my 6th Wedding Anniversary with my husband.
From the moment I walked through the door and asked where we could park and a valet was sent back out with me to park the car for us I knew this place was going to be good!
Staff - very friendly and helpful at all times, say what they are going to do, and do what they say. We were also able to check in an hour early which was a bonus.
We were given a complimentary afternoon tea in the Secret Garden (which is lovely and tranquil) and I'm more of a G&T person than afternoon tea, but it was truly divine, hot scones with clotted cream and home made jam, eclairs, fingers sandwiches of all varieties, and lots and lots of tea - definitely worth it.
The room was lovely, 4 poster bed, robes and slippers provided, a little fridge with water and milk, a little kettle and tea and coffee provided, soft fluffy towels and The White Company toiletries. I love everything about this place, the opulence and sheer decadence is tasteful and hubby definitely appreciated the B&O equipment!
I loved this place and the location, spent a lovely evening at The Riverside and am hoping to come back in October. The only slight niggle I had was I could only find one plug socket, so when I wanted to charge my phone, straighten my hair and put the fan on I couldn't - but hey what's frizzy hair for one day!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HolidayGirl1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    370
    85
    35
    11
    6
See reviews for
56
237
20
110
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 18 June 2011

We stayed at The Forbury Hotel, along with several family members, as part of our Silver Wedding Anniversary celebrations. All the rooms were absolutely lovely, with beautiful furniture, really different touches and everything you could possibly think of to make your stay special. The event itself was seamlessly arranged by the events team. We had a private area of the hotel restaurant and use of the 'secret garden' with its cushioned seating and heaters and gorgeous water feature. The tables looked fantastic, the bar staff 'worked their socks off' creating amazing cocktails for our family and friends, and the food was sublime - we had so many lovely comments. The Forbury Hotel is a very special hotel which you'd never expect to find in the centre of Reading and is so worth a visit. Thanks again to all the staff that made our celebrations so very memorable. See you soon.....

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovesabitofluxury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
60 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2011

Best of boutique in Reading of all places. Very stylish rooms. I love B&O and this was set up nicely. The selection of CDs impressed. I ended up buying a couple on iTunes. The fast wifi making this happen easily. Service positive. Think young attractive service centred. For example I arrived late first night and porter had gone home. No problem receptionist took my keys and found somewhere to park my car. I mentioned I'd had a hard day and was offered a G&T. Perfect.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tunkeyandthemonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2011

This really is a good quality hotel. Would obviously not be so reasonable unless the whole hotel trade quiet, but great for me on a mid range budget. I stay in a lot of hotels and am very fussy. This one is hard to fault from reception to cocktails to dinner to room quality to an excellent english breakfast. High end furniture fittings and accessories inc B&O tv's and sound systems. Open fires in the bedrooms, I could go on, and no I don't have any association with the hotel !!

Room Tip: Study the floorplans of each room to get the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CambridgeMeatman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordhire, England
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

I loved this place. The decor is right up my street.Perfect! Could not fault the whole experience from staff to bedroom.bathroom and facilities. A real luxury stay with friends.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cs_macewan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2011

I stayed at the Forbury with my wife a few years back and we were incredibly impressed and copied their bathroom design for our new extension we were so impressed.

I'm pleased to say it's not lost any of it's magic, the furnishings are opulent and extremely comfortable and the best of all the hotels I've ever stayed in.

The food at both dinner and breakfast time was superb and the staff were friendly and helpful throughout.

For me, it's the best hotel in Reading by miles and I wish we had more Forbury hotels in other cities - it's one of my favourite hotels of all time.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank darrenj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slough, UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2011

An amazing little Hotel in the heart of Reading. Well looked after and the Superior rooms were amazing - I didn't think Hotels like this existed outside London. Valet parking, CDs and DVDs in the room to use at leisure, great facilities within the room and the food was absolutely gorgeous. A great hotel in a good location close to the station and nightlife / sops etc.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Madayarrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reading hotels
0.2 mi away
Malmaison Reading
Malmaison Reading
#5 of 31 in Reading
971 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hilton Reading
Hilton Reading
#3 of 31 in Reading
1,791 reviews
0.5 mi away
pentahotel Reading
pentahotel Reading
#6 of 31 in Reading
2,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ibis Reading Centre
Ibis Reading Centre
#11 of 31 in Reading
986 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel Reading Centre
0.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Forbury Roseate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Forbury Roseate

Property: The Forbury Roseate
Address: 26 The Forbury, Reading RG1 3EJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Reading
#1 Luxury Hotel in Reading
#1 Romantic Hotel in Reading
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Forbury Roseate 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury hotel with a private house feel, The Forbury has been designed to meet the needs of the single business person or couple seeking refuge from the “rat race”. The bedrooms and suites provide a sumptuous and stimulating environment. Every feature has been designed with comfort in mind. From huge beds with the finest Egyptian cotton sheets to American walnut floors with underfloor heating and fine Italian chrome bath fittings, nothing has been overlooked. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Hotel.de so you can book your The Forbury Roseate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forbury Hotel Reading

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing