We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem in Reading”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Forbury Roseate
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in Reading
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 November 2012

A real gem in the centre of Reading and yet in a very quiet location. The price/quality ratio is excellent too and very very good value. The only aspect where the hotel could do better is with the shampoos and soaps which are very cheap and let down the splendid bathrooms and to be able to luxuriate there; if they chose something from a better quality brand (White Company, Penhaligon's, or Hermes or any other) then it would be perfect and would set the standard of the hotel.
The staff is friendly and forthcoming and the breakfast excellent; they also have a very good cocktail bar (a rarity in Reading).

Room Tip: worth the upgrade to one the junior suites which are of a very high standard and utterly decadent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mitch B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (548)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

450 - 456 of 548 reviews

Reviewed 10 November 2012

really enjoyed staying at The Forbury, lovely hotel, great room, lovely bed, very comfy. couldn't quite get the hang of the tv/music controls but alcohol may have played a part. great big bath that we both splashed around in and fab walk in shower. Great breakfast which we had in bed which is always a bonus. valet parking made things easy. i didn't think the website was as good as it could be. Reading is also great for xmas shopping.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kerlist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2012 via mobile

Had a great stay at The Forbury.

Great location, great room and great weekend rate.

Would thoroughly recommend for a business or leisure stay.

One small negative comment was a lack of wardrobe space in the bedrooms (not a problem for me but my wife complained) otherwise faultless.

The best English breakfast I've had for a long time as well.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bobby1301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2012

I was very impressed with this lovely little hotel in Reading... The building having been completely renovated in a modern and stylish way, is absolutely delightful. My junior suite was small but lovely and perfectly clean! My guest's room was stunning as well, and she was very happy with it.
The restaurant and bar busy and again beautifully decorated. The food was good and the menu interesting; the staff very professional and friendly.
Everything was beautifully clean and efficient, and the room service menu was good and readily available. I used the laundry service which was excellent and a same day service. Parking is at a reasonable rate and it also has free wi fi, which was adequate. The hotel is next to Forbury gardens with the most magnificent bronze lion and is also a lovely place to sit in the sun. Forbury Hotel is also ideally placed for the town centre and shopping, and is also very near to Reading station within easy reach of London and Oxford for the traveller.
I am definitely using this delightful hotel again this year and looking forward to experiencing a new room perhaps, I think too it would make the perfect place for a romantic break and maybe next time I'll take my husband.
The only down side was a couple of design problems which I doubt would worry a younger person, and they were a) dim lighting throughout the hallways but more importantly in the room, and especially in the evenings, and b) there was no drawer space, just shelving and as I was in the UK for two weeks, I found I had clothes everywhere! However, I did manage, and there were plenty of other good things to make up for this. I suspect the designer was a male genY... as there wasn't a magnifying makeup mirror or shaving mirror either (I bought one and suggest you bring one if you need one).

Room Tip: If you need it, make sure you have a 'light' room... and maybe one overlooking the Park woul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AEW22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

I stayed in the Forbury for a relaxing weekend break with my girlfriend. From entrance to exit, the service was excellent, food; delightful and decor; smart and stylish.

We were greeted by the porter when we arrived who parked the car and took our bags to the room. The room was furnished beautifully with comforting wooden floors with the warmth of the underfloor heating. The room was kitted with Bang & Olufsen TV, DVD and sound system which played through the room and bathroom.

We had a fantastic tea full of sandwiches and cake. Dinner was good too but the one thing to really shout home was the huge cocktail list. If you are a cocktail lover, then this may be the place for you. We only tried the espresso martini which definitely hit the spot.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nickg385
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2012

Booked the romance package for our 1st wedding anniversary 16/10/12 ....... Amazing, From the moment you walk through the doors the stesses and strains of everyday life melt away. Perrier Jouet champagne already on ice in the room which is beautifully presented. The hotel absolutely lives up to it's fabulous reputation from start to finish. Dinner at Cerise was beautiful excellent cocktails, food and ambience.
Would recommend in a heartbeat and will certainly be staying again. If you book one of the packages available and break it down to it's individual componants the Forbury is an absolute steal.

Room Tip: book a package , romance package includes champagne, chocolates, 3 course dinner and breakfast for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank michael l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

The staff at The Forbury never cease to amaze me with their top notch customer service. On the top of my list is Jonathan, the bar manager at Cerise, who creates exquisite custom cocktails and goes way beyond the expected to make your stay special; seriously a natural mixologist and passionate care giver.Thanks to all of the outstanding people at The Forbury for making me feel at home again.Cheers!

Thank AndrewfromSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Reading
0.2 mi away
Malmaison Reading
Malmaison Reading
#4 of 31 in Reading
1,033 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hilton Reading
Hilton Reading
#3 of 31 in Reading
1,884 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel Reading Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
pentahotel Reading
pentahotel Reading
#6 of 31 in Reading
2,409 reviews
0.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading
17.4 mi away
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Stockcross
1,849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Forbury Roseate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Forbury Roseate

Address: 26 The Forbury, Reading RG1 3EJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Reading
#1 Luxury Hotel in Reading
#1 Business Hotel in Reading
Price Range: £102 - £251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Forbury Roseate 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury hotel with a private house feel, The Forbury has been designed to meet the needs of the single business person or couple seeking refuge from the “rat race”. The bedrooms and suites provide a sumptuous and stimulating environment. Every feature has been designed with comfort in mind. From huge beds with the finest Egyptian cotton sheets to American walnut floors with underfloor heating and fine Italian chrome bath fittings, nothing has been overlooked. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, MrandMrsSmith, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Forbury Roseate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forbury Hotel Reading

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing