We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“only had a pot of tea - treated like a lord!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Forbury Roseate
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in Reading
Certificate of Excellence
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“only had a pot of tea - treated like a lord!”
Reviewed 18 December 2012

parked close by. needed to waste an hour - so popped in - asked for the loo and ordered a tea ... wonderful service - like a london top hotel..£3.... very nice - wish i could have dined there or stayed ... next time maybe ...

Room Tip: i dont know as i didnt stay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chris911carerra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    388
    89
    39
    11
    7
See reviews for
61
244
21
120
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
The Valley, Anguilla
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2012 via mobile

Fantastic location, fantastic building, fantastic room. Good, friendly, helpful and efficient staff.
Great breakfast selection, well cooked.
A faultless stay, would definitely recommend and can't wait for another opportunity to stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Norman B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2012

We stayed here for a weekend break as our daughter has just started uni here. We thought it was really good value and could not be faulted. We had the relaxing package, well worth it. Dinner in Cerise was lovely with a great atmosphere. Really liked our room, thought the selection of CDs was a nice touch.
We will be back

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chunkyCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Forbury for one night, we were attending a friends special birthday held in another hotel in Reading, and thought we would treat ourselves to a junior suite at The Forbury. On the good side we found the room to be very comfortably furnished and the staff very friendly. On the downside the lighting in the room was very dim and not possible to adjust (the same applied to the under floor heating controlled by the hotel) There was a very small mirror on the desk/dressing table which only had a reading lamp so it was impossible to put on makeup here! The bathroom lighting wasn't much better, and personally I prefer to sit at a dressing table when getting ready to go out. The rug had some leather squares sown on which had come unstitched and nearly tripped my husband up when he caught his toe in one. The duvet was synthetic and a bit too warm.The wardrobe space was tight and far too small if staying for longer, and lacking adequate hangers. It makes me wonder if the rooms have been designed by a man?
To sum up OK for a one night stay, at this price I would expect better, especially in a suite.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank likeitornot29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2012

The Forbury is exactly what a 5 star hotel experience should be - luxury - impeccable service and just about perfect in every way. This boutique hotel is ideally located in the town centre. A relatively small, independently owned hotel, rooms are opulently furnished and the suites offer the ultimate in decadence. Reading is hardly a destination you'd choose for a break, but book into the Forbury and you'll feel you're in paradise! Superb breakfast and room service.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrChipsManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2012

We had a fantastic stay last Saturday night at this hotel. Service was very good and the rooms and public areas were stylish yet comfortable. Our only minor criticism was a lack of air con in the bedroom and with windows that do not open it made it a little stuffy overnight. I think this was due to the age of the building maybe (unless it was there and we just completely missed it!) The barmen and women were clearly very talented as our cocktails were fantastic (and what a superb range available) and the Eggs Benedict I had for breakfast was the best Eggs Benedict I had ever had.
If I ever return to Reading overnight I would not even hesitate in booking this hotel again. A real find.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank queenlulu82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2012

Outside of 5* London boutique hotels this is probably the best furnished and decorated hotel in te area, and with service to match. Nothing is too much trouble here and the rates are reasonable.

The Cerise restaurant is small but food is consistently good.

Central, walk to the stores, offices, and station, fast train to London 25mins

Room Tip: Rooms over the front or sides of the hotel are preferable to those over the back. Otherwise the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Reading
0.2 mi away
Malmaison Reading
Malmaison Reading
#4 of 31 in Reading
1,002 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hilton Reading
Hilton Reading
#3 of 31 in Reading
1,837 reviews
0.5 mi away
pentahotel Reading
pentahotel Reading
#6 of 31 in Reading
2,316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Novotel Reading Centre
0.2 mi away
Ibis Reading Centre
Ibis Reading Centre
#11 of 31 in Reading
1,013 reviews
17.4 mi away
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Stockcross
1,783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Forbury Roseate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Forbury Roseate

Property: The Forbury Roseate
Address: 26 The Forbury, Reading RG1 3EJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Reading
#1 Business Hotel in Reading
#1 Luxury Hotel in Reading
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Forbury Roseate 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury hotel with a private house feel, The Forbury has been designed to meet the needs of the single business person or couple seeking refuge from the “rat race”. The bedrooms and suites provide a sumptuous and stimulating environment. Every feature has been designed with comfort in mind. From huge beds with the finest Egyptian cotton sheets to American walnut floors with underfloor heating and fine Italian chrome bath fittings, nothing has been overlooked. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Forbury Roseate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forbury Hotel Reading

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing