We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel with good surrounding”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Forbury Roseate
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in Reading
Certificate of Excellence
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
139 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Nice hotel with good surrounding”
Reviewed 29 October 2013 via mobile

Plenty of bars and restaurants close to it in walking distance. Lovely old style hotel, very nicely renovated. The room Nr 16 on first floor was spacious. The bathroom was modern with a nice shower and a bath. Water, coffee and tea in the room, as well as a safe. Internet free with perfect connection.
Only downside is that the temparature cannot be controlled in the room individually. The room was quite overheated on arrival, with the only option to open the window.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Carmen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    366
    84
    34
    11
    5
See reviews for
55
234
20
107
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Marrakech, Morocco
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013 via mobile

My bathroom has an incredibly noisy fan that cannot be turned off & now it is night time it has wafted the smell of cigarettes into my room - disgusting.

The hotel is nicely refurbished but the reception desk staff are frosty & inept.

Room service menu is mainly just sandwiches.

Will not stay again

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Looking for a smaller boutique style hotel I found the Forbury had received excellent reviews on Tripadvisor and decided to book it only 2 days before we stayed as a birthday treat for my wife.

Upon arriving at the hotel our bags were collected and car was driven away by the valet to be securely parked in the hotel car park (NB this does attract a £12 fee which is not mentioned until check-out).

I booked the largest 'Forbury Suite' to make the experience all the more memorable and we were very impressed with the size of the room and the quality of the furnishings throughout, including B&W TV and Hi-fi, iPod speaker dock, mini fridge, dining room table and high quality bathroom.

We stayed on a Sunday night which meant that the hotel felt almost empty but this did not detract from the experience.

A slight mix up on our breakfast which was meant to be bought to our room slightly bought down the overall experience of the stay for us but the staff were very apologetic about the mistake.

We walked into town on the night we stayed for something to eat and the location is very good with a number of bars and restaurants within 5 minutes walk - at the same time the location of the hotel, off of the main high streets, means that it is not noisy at all.

All in all a very pleasant stay and definitely worth the money for a special occasion.

Room Tip: Forbury Suite is the largest room in the hotel - it is fantastic and well worth the extra money for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevenmartin01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

This was our second time in Reading and first time at the Forbury. We stayed for 2 nights and now I wish it was longer.
Our room was excellent and I couldn't get over the size of the bathroom!
All the staff were friendly and very helpful especially the doorman who showed us to our room and explained in great detail how everything worked. Wasn't expected but very welcomed.
The bar downstairs was top notch as well. The 2 barman certainly knew how to mix up a cocktail.
Location was perfect for us as we didn't have transport so everything was in easy walking distance with plenty of places to eat close by.
Breakfast was just right.
Didn't take advantage of the restaurant this time but I'm sure on our next visit it'll be for a long period and we'll partake on it's other services.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheMoz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aldershot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

My husband and I stayed for a night on the romantic break deal. The service was excellent from the initial contact on reception to the booking out. The dinner in the evening was delicious and the breakfast well cooked and plentiful. Altogether a relaxing and enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CandV106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We stayed for a couple of nights in a 2 room suite complete with a kitchen (not needed as the town is on the doorstep and the hotel restaurant produces the best breakfast Eggs Benedict I have tasted). The staff are polite and helpfull but parking space is so tight in the hotel carpark that one has to leave car keys at reception so that they can shuffle the motors about. The hotel location could not be anymore central to Reading's superb shops, eateries and wonderful museum and the town has an exciting air on a Saturday evening as the many pubs and bars fill. The only downside was getting stuck in the bathroom of our suite when the sliding door mechanism failed, a call to maintenance fixed it but we were somewhat perplexed to be told that this had happened to the previous guests too!

Room Tip: There are two parts to this hotel and the rooms in both are very well appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tripkit5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcestershire
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Stayed here twice during the past few months and really enjoyed our visit. The rooms are excellent, really well furnished and have Bang and Olufsen TV/HiFi system, plus there are CDs supplied for back ground music in the room. We had afternoon tea which was really good, lovely sandwiches and huge selection of cakes. The Cerise restaurant was also excellent and we enjoyed our meals on both occasions. You must also spend some time sat at the bar sampling some of the extensive range of cocktails! All in all would recommend staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank russs99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reading hotels
0.2 mi away
Malmaison Reading
Malmaison Reading
#5 of 31 in Reading
4.0 of 5 bubbles 961 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hilton Reading
Hilton Reading
#3 of 31 in Reading
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,758 reviews
0.5 mi away
pentahotel Reading
pentahotel Reading
#6 of 31 in Reading
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Novotel Reading Centre
0.2 mi away
Ibis Reading Centre
Ibis Reading Centre
#11 of 31 in Reading
4.0 of 5 bubbles 964 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Reading Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Forbury Roseate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Forbury Roseate

Property: The Forbury Roseate
Address: 26 The Forbury, Reading RG1 3EJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Reading
#1 Romantic Hotel in Reading
#1 Business Hotel in Reading
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Forbury Roseate 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury hotel with a private house feel, The Forbury has been designed to meet the needs of the single business person or couple seeking refuge from the “rat race”. The bedrooms and suites provide a sumptuous and stimulating environment. Every feature has been designed with comfort in mind. From huge beds with the finest Egyptian cotton sheets to American walnut floors with underfloor heating and fine Italian chrome bath fittings, nothing has been overlooked. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your The Forbury Roseate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forbury Hotel Reading

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing