We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel In Reading”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Forbury Roseate
Ranked #3 of 31 Hotels in Reading
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Without doubt you will not find a better hotel in Reading. With its individuality, it's decor and great staff. All a credit to Peter the General Manager. You will not be disappointed staying here. Whilst you are staying there please visit Cerise, this is not your normal hotel restaurant supurb food and yet again great service. You can also get a good cocktail, try a St. Lawrence or 3, they are lovely.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (574)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

389 - 395 of 574 reviews

Reviewed 6 December 2013

We booked the excellent value 'Romantic Break', including a one-night stay with dinner and breakfast plus a bottle of champagne and a box of chocolates (not just any old chocolates, these were from Hotel du Chocolat). Getting to Reading from Epsom was the easy bit; finding the Forbury, despite a map, was an initiative test that we failed first time, discovering in the process the complexity of Reading's road network.

The hotel is located in the former HQ of Berkshire County Council, which was abolished in the nineties. It is pleasantly situated opposite parkland and close to a ruined abbey. A tranquil part of town yet just a few minutes walk from the lively centre. All too often these days town centres can be a bit depressing - charity shops, pound shops, betting shops, boarded up shops - but it's not like that here, one gets the impression that the recession by-passed this place. And then there is the huge Oracle Centre with plenty of good shops and restaurants.

The friendly and hands-on manager helped check us in and was around too during dinner. This is a luxury hotel but it is an unostentatious sort of luxury. The interior of the building is beautiful. No complaint at all about our room (well almost - they could provide a bar of soap for the bath!). Dinner was first-class. This is stylish, inventive cooking that clearly has a vital ingredient: TLC. Elsewhere we have found that fine dining can be disappointing, with the chef seemingly focussed on showing how clever and trendy he is, producing something that looks pretty but tastes of nothing very much. Here the focus is on pleasing the customer, food that looks good without being fussy, and that tastes very good. Breakfast, which can sometimes be a let-down even where dinner has been good, was also of a very high standard.

This was a thoroughly enjoyable and very relaxing stay. The one and only discordant note was when when we were in reception, waiting for our car to be brought round ready for our departure (there is valet parking). A couple came in and asked the receptionist about making a booking for a large party. But it was a Sunday, she didn't have access to availability details, it was someone else's job so could they come back the next day. Maybe they did - or maybe they didn't. Surely dealing with such queries should be a team responsibility.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Davidofepsom40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013 via mobile

I travel extensively with work and have the luck to stay at The Forbury every month or two. The hotel has a fantastic interior with unique rooms and a luxurious decor. The staff are always a joy to deal with polite, efficient and always friendly. Food is faultless.
A truly great hotel.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank Del-S1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

The Forbury Hotel has to be one of the best hotels in Reading. It is set in the centre of Reading, in a beautiful building. The service is excellent. Nothing is any trouble whatever the time. The food was good and the rooms very comfortable and spacious.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lk_2295
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013 via mobile

I'm lucky enough to have stayed in some lovely hotels. The Forbury is definitely up there with the best of them.

Staff are beyond helpful, the room I was allocated on the 2nd floor was beautiful. The bed was amazing, so comfortable, beautiful linens, a gorgeous duvet and down filled pillows.

The bathroom was huge, I'm 5ft 8" and I could float in the bath, a total treat. A rainfall shower and Molton Brown toiletries made it extra special.

As I was here for business and was on my own, I had room service for Dinner and Breakfast. Both meals were delicious, served promptly and were beautifully presented.

I really can't recommend this property highly enough. I'm looking forward to my next visit!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
Thank TheScottishCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We had a lovely stay at this hotel for a family celebration. The decor is sumptuous - beautiful fabrics, atmospheric lighting and sculptures - and nothing is too much trouble. I felt that all the staff we encountered genuinely like their jobs and want to make your stay special, and there is no air of snootiness that you sometimes get in 'high-end' hotels. There is plenty of space here - the rooms and bathrooms are large and the common areas are also spacious. If I really had to fault it, I would agree with other reviews that the rooms were too warm at night……..but that certainly didn't ruin our stay there.

Room Tip: We had several rooms and they were all gorgeous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blueandfluffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

I can't thank the staff at The Forbury Hotel enough for helping to make my mother's 75th birthday a thoroughly special and memorable occasion. The opulently decorated rooms are exquisite and bathrooms divine. You can feel like royalty as a guest in this establishment. My mother enjoyed afternoon tea and breakfast in bed in her gorgeous suite (No. 38) and all the special touches we'd arranged were discretely delivered. Beautiful hotel, excellent restaurant (which was a very pleasant surprise), outstanding service. Can't speak highly enough of The Forbury and its people.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reviewer1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Reading
0.2 mi away
Malmaison Reading
Malmaison Reading
#4 of 31 in Reading
1,063 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hilton Reading
Hilton Reading
#2 of 31 in Reading
1,942 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel Reading Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading
0.5 mi away
pentahotel Reading
pentahotel Reading
#6 of 31 in Reading
2,532 reviews
17.4 mi away
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Stockcross
1,934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Forbury Roseate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Forbury Roseate

Address: 26 The Forbury, Reading RG1 3EJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Reading
#1 Romantic Hotel in Reading
#2 Luxury Hotel in Reading
Price Range: £136 - £241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Forbury Roseate 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury hotel with a private house feel, The Forbury has been designed to meet the needs of the single business person or couple seeking refuge from the “rat race”. The bedrooms and suites provide a sumptuous and stimulating environment. Every feature has been designed with comfort in mind. From huge beds with the finest Egyptian cotton sheets to American walnut floors with underfloor heating and fine Italian chrome bath fittings, nothing has been overlooked. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, MrandMrsSmith, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Forbury Roseate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forbury Hotel Reading

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing