We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Roseate Reading
Nearby Hotels
Novotel Reading Centre(Reading)(Great Value!)
US$90
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Ibis Reading Centre(Reading)(Great Value!)
US$78
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$68
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
pentahotels Reading(Reading)(Great Value!)
US$82
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$77
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading(Reading)(Great Value!)
US$106
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$88
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$59
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$55
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$69
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$187
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$99
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$119
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$107
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hilton Reading(Reading)(Great Value!)
US$98
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$68
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (596)
Filter reviews
596 results
Traveller rating
426
103
44
13
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
426
103
44
13
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsforbury hotelsound systemcerise restaurantmolton brown toiletriesbang and olufsenthe penthousebeautiful hotelcocktail barcd playercopper bathprivate cinematwo bedroom apartmentunderfloor heatingforbury gardensbreakfast in bedboutique hotelthe main hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
401 - 406 of 596 reviews
Reviewed 24 March 2014

I had another enjoyable stay at what is probably the best hotel in Reading.
Lovely room with B&O TV and Hifi system. Attention to detail everywhere.
Lovely comfortable bed which I slept very well in.
The ambience of this hotel is wonderful and if you need to stay in Reading I thoroughly recommend it.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Philip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

First things first, this is a stunning hotel. The rooms are lovely, the bathrooms perfect, the service exemplary.

The breakfast was outstanding, delivered to our room with no tray charge, which makes a nice change.

The only problem that I had was that the room was far too warm. Admittedly it was an unseasonably warm weekend when we stayed, but the lack of any sort of temperature control in the room means you are rather at the mercy of somebody else's idea of a pleasant temperature. Due to this we had to sleep with the windows open which meant a poor nights sleep due to the traffic noise and people out in the town center. Worth bearing in mind if, like me, you prefer a cool hotel room in which to get a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Just a 5 minute walk from Reading Station, The Forbury is next to the Forbury Gardens & the Abbey ruins. The brochure tells you it was built in 1911 as the Shire Hall for Berkshire County Council & is a Grade 1 listed building, & you can certainly still admire the historic detailing with the wide Purbeck marble hallways and high vaulted ceilings.

The reception staff were very pleasant, experienced & hospitable. On your way to your room, don't miss the chandelier which runs the height of the old lift shaft - apparently it has 86,000 Italian glass beads! The atmosphere is fashionable & everywhere is stylishly decorated, the blend of fabrics & wallpaper with clever lighting, artworks & design create a space that looks & feels really special.

My room was no.16 and it was stunning with an under-heated walnut floor, sawn oak furniture, lovely soft furnishings & a comfy 4 poster bed. The room also had a state-of-the-art Bang & Olufsen audio-visual system, an espresso coffee machine & a fridge stocked with complimentary water. In the bathroom the bath was spacious and there was also a monsoon shower with luxury fixtures & fittings (although the sink tap wouldn't stop dripping), a stone floor & romantic lighting. Oh and Molton Brown Smellies! Overall a lovely experience & next morning I went downstairs and sank into a comfy sofa with a hot chocolate while waiting for my train. And relax............

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bubbles73uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Have stayed here on various occasions and always received exceptional service.

I stayed here on the weekend of the 16th February and the experience was only marred by the lack of room service available on the Sunday night and the slightly lack lustre service- felt too much like a reduced service and out of synch with the rest of the experience.

The Forbury however remains one of my favourite hotels and one I will visit again for many years I hope.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alastairwhatley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Stayed again with the previous stay a couple of years ago. The hotel has worn very well and does not appear to have aged any since the last time. Room was excellently appointed but atmosphere was very dry and no immediate way of controlling the air conditioning, or maybe I couldn't find the controls!
Excellent bar with great staff and good quality breakfast add up to a lovely stay.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
Thank WhamBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews