We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Strange mix...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Great Expectations Hotel & Bar
Ranked #22 of 31 Hotels in Reading
Dudley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Strange mix...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2012

Checked in on Sunday evening, 11/11/12. Room 17. Large room, four-poster bed, fair sized bathroom, huge bath, good shower over bath, water hot. Now the issues. Old style TV, only working channel was Porn!! Looked for info in room to check out TV, no info. Looked for phone to call reception.. no phone!! Sleep.
Breakfast.. no available tables yet room empty..tables full of used dishes. Tapped on reception window by bar and was told someone would be with us. Young lad appeared and said he could clear a table for us. Errr thanks? Good breakfast but no tea.
Might try again...

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pascal1331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    71
    53
    23
    29
See reviews for
12
32
43
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
west midlands
Level Contributor
160 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2012

stayed here overnight with partner, room was clean, warm and welcoming, shower worked well, water hot, clean towels, room door locked inside with a knob so need for key, card on key worked the light which is like being abroad, in room was tv, coffee and tea and kettle, bed was cosy enough, no car park at hotel but over the road was a secure car park £15.00 for 24 hours, breakfast was a cooked breakfast with cereal and toast, though i didnt have a cooked breakfast i asked if i could have tomotoes on toast to which they obliged, my partner had the cooked brekkie and he said it was lovely, you helped yourself to cereal and juice, coffee was in a pot on the side, if you wanted tea - you need to ask, i would stay here again, you checked in at the bar,

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kebav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2012

Cannot understand what other reviewers are moaning at. Booking.com gave me a great rate of £59 for a room near the centre of Reading. OK, so there is no lift-if you read other reviews you would know this and not use hotel if you needed a lift.
I have stayed here on three occasions now and each time I have had a comfortable bed in a reasonable-sized room with a clean bathroom.
I admit that a little investment wouldn't go amiss; bath towels are a little on the small/thin side, but I had a relaxing shower and managed to dry myself. TV's could do with updating to digital instead of using Freeview box, but I was able to watch what I wanted. If you stay in a pub, then expect pub noise. If you want a silent night then stay at home!
Steak I had in the evening was slightly undercooked. It was re-cooked without any fuss. I asked for some poached eggs and bacon on toast for breakfast, not quite the norm, but delivered again with no fuss.
Basically, if you want to stay in a perfect hotel then don't stay here. If you want room service, don't stay here. But if you want a comfortable bed for the night without paying PremierInn prices then Great Expectations is the venue for you, a bit rough around the edges but it tries hard enough for me to stay here instead of PremierInn up the road.

Room Tip: 17 is a large four-postered bed room worth asking for. 30 suffers from radiator gurgling throughout...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tazmaniac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2012

No lift, although I have been in several older hotels where they have successfully added a small freight lift on the outside of the building.. Multi-level interior steps on the top floor, you go up, then down steps to get to your room. Total of 53 steps, plus 5 sets of fire doors to the top floor.

You have to walk up stone steps at the front of the building, then all the way through the bar to get to Hotel check-in (which is at the end of the bar), then all the way back to the front to enter Hotel stair case. You have to wait for barmen to have time away from pouring drinks to check you in.

All but one of the staff have no business working in a hotel. Argumentative, abrasive, no clue how to be hospitable, or accommodating to travelers . After all, they are barmen. Serving drinks, and attending to hotel travelers, are two different sensibilities.

No soap in bathroom, good thing I bring my own. Warm water in shower, shower head jets not adjustable, and kind of painful. Tiny rooms. No chair to sit in, only tiny stool with no back to sit on.

Food in restaurant was very expensive compared to other UK Pub Food venues, warm not hot.

Internet WiFi does not reach all rooms on all floors, and is very slow - bordering on useless - except early morning from 8-10am.

This is not a hotel for business travelers, travelers with bags, nor people with difficulties with stairs. Might be OK for stag and hen groups, or social travelers needing a bed for the night. Not the cheapest hotel I've been in for multiple nights, where complete room service is not required daily (e.g. change of bedding).

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Reading hotels

london
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2012 via mobile

Please note we didn't stay in the hotel just used the bar.
We stopped here for some drinks on our way to meet friends in central reading. House wine was DISGUSTING and was served to me in a dirty glass with pink lipstick on the rim. Asked for it to be changed and barman made me wait until he had served another group. Eventually changed glass for another dirty one. At this point I requested my money back as I had been waiting 10 mins for a glass of cheap bitter wine served in dirty glasses. Barman became very uppity and we agreed to settle on a nicer wine in a clean glass. Still not ideal.
Tables were all either occupied or dirty and covered in remains of other customer's dinner.
It's a shame as the pub could have a nice atmosphere. Not recommended - full of noisy people too.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank clairek50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
187 reviews
149 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2012

Most reviewers have summed this place up pretty well.

It's reasonably priced for the location, but don't expect any frills.

That said, a bit of attention to cleanliness would not go amiss - why put out dirty coffee cups? It's not like the dust which could, to give benefit of the doubt, be missed - the cups have been actively placed top down in a dirty state! The carpet had been evidently hoovered.

The room was generally comfortable, but, as others have noted, a somewhat tired and in the worst instances shabby. I found noise from neighbouring rooms, the traffic and an alarming gurgling from the radiator at 2am - to be a nuisance.

However, the welcome was friendly enough and the breakfast was more than passable. The building is beautiful - it makes for a passable stay for one or two nights - but could offer so much more!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aber_james
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2012

Ok hotel if you're staying one night for business (ie not paying yourself) and your expectations are low. Staff were quite helpful, but the room wasn't made up when I arrived, and it wasn't much better once they'd made it up. Bathroom was dirty and stayed that way for the 3 nights I was there, the sheets, bed cover and carpets all had their collections of stains of various but unknown kinds and the mattress was ready for the waste tip. The TV was good though. There was a quiz night on Thursday, and I could hear the questions quite clearly from my second floor room although to be fair I don't think it went on too late (finished at 11ish). I would definitely NOT stay here for pleasure, and unless I had to I wouldn't stay there on business either. Probably ok for a cheap stay for a stag night if you want something in the centre of town (although the lack of parking is a pain).

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reading hotels
0.7 mi away
Hillingdon Prince Hotel
Hillingdon Prince Hotel
#15 of 31 in Reading
3.5 of 5 bubbles 921 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure George Hotel Reading
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Reading Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ibis Reading Centre
Ibis Reading Centre
#11 of 31 in Reading
4.0 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Hotel Reading
Quality Hotel Reading
#24 of 31 in Reading
3.0 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
1.2 mi away
Abbey House Hotel
Abbey House Hotel
#14 of 31 in Reading
4.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Expectations Hotel & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Expectations Hotel & Bar

Property: Great Expectations Hotel & Bar
Address: 33 London Street, Reading RG1 4PS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 31 Hotels in Reading
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Great Expectations Hotel & Bar 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Great Expectations Hotel & Bar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Expectations Hotel And Bar
Great Expectations Hotel Bar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing