We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Reading Centre
Ranked #7 of 31 Hotels in Reading
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

Good hotel right in the middle of Reading near all shops and bar's

We upgraded upon arrival to executive room which was big, the deal included wifi, movies, mini bar...for £20 I felt the upgrade was good value

The leisure facilities were good

When we arrived we were asked if we wanted breakfast, we didnt book this on line as it was £16 but upon arrival they offered a half price deal (not sure if they always do this but worth waiting until you get their)

We went to a local restaurant dolce vita about a 10 min walk away. I would strongly recommend it as brilliant food and service

There is one major downside to the hotel. The car park is near enough impossible to find I do a lot of driving and still had to be guided to it from infront of the hotel, due to the one way system you are a mile away and without the patient receptionist I would never have found it.Easy soloution park in gerrard st car park which is easy to find and a two minute walk

Other than that great hotel

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank markwHalifax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacquiMcMillan, General Manager at Novotel Reading Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Thanks so much for your feedback about your stay at Novotel Reading Centre and I am delighted to see that you enjoyed your time with us. I am sorry about the issues with you trying to find the car park. I have tried to get extra signage but this is proving an issue. I am so pleased that you upgraded and felt that this was worth the extra supplement. I do hope we get the chance to welcome you back to Novotel Reading in the future. Kind regards. Jacqui McMillan - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,241)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

615 - 621 of 1,241 reviews

Reviewed 13 February 2014

I was in Reading for a week and had to find somewhere to stay over and in a hurry and the Novotel was close and convenient being in the Town Centre and close to bus routes, The Mainline Railway Station, Banks, Shops, Bars, Restaurants etc.

Service was efficient and courteous. I did not drink or dine in the hotel, there being plenty of far better and cheaper pubs, restaurants etc nearby. I have no need nor desire for Spas, Gyms, Fitness Centres etc so did not use them.

The room was as expected, clean, comfortable and fit for purpose but as is too often the case in my experience, a bit too low in light intensity and a couple of higher power lamps that could have been switched on when required would be beneficial.

I would say that the Novotel is somewhat clinical and soulless, typical of a large Chain Hotel used mostly by "Suits" on expense accounts, which I am not and have to pay my own way. It served an immediate urgent need for me but I do NOT see me staying there again to be honest.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacquiMcMillan, General Manager at Novotel Reading Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on this website about your recent stay at Novotel Reading. I am really pleased to read that our location was perfect for your needs but I am sorry you did not experience all the facilities we have. If you are returning to Novotel Reading and you can book in advance, please go to our website where you can get some great promotional rates. Kind regards. Jacqui McMillan - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Just a tad expensive for a run of the mill experience.... Free beer for filling in a survey! Right in the town centre so plenty of restaurant choices if you want to go out... Didn't try to negotiate the town centre traffic system... park at rail station instead.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael_Sanders_Glos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacquiMcMillan, General Manager at Novotel Reading Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Thank you so much for writing a review on your recent stay at Novotel Reading Centre. To enjoy the best rates that we can offer and if you can book inadvance I really would recommend a visit to our website. I hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back to Novotel Reading in the future. Kind regards. Jacqui McMillan - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Good location for train station and reading centre, rooms a good standard but i didn't have the breakfast as it seemed expensive for the uncertainty of its quality..

Would recommend and will be booking again shortly as it acts as a great halfway point to Paddington station without paying the London prices.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacquiMcMillan, General Manager at Novotel Reading Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2014

Thank you so much for your review about Novotel Reading. I am so glad that you found our location perfect for your needs. Please always check on line when booking as we offer a discount on breakfast if it is pre-paid or you can book a breakfast inclusive rate. I hope we have the chance to welcome you back to Novotel Reading in the future. Kind regards. Jacqui McMillan - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Excellent friendly and helpful staff. Rooms on the small side, but clean and well stocked with towels/pillows.
Didnt have the breakfast as it seemed quite expensive.
No radio/MP3 player, which was a shame.
Good central location though.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Toysietoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacquiMcMillan, General Manager at Novotel Reading Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Thanks so much for posting your review on here about your stay at Novotel Reading. I am really pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay. With regards to the MP3 player, we do now have lots of music channels on the TV as an alternative. I do hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back to Novotel Reading in the future. Kind regards. Jacqui McMillan - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Good location. Comfortable and well appointed rooms. Impression given that the water was complimentary but it cost £2.50 a bottle. The breakfast and dinner were both tasty. Very friendly and helpful staff. Expensive if you're paying the rack rate. I wasn't.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank Ivor L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacquiMcMillan, General Manager at Novotel Reading Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

It is really good to read that you enjoyed your stay with us in January. I am glad you enjoyed our bar and restaurant and your kind words about the team are really appreciated, they will be delighted to see them. I do hope we get the chance to welcome you back to Novotel Reading in the future for your next trip. Kind regards. Jacqui McMillan - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

A lot of my colleagues stay here during the week whilst working in Reading and my experience of it expalins why. It is a good business hotel.

The decor is nothing special but functional, good beds and bedding, good shower, fast internet connection. There is on premise gym and small swimming pool. I haven't tried breakfast, because it was way to expensive - in fact the most expensive of all the central hotels that I stayed in. The location is excellent.

Overall, no complaints, althought if you want character and romance, this is probably not quite it.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tanya E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacquiMcMillan, General Manager at Novotel Reading Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review about your business stays at Novotel Reading, I really appreciate it. I am pleased to hear that you really like the location and the facilites we have to offer and a number of your colleagues also appreciate them. With regards to breakfast, please e-mail me before your next stay on jacqui.mcmillan@accor.com and I am sure we can offer an inclusive rate for you as I really think you would enjoy our breakfast. I look forward to hearing from you. Kind regards. Jacqui McMillan - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reading hotels
1.8 mi away
Hilton Reading
Hilton Reading
#3 of 31 in Reading
1,887 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ibis Reading Centre
Ibis Reading Centre
#11 of 31 in Reading
1,041 reviews
0.1 mi away
Malmaison Reading
Malmaison Reading
#4 of 31 in Reading
1,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
pentahotel Reading
pentahotel Reading
#6 of 31 in Reading
2,414 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Forbury Roseate
The Forbury Roseate
#2 of 31 in Reading
549 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Reading Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Reading Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Reading Centre

Address: 25B Friar Street, Reading RG1 1DP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Reading
#2 Green Hotel in Reading
#4 Business Hotel in Reading
#5 Luxury Hotel in Reading
#6 Romantic Hotel in Reading
Price Range: £62 - £177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Reading Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Generation 4 star hotel with leisure club located in Reading town centre. Just 2 min. walk from the railway station: 25 min to London Paddington, 30 min Rail-Air link to Heathrow airport, free shuttle to Thames Valley Park. A short drive to the M4, other business parks and Reading FC stadium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Novotel Reading Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Reading Centre Hotel Reading
Accor Reading Centre
Reading Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing