We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Convenient stay at Novotel Reading .” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Novotel Reading Centre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Novotel Reading Centre
Ranked #8 of 32 Hotels in Reading
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Very Convenient stay at Novotel Reading .”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

Novotel Reading has a great location in Center Reading near the train station and the oracle shopping area .

very clean and spacious rooms , helpful staff and great food .

recommended for short and long stays in Reading though there is nothing much to in reading after 7:00 PM :) .

Room Tip: High Floor Room in the front .
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AhmedDawoud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThibautChappelat, Manager at Novotel Reading Centre, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your thoughts about your stay at Novotel Reading. To read that you would recommend our hotel based on your stay is just fantastic. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards. Thibaut Chappelat - Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    443
    477
    162
    35
    21
See reviews for
194
305
120
386
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
York
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

Stopped here for one night on a business trip - and I have to say it was good. Although I drove, I could imagine it would be perfect location if you arrived by train due to the proximity of the railway station.
The reception checked me in with no fuss, and when I mentioned the pool I had to sign a second waiver form (as the pool isn't manned) and they arranged for my room key to have access - so worth remembering if you want to stay to ask on check in and it'll be arranged then.
The room was excellent - spacious, decent sized flatscreen TV, lovely bathroom (seperate bath and shower) and one of the most powerful showers I've had the joy of having in a hotel. Seperate toilet too, so identical to the French Novotel rooms. There was also a fridge in the room which was excellent.
The pool was also very good - although it was only 10m long, it was designed as a laps pool, so you could swim laps whilst other people would swim on the other side of the pool.
Breakfast was rather good although the concierge had to apologise as apparently everyone had decided to come down for breakfast at the same time, so they were short on space. It was included in my room charge, although I would think that the cost was also a bit steep for a buffet cooked breakfast.
Only issues I had;
1 - The aircon in the room just didn't work. I assume it was just disabled with it being end of winter so I didn't raise it. However, the room was quite warm so I had to have the window open, which was OK as I was quite high up.
2 - The secure parking was ok, however, it was extremely difficult to find (down a narrow alley and no signposts at all), and it was very expensive at £14 per night - especially when you factor in the room costs, which I believe weren't cheap. (circa £200 a night)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThibautChappelat, Manager at Novotel Reading Centre, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Thank you very much for your review on Trip Advisor! I am delighted to see you were so happy with the hotel and the service provided during your stay. The team will be extremely pleased to read your comments, as your feedback is very important them. It is true, the pool is a real plus to relax and unwind, along with the steam room, sauna and the gym! I am sorry that you felt the rooms were warm during your stay. I will address the matter to our Maintenance team who will be correcting the temperatures. Thank you once again for your feedback and we look forward to seeing you again. Kind regards. Thibaut Chappelat - Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cumbria
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

Great hotel and service. Everything clean and staff excellent. Convenient secure car parking and right in the centre. The Bar is good .Only downside was the hot room because air con not working. When mentioned a fan was delivered immediately

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank washbis0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThibautChappelat, Manager at Novotel Reading Centre, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your thoughts on here about your stay at Novotel Reading. To read that you truly enjoyed your stay is just fantastic. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards. Thibaut Chappelat - Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

Stayed here as they allowed the dog to stay in the rooms.once we got the dog through the revolving doors. Check in was swift and easy. We were on the eleventh floor. Would be easier to give dog rooms on the lower floors. Our room was Ok but it looked like it had not been dusted for a week. The location is perfect for a night out in reading. Average hotel at an Ok price for a city centre stay.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacquiMcMillan, Manager at Novotel Reading Centre, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Thank you so much for the feedback you gave us with regards to your recent stay in our hotel. I am really happy you had a pleasant time with us and that you appreciate of pet friendly policy. I totally take your feedback on board in regards to the dust in our bedrooms. I have spoken to our Head Housekeeper in order to bring the necessary actions, once again I am so sorry about that. Thank you once again and I look forward to welcoming you again in our hotel. Thibaut Chappelat - Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

Stayed for work this week, staff very pleasant and accomodating. Rooms have everything you need in them, the bed was very comfortable. Bathroom has bath although short with shower head and also free standing shower, the toilet is separate from the bathroom, nice to have bif bath towels that actually go all around you.

Breakfast was plentyful with homemade smoothie, continental and a good selection of traditionalfry up ingredients.

Parking is the only downfall, I parked in a NCP car back behind the hotel with a brisk five minute walk to reception. Although your parking ticket will be validated with a discount on parking charges.

In the centre with lots of activity at all times but I was on a front facing room, floor six, with window open all night and not that bad for noise.

Would certainly stay again

Room Tip: Room 616 front facing looking accross Reading. Colleague room 606 had no window
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacquiMcMillan, Manager at Novotel Reading Centre, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Thank you so much for your review on Trip Advisor! I am delighted to see you were happy with the service provided during your stay. The team will be extremely pleased to read your comments, as your feedback is the best source of motivation for them. Thank you once again for your feedback and we look forward to seeing you again. Kind regards. Thibaut Chappelat - Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

The hotel is on the main high street in Reading town centre so is perfectly placed for anything in town. We stayed on a Friday night and the town is full of drunks in the early hours and very noisy. That said the rooms were very well insulated from each other and little noise travelled between them. The staff were very pleasant and breakfast was the normal buffet style. The only downside on our limited stay is the car parking. It is advertised as limited but finding it was a nightmare. We spent 30 minutes going round one way streets and down an underpass. Eventually it is in a tiny bit of road unmarked behind gates. Anyway, once found it was easy. Could we suggest a map on your web site?

Room Tip: Go high above the streets
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacquiMcMillan, Manager at Novotel Reading Centre, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
I am delighted to read your review on Trip Advisor! I I am very happy to read you were very satisfied with the quality of your stay. I agree that Reading town centre can get busy at times during the night but as you pointed out we do our utmost to ensure a good night sleep for our guests. Thank you once again for your feedback and we look forward to seeing you again at Novotel Reading Centre. Kind regards. Thibaut Chappelat - Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reading hotels
0.0 mi away
Ibis Reading Centre
Ibis Reading Centre
#11 of 32 in Reading
4.0 of 5 bubbles 933 reviews
0.3 mi away
pentahotel Reading
pentahotel Reading
#5 of 32 in Reading
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,137 reviews
0.1 mi away
Malmaison Reading
Malmaison Reading
#6 of 32 in Reading
4.0 of 5 bubbles 918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hilton Reading
Hilton Reading
#3 of 32 in Reading
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,708 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Reading Central Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Forbury Roseate
The Forbury Roseate
#2 of 32 in Reading
4.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Reading Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Reading Centre

Property: Novotel Reading Centre
Address: 25B Friar Street, Reading RG1 1DP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Reading
#2 Green Hotel in Reading
#4 Business Hotel in Reading
#6 Romantic Hotel in Reading
#6 Luxury Hotel in Reading
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Reading Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Generation 4 star hotel with leisure club located in Reading town centre. Just 2 min. walk from the railway station: 25 min to London Paddington, 30 min Rail-Air link to Heathrow airport, free shuttle to Thames Valley Park. A short drive to the M4, other business parks and Reading FC stadium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ACCOR, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Superbreak UK so you can book your Novotel Reading Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Reading Centre Hotel Reading
Accor Reading Centre
Reading Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing