We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Reading Centre
Ranked #7 of 31 Hotels in Reading
GreenLeadersBronze level
Write a Review

1,156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    454
    482
    164
    35
    21
See reviews for
201
307
121
391
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

Almost everything is good quality in this centrally located hotel, which holds true to the Novotel brand. The reasonable sized room was comfortable and nicely furnished. Breakfast was very good, with a decent selection of cooked and cold food, all served buffet style.

The staff were helpful and friendly, although I did have a problem understanding them at times - they were all non-English, and some of the accents were difficult. I had to ask them to repeat things several times

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Highrise61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThibautChappelat, Manager at Novotel Reading Centre, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Thanks so much for your review on Trip Advisor, we really appreciate you taking the time to do this. I am delighted to read that you had a very good stay with us and enjoyed all aspects of the service and the product. We look forward to welcoming you soon in our lovely hotel and hopefully your next stay will be as pleasant as the previous one. Kind regards. Thibaut Chappelat - Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Had a lovely stay here for my birthday weekend. We upgraded to a executive room on arrival and glad we did! Spacious with lots of little extras such as free early check in, late check out, robes and slippers, nespresso coffee machine, water, Internet, unlimited TV channels and a really delightful bathroom. Really enjoyed the pool too and welcoming staff. We got breakfast which is all you can eat but they had an offer for weekends where it was half price if booked the day before. All in all, really happy with my stay here

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TESYSQUISHY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThibautChappelat, Manager at Novotel Reading Centre, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor! It is so nice to see that you took full advantage of our special offers and I hope you will have the opportunity to do it soon enough. It is true that our Executive rooms have a lot of advantages for all our guests! Thank you once again and we are really looking forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards. Thibaut Chappelat - Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

Stayed at this hotel about 3 times. This review is an average of all 3. Great location, friendly staff and good sized rooms and bathroom. Had a problem with the A/C which reception then lied to us that they had fixed, they hadnt. Eventually they gave us a new room.

Would I stay here again? Probably yes.

Room Tip: We arrived 2 hours early and the room was ready!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank raj s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThibautChappelat, Manager at Novotel Reading Centre, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Thankyou very for your taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor. I appreciate the fact that overall you had a pleasant stay with us. I am really sorry about the incident regarding the air cooling in your room, I would have to investigate with our team in order to get a clear picture of our shortcoming. I do hope that you will visit us soon again and look forward to being able to provide you with a genuine hassle-free experience. Kind regards. Thibaut Chappelat - Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

Great location right in the centre of Reading. Nice room, lovely bathroom. Clean and tidy. Breakfast was excellent with good service, check in was efficient. Only drawback was the parking was round the back of the hotel, and the address of the car park is not advertised on the website, so wasted a good 15 minutes driving in circles round a 1-way system looking for the car park!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank KarenFaulkner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThibautChappelat, Manager at Novotel Reading Centre, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. It is nice to see that you really enjoyed your stay and the service provided to you. It is true that Reading is having a very particular one way traffic system! Thank you once again and we are really looking forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards. Thibaut Chappelat - Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

Ok, so it isn't exactly in London but If like us you are looking to visit the capital, want somewhere decent to stay that won't break the bank and close to the 'Smoke' then there are many worse places than this. Located less than 5 minutes walk from Reading Station you can get a train to London every few minutes and be there within 30. Trains back run until after midnight so it is no worse than the outskirts on tube lines (except you won't be stopping 20 times!).

The hotel itself was excellent - modern, clean and well appointed rooms and very friendly staff who really try hard to make you welcome. Very highly recommended.

Room Tip: High up to get away from city noise - our room was silent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndrewJM70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThibautChappelat, Manager at Novotel Reading Centre, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor, we really appreciate you taking the time to do this. I am delighted to see that you truly enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you very much for your kind words regarding our staff and the service provided, this is a source of inspiration for our teams! We are really looking forward to welcoming you again in the future. Kind regards. Thibaut Chappelat - Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
467 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

Reading is a good location for those trying to get to Heathrow early in the morning and there are a number of reasonable hotels within walking distance of the train station including the Novotel.

The rooms are standard upper midrange hotel class in good repair and a generous layout. They said it was newly renovated and it looked nice.

The hotel has a number of services including bar, restaurant, gym and pool.

Checkin and checkout was quick and the staff was friendly.

The only downside for me was the excessive street noise. My room faced Frier St.
After 8pm and running through 3am or so, people were yelling, calling, singing as part of their revelries. Fun if your part of them, not so much if you are trying to sleep on business travel.

I asked if this was common and the desk receptionist said Reading was quite a party spot on the weekend and indeed it was common.

If I stay again, I'll make an effort to ask for a quiet room toward the back.

Room Tip: Away from Frier Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marco W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThibautChappelat, Manager at Novotel Reading Centre, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you so much for your comments regarding your stay at Novotel Reading Centre. I am really impressed about your kind words, they are a reflection of the dedication of the team in all aspects of service and well being. I will share this with them as your words are the best source of motivation in our hotel. Please make sure that you request a room at the back of the hotel for your next visit so that we can allocate it for you. Thank you once again and I look forward to welcoming you soon at Novotel Reading Centre. - Thibaut Chappelat - Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reading hotels
0.0 mi away
Ibis Reading Centre
Ibis Reading Centre
#11 of 31 in Reading
4.0 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
0.3 mi away
pentahotel Reading
pentahotel Reading
#6 of 31 in Reading
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,190 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Forbury Roseate
The Forbury Roseate
#2 of 31 in Reading
4.5 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Malmaison Reading
Malmaison Reading
#5 of 31 in Reading
4.0 of 5 bubbles 947 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hilton Reading
Hilton Reading
#3 of 31 in Reading
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,733 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Reading Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Reading Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Reading Centre

Property: Novotel Reading Centre
Address: 25B Friar Street, Reading RG1 1DP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Reading
#2 Green Hotel in Reading
#4 Business Hotel in Reading
#5 Luxury Hotel in Reading
#6 Romantic Hotel in Reading
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Reading Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Generation 4 star hotel with leisure club located in Reading town centre. Just 2 min. walk from the railway station: 25 min to London Paddington, 30 min Rail-Air link to Heathrow airport, free shuttle to Thames Valley Park. A short drive to the M4, other business parks and Reading FC stadium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Hotels.com, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Superbreak UK, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Reading Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Reading Centre Hotel Reading
Accor Reading Centre
Reading Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing