We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aircon, what Aircon ?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Novotel Reading Centre
Ranked #7 of 31 Hotels in Reading
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

This hotel is very conveniently situated in the centre of Reading. It's not the best and no doubt is not the worst either.

Comfort though is seriously compromised by the inability to cool the rooms. If your expectation is that the rooms are air conditioned then please be aware - they are not!

Even on the lowest setting the room doesn't get chilled and the fan speed adjustment is completely useless. You need to stand on the bed and put your hand against the grill to even know it's operating.

The windows open only a matter of an inch or two and so the only way to get any comfort at all is to ask for fans from the helpful staff.

As the weather gets warmer this hotel will become unbearable and any claims for air conditioning in the rooms is somewhat misleading.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThibautChappelat, Manager at Novotel Reading Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

I appreciate you took the time to leave some feedback you gave us with regards to your recent stay in our hotel. It is with a mix of emotions that I read your comments as despite your satisfaction in regards to the service provided, I do realise that you had some challenges during your stay. I understand your comments about the temperature of the rooms, as we have an air cooling system, not air conditioning. However, rest ensured that our Maintenance will look at adjusting the settings in your room right away, I am sorry if this somehow marred your stay. Thank you once again and I do hope you will chose to stay again in our hotel. Thibaut Chappelat - Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,251)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

574 - 580 of 1,251 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2014

The hotel location is its best advantage, being close to Reading Train Station and also close to the Oracle shopping mall. The hotel has average facilities in the room, pillows are not that comfortable. Breakfast is good but sometimes the place will be crowded and you would have to wait. The best thing in this hotel is the staff, most of them are really helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rahman A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThibautChappelat, Manager at Novotel Reading Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Thank you so much for the feedback you gave us with regards to your recent stay in our hotel. I am delighted to read that you were impressed with the service provided to you by our staff! I will make sure your feedback is shared with the teams as your words are a true source of motivation for them. Thank you once again and I look forward to welcoming you soon in our hotel. Thibaut Chappelat - Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Room Tip: The above gripes could perhaps have been forgiven if it weren't for the fact the staff were rude...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Novotel Hotels
Thank Nichola485
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ThibautChappelat, Manager at Novotel Reading Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 3 June 2014

The Novotel is an "old School" hotel where once they have you then you are additional potential revernue.

The hotel itself is OK, nothing to rave about, with very welcoming and efficient staff. However once you have paid for your room you then have to pay for a decent wi-fi connection, when you turn on the TV it entices you to take out a "package" which you have to navigate around in order to watch free to view; a small bottle of no brand water is £2.50, breakfast is an eye watering £16.50 (english breakfast at Claridge's is £17.50!).

The temperature control in the room was particularly poor, I set the thermostat to cool the room around mid afternoon and it was still too hot in the evening. No problem just open the window, BUT if you have a room at the front of the hotel the busses start very early and are loud enough to wake you then you have to close the window.

All is not bad though the beds were comfortable and the shower in the room was good.

I would return for the comfort of the beds but would prefer to spend my time at a hotel where I feel more a guest rather that a revenue stream.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Potts2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThibautChappelat, Manager at Novotel Reading Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to give us your thoughts about your recent stay in our hotel. I am very sad to see that your stay did not match your expectations, in particular regarding the the feeling of hassle-free and the temperature. I do take your feedback on board and we will look at ways to improve our service. At Novotel Reading Centre we strive to provide a quality service to all our guest and I would like to apologise if you noticed any shortfalls. Thank you once again and I do hope you will chose to stay again in our hotel. Thibaut Chappelat - Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed here as we were doing the "Walking with Wolves" experience and needed to travel closer to the venue.

This is the first time I have stayed at a Novotel hotel, and although I must say I wasn't impressed with reading itself, I did think the hotel was good.

I would certainly search for a Novotel Hotel for my next stay.

Stayed: May 2014
Thank J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThibautChappelat, Manager at Novotel Reading Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Thank you so much for the feedback you gave us with regards to your recent stay in our hotel. It seems you had a good time in our hotel and I am very happy to read that. Thank you once again and I look forward to welcoming you again in our hotel. Thibaut Chappelat - Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We had a great stay at the hotel, and stayed for 2 nights. The hotel was very quiet and clean, and the staff were very friendly. The pool was lovely and very quiet!!
The only negative thing I would say is, we found the hotel but drove along the road where the hotel is and then realised it was only for Taxis and buses and therefore will receive a £30 fine through the post. The car behind obviously did the same and many others. The hotel said most people do it, so £30 plus £20 parking (NCP car park) means an extra £50 on top. I would therefore put Garrard Street into your sat nav to avoid doing what we did and many others!! Garrard Street is where all the parking is for the hotel car park and the NCP. The NCP is cheaper than the hotel, if you don't leave within 24 hours.

Room Tip: We had a room over looking the town which was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lianne01527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThibautChappelat, Manager at Novotel Reading Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Thank you so much for the feedback you gave us with regards to your recent stay in our hotel. I am really happy you had a pleasant time with us. I totally take your feedback on board in regards to the the directions to our hotel, I am so sorry about that. It is stated on our web site but Reading is very particular with the driving system. Thank you once again and I look forward to welcoming you again in our hotel. Thibaut Chappelat - Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Functional business hotel, but fails to give you a warm comfortable experience. Atmosphere is cold and impersonal starting with the lobby. Breakfast is decent but menu doesnt change - same everyday. Rooms are small and bathrooms are cramped. Decent pool and gym for the hotel size though.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AGoswami90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThibautChappelat, Manager at Novotel Reading Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Thank you so much for the feedback you gave us with regards to your recent stay in our hotel. I am very sad to see that your stay did not match your expectations, in particular regarding the atmosphere and layout of our hotel. I do take your feedback on board and would like to thank you for your very constructive feedback. Thank you once again and I do hope you will chose to stay again in our hotel. Thibaut Chappelat - Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reading hotels
1.8 mi away
Hilton Reading
Hilton Reading
#3 of 31 in Reading
1,906 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ibis Reading Centre
Ibis Reading Centre
#11 of 31 in Reading
1,051 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Reading Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading
0.1 mi away
Malmaison Reading
Malmaison Reading
#4 of 31 in Reading
1,046 reviews
0.3 mi away
pentahotel Reading
pentahotel Reading
#6 of 31 in Reading
2,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Reading Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Reading Centre

Address: 25B Friar Street, Reading RG1 1DP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Reading
#2 Green Hotel in Reading
#4 Business Hotel in Reading
#5 Luxury Hotel in Reading
#6 Romantic Hotel in Reading
Price Range: £58 - £174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Reading Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Generation 4 star hotel with leisure club located in Reading town centre. Just 2 min. walk from the railway station: 25 min to London Paddington, 30 min Rail-Air link to Heathrow airport, free shuttle to Thames Valley Park. A short drive to the M4, other business parks and Reading FC stadium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Superbreak UK, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Novotel Reading Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Reading Centre Hotel Reading
Accor Reading Centre
Reading Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing